We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great spot”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Creekside Brewing Co. - CLOSED

Creekside Brewing Co.
Cuisines: American, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Drinks, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Salem, Oregon
Level Contributor
233 reviews
141 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“Great spot”
Reviewed March 25, 2013 via mobile

To start with we had great service, food and spirits in a very timely manor. The brew was slightly different but isn't that why we go to different brew pubs to experience different ways to do the same thing? The beer was great, the food was good and the desert was fantastic! A very interesting downtown to wander with lots of bars and restaurants to pick from. Fun.

Helpful?
Thank GuyWagon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

63 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    29
    7
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
68 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Chill spot to relax with a good beer”
Reviewed February 18, 2013

Forget the acronym; it's clear from the service at the Creekside Brewing Company in San Luis Obispo why they call abbreviate this town as “SLO.” The service can take an interminable amount of time. So go with the flow, order one of their hand-crafted beers and sit on the patio that overlooks the muddy creek. Breathe. Relax. You're now on slow time.

The food is a good step up from traditional pub grub and the portions are gigantic. For those with a protein deficiency, the Padre’s Sandwich features two thinly pounded chicken breasts on rye bread lubed with horseradish mayo and melted Swiss. Substitute a mixed green salad for fries and good health awaits. Speaking of which, the mixed green salads are best served with their apple cider vinaigrette.

The grilled mahi mahi California tacos are sweet and succulent loaded with crisp cabbage and a delicious chipotle-lime sauce. If you despise red onions be forewarned to order without or those bloody beasts will take over every bite.

The bar downstairs is stuffy, but quaintly appropriate for the Cal Poly crowd. In fact, everything about SLO feels like an Oregon enclave on the Central California coast that balances hip and hippy in the most satisfying way. Just check your speed at the door and take your precious time.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Scott_Leslie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Habra, California
Level Contributor
37 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Substantial food and generous portions”
Reviewed January 2, 2013

We had lunch on the balcony/patio overlooking the creek. Like so many eating places in SLO, Creekside seems to feel that you haven't eaten in a week or so, and they feed accordingly. The vegetable beef soup was astounding: lotsa beef, lotsa veggies, and a rich, flavorful broth. And locally baked bread. And a LARGE house salad with locally-sourced veggies and home-made dressing. My wife ordered the Live Oak sandwich. Also superb. Most of the sandwich and all of the salad had to be taken back to the hotel; lotsa good food, top-notch service. Highly recommend.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank JohnMacMurray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dickerson, Maryland
Level Contributor
203 reviews
131 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Good beers & food”
Reviewed October 17, 2012 via mobile

Nice selection of beers brewed here; one stout, a Vienna amber, a brown and an IPA currently. All seemed to have Noreen emphasis on the malty side, which worked. Burger, fries, onion rings and salad were all good, too. Nice scenic location, particularly if you get a table outside. Worth a stop; we walked a mile or so from our hotel and it was worth it.

Helpful?
Thank FritzGoat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Des Moines, Iowa
Level Contributor
76 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Beer Tasting on Creekside Balcony”
Reviewed October 14, 2012

We did not have any food on this visit, we only stopped to rest our feet and sample the beer. We were pleasantly surprised to find an outdoor dining area next to the creek. The basement option looked too dark for a beautiful October afternoon! Three of us split 2 samplers of 8 beers each. They had 4 of their own brews and offered 4 guest brews. Nice variety of offerings. Their current brews on our visit included: Hefeweizen, Vinn Amber, IPA, and Stout. All were very enjoyable if you enjoyed the style (i.e. I gave my spouse all the IPA in exchange for the Stout). I do not remember what all the guest samples were at this point (too many tastings on this trip), but they were all very different and interesting brews from other places. We would definitely stop in if in the area again.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gourmet2Pub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Creekside Brewing Co. also viewed

San Luis Obispo, San Luis Obispo County
San Luis Obispo, San Luis Obispo County
 
San Luis Obispo, San Luis Obispo County
San Luis Obispo, San Luis Obispo County
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing