We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hot Mineral Spring is nice, but way too much money for a dumpy hotel like this. 温泉だけが取柄のおんぼろホテルにしては高すぎ。”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sycamore Mineral Springs Resort and Spa
Ranked #8 of 32 Hotels in San Luis Obispo
Certificate of Excellence
Costa Mesa, California
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Hot Mineral Spring is nice, but way too much money for a dumpy hotel like this. 温泉だけが取柄のおんぼろホテルにしては高すぎ。”
Reviewed January 17, 2011

My husband and I decided to visit this place as our weekend getaway, and the only reason why we choose to stay here was the hot springs that are available on this property. They have a private hot tub in each room with access to the natural mineral spring water which is very nice and relaxing, but I must say this was the only nice thing about this hotel.... When we got there, we were very disappointed how small and old our room was. The beds were too soft, and because the building was so old, we could hear the stamping noise from the guests upstairs all night and in the morning. I felt that they charge way too much money for a poor quality room like this. The hot spring, the only nice feature they offer, wasn't even available after 9 pm because the natural hot spring well was supposedly "temporarily run out." We were probably the unlucky ones to run into an incident like this, and even though I did enjoy the time I could use the tub with the hot mineral spring water, the experience here was not a good value for the money.

Japanese:
主人と二人で週末に一泊旅行で温泉につかりに行こうと、温泉のあるこのホテルの予約をしましたが、部屋のサイズや古さにがっかりしてしまいました。各部屋に温泉水が出る大きいバスタブ(ジャクジー)がついているのでリラックス出来るのはよいのですが、このホテルの取柄はこれだけかな、というのが正直な感想でした。ベッドはちょっと柔らか過ぎましたし、建物が古いせいか、上の階の宿泊客が歩き回る音が夜も朝もとてもうるさかったです。部屋のクオリティが非常に悪いのに対し、高すぎる感じざるを得ませんでえした。唯一の取柄である温泉水さえも夜9時ぐらいには「温泉の湧き出るところが一時的に底をついた」とか何かで出なくなってしまい、たまたま運が悪かったとしても、すごく損をした気分になりました。温泉水が出ていた間はリラックスして楽しめましたが、残念な宿泊となりました。

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BeerYamamoto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,455 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,021
    727
    382
    212
    113
See reviews for
388
1,644
85
47
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (151)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed January 16, 2011

Biggest issue is lodging is in two story wood frame bulding that is probably over twenty years old, as opposed to concrete building they should have built. Not only do you hear everyone walking by, but everyone going up and down the stairs, walking across the room above, running water, or flushing toilet. If you live in an old two story house then imagine having all the rooms filled with late night guests and that's about what it's like. Basically if you're a light sleeper, bring ear plugs.

  • Stayed January 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SMResident
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SC
Level 6 Contributor
62 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2011

First of all, there was no welcome feeling at the registration. It was raining, and the staff told us to go to the 2nd floor in "Adventure" building.
1. The staircase is around the building, No elevator. Cannot park the car in the front of the building.
2. Room was clean, but shows the years.
3. The bathtub was located on the deck but the tub was not completely covered by the roof. It was raining that night.
4.The tub was not working that night. The maintenance personnel could not explain.

The next morning, we received the FULL bill for the room. We explained what happened, and what the staff offered the last night. "We have not heard about it" was the first response.
After some discussion, we finally got a part of our money back.
Usually, I am good at finding some positive comments, but this time, I am sorry.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hanaSC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maple Grove, Minnesota
1 review
Reviewed January 5, 2011

We were warmly greeted, we arrived early so had to wait for our room. We drove to the pier and had lunch. Came back, the room was ready. Very clean and neat. But the best part- the hot tub on balcony outside our room!! It seems some people can't handle the sulfur smell, but after two minutes you can't smell it and you sink into luxurious hot natural mineral water. We spent three days soaking in the tub, sitting in for 20 minutes, getting out for 30 minutes, back in again. All day long. By day 3, our muscles felt so wondrous and renewed. We took a couple of hikes on the adjacent trails, and walked the labyrinth. But we came for the water, and it didn't disappoint. We loved it. We'll come back.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Topsailsman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Creston, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 3, 2011

This place was fine until we got kicked out early in the morning and received no compensation. This place does not care a thing about customer service or satisfaction. Do not go if there is a chance of rain or you might just get kicked out and not even offered another room or another stay. What a waste of $300! I DO NOT recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank krbh87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed December 19, 2010

Some of the rooms are still dated, older green carpet, but the room was spotless. You don't come here for the hotel per se but more for the natural hot springs tub that sits outside your room. We opted for a room with water that add no sulfur and it came out of the spigot as hot as you want. The jets worked just fine and the patio is secluded enough to skinny dip and enjoy. Obviously this was the attraction of our stay - to simply chill when we wanted to. Worked perfectly with a bottle of wine too. These rooms will be super nice once they remodeled, but they are more than sufficient. The front desk was helpful on all requests and very patient with us as we chose our room. We didn't eat there so i can't speak to the food (plenty of great choices nearby - Novo, Giuseppe's, etc.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank solly316
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falmouth, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed December 5, 2010

Wow, what a suprise, I have to be honest, we booked this hotel from a 'cheap hotel' website before we left for the USA and we really didnt think twice about it or really look into it as it was only meant to be for a brief stop over before Big Sur, but my god!! When we pulled into the car park and saw the beautiful surroundings we actually checked our booking slip! We checked in, the staff kind, sweet and very helpful. We were put in a lovely room called 'Outragous' (very apt!)! After getting over the initail shock of the smell, we opened the sliding doors to reveal our very own hot tub all from the natural hot springs! Free use of the pool, beautiful walks, and pure relaxation! Not so much of a stay over, we did not leave till late in the afternoon!! We floated in the pool, sat in the hot tub, supped some local wine, and chilled out! Was sure what we were looking for after a long haul flight and a mad 48 hours in LA! Thank you Sycamore springs!! <3

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank surfchick106
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Luis Obispo
0.5 mi away
Avila Village Inn
Avila Village Inn
#2 of 5 in Avila Beach
679 reviews
8.1 mi away
Apple Farm Inn
Apple Farm Inn
#3 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
1,400 reviews
3.8 mi away
The Inn at the Cove
The Inn at the Cove
#1 of 29 in Pismo Beach
1,407 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Avila Lighthouse Suites
Avila Lighthouse Suites
#3 of 5 in Avila Beach
727 reviews
8.0 mi away
San Luis Creek Lodge
San Luis Creek Lodge
#1 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
622 reviews
6.0 mi away
Madonna Inn
Madonna Inn
#5 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
1,624 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sycamore Mineral Springs Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sycamore Mineral Springs Resort and Spa

Property: Sycamore Mineral Springs Resort and Spa
Address: 1215 Avila Beach Dr, San Luis Obispo, CA 93405-8048
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > San Luis Obispo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in San Luis Obispo
#11 Family Hotel in San Luis Obispo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Sycamore Mineral Springs Resort and Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sycamore Mineral Springs Resort rests atop hot mineral springs and spans more than 100 acres of forest, hills and meadows on the picturesque Central Coast of California. An authentic California resort, the property features hillside mineral springs hot tubs, a beautiful spa, the Gardens of Avila Restaurant, a labyrinth, private balcony hot tubs, meditation gardens, and wide selection of mind-body classes in our Yoga Dome. Sycamore Mineral Springs Resort -located halfway between San Francisco and Los Angeles is just a short walk to the ocean and close to award-winning wineries, golf courses, Hearst Castle, Pismo Beach, and San Luis Obispo. Escape to our historic resort voted best Spa and Weekend Getaway on the Central Coast. Experience rustic elegance in a serene and relaxing environment surrounded with the best California has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cancelon, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Sycamore Mineral Springs Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sycamore Mineral Springs Hotel San Luis Obispo
Sycamore Springs
Sycamore Mineral Springs Resort
Mineral Resort Springs Sycamore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing