We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sycamore Hot Springs”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Sycamore Mineral Springs Resort and Spa
Ranked #8 of 32 Hotels in San Luis Obispo
Certificate of Excellence
california
2 reviews
“Sycamore Hot Springs”
Reviewed January 21, 2009

I recommend these hot tubs that are located on top of a hill very romantic covered by trees and lights VERY ROMANTIC GETAWAY i think now its only 20 an hour/ grab a bottle of wine and go

Helpful?
Thank flaca2ramirez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,416 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,002
    717
    377
    208
    112
See reviews for
387
1,613
83
47
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (148)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, CA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2009

I've been meaning to write a glowing review about my stay at the Sycamore back in November. Sorry I'm just getting around to it now!

I was SO nervous about booking this place for a get-together/retreat with my best girlfriends from high school... Two had to fly from the east coast, one had to drive up from San Diego, all of us have done some traveling and have pretty high quality standards for hotels. What I'm saying is... kind of a tough crowd! But the Sycamore Springs TOTALLY came through on every level...

We took the Girlfriends Getaway package and the woman, Marina, who booked it for us was so lovely and helpful. She even booked our wine tasting tour in advance.

The package included a girt certificate for the hotel restaurant, which had great food and a friendly vibe. The spa, which I had read was unreliable booking-wise, couldn't have been more accommodating to our schedules. They had excellent technicians, it was clean, relaxing, quiet... all the things you want.

The spas themselves were rustic, but that seemed to suit the woodsy setting. And the sulphur smell was only near the spas and not strong at all. Kinda good actually.

The suite was basic, but cosy. All the space and amenities we needed were there, although only one shower for the four of us. With girls, that's a slight problem.

Things I'd recommend doing:
- taking a wine tour of the nearby Edna Valley.
- doing the hike behind to hotel to overlook Avila Beach
- walking or riding a bike along the path to Avila Beach
- taking one of their yoga classes
- having a soak in the mineral springs spas
- going with people you love and enjoy spending time with (then all the fun, relaxing stuff to do in a beautiful setting is just icing on the cake!)

I'm sending my mom and her best friend there this week. I certainly wouldn't do that if I didn't think it was just perfect. Oh, and one more thing, although I didn't stay in them, the new cabins across the road from the hotel looked SO nice. I want to go back there with my husband and kid SOON!

Enjoy!

- ML

  • Liked — Cosy, unpretentious and relaxing while still being somewhat up-scale
  • Disliked — One shower for four of us
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank mlewey2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level 4 Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2008

This place is amazing. I didn't stay at the hotel but my husband and I booked an hour in the private hot tubs. The tubs are perched on the side of a wooded hill and are powered by natural hot springs. It is so peaceful and quiet. You literally fill like you are in the middle of nowhere. The trees create a shaded canopy over the tubs and the water is REALLY hot. This place is worth the stop for sure! You somehow feel "cleansed" from the inside out when you leave.

We also dined at the Gardens restaurant. What a fine experience this was. We ordered salmon cakes appetizers. They aren't like crab cakes, they're good but different. Not what you would expect. All of the ingredients are really fresh and taste good. For dinner we had the roasted chicken and mushroom and broccoli rice pilaf it was cooked to perfection. I would recommend this. We also ordered the duck confit and breast over wild rice and wilted greens in a red wine reduction. It was great. Crispy skin, tender meat, full bodied flavor. Total without drinks was $70. A fair price for a good meal. The portions were great and we both walked away full. The waitstaff were very attentive and friendly. The restaurant itself is small so make sure you call ahead for reservations during busy dining hours. We didn't have to wait at all with our reservations.

  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank UCLAgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern California
1 review
Reviewed December 2, 2008

My stay was wonderful. The staff was warm and friendly.

  • Liked — The solitude
  • Disliked — There is no business center and no computer to use on the prperty.
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank oceanbeachsun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
los angeles
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2008

At first, we were going to make it a couple's getaway, without the kids. At the last minute, our toddler joined us. We arrived late, and there was no problem checking in. We were immediately driven (by golf cart) to our room, which was very nice since we had to cross a dark footbridge. Our room was clean and spacious. The bed was very comfortable. The double-head shower was luxurious. It was quiet and relaxing. Although we had the option of calling for the go-cart, we decided to walk across the short foot bridge to our car. It took only 5 minutes to get to our car. The spa was very nice, and the hot tubs were nice too. Our room had our own fresh water hot tub, which took about 20 minutes to fill. There was plenty of hot water, so we were able to make the water at a temperature we wanted. We were going to stay until Sunday morning, but on Saturday night at around 9:00 p.m., we had to go home because of our toddler. When we checked out, the resort gave us 50% off that night's stay, without us even requesting it. That was a pleasant surprise. Overall, we enjoyed our stay. We had no problems to complain about. The service was excellent, and the resort itself was excellent. We will probably come here again...without kids. :)

  • Liked — The room and spa
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank dcla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2008

My Husband and I visited Sycamore Mineral Springs for a two night stay in one of the one bedroom suites. Nice room, we had our own spa on our private patio. The spa was a bit noisy filling and had a slow leak so we couldn't keep water in the spa for long. We enjoyed the grounds of the resort . The hike above the resort to the look out of Avila Bay was moderate . We also enjoyed a hike to Avila Barn. The spa was pleasant.I especially enjoyed my Facial. I would recommend this location for a weekend .

  • Liked — The grounds
  • Disliked — Noisy spa
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Muscatravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
santa barbara
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 18, 2008

I found the management not to be very helpful. When I left our $15 dining room discount vouchers in the room, they would not let me give them when I checked out, and said they could not look into the computer to see if I had vouchers. I had to return to the room, a 10 minute walk each way in order to hand them the vouchers after dinner.. When I asked to speak to the manager, she was quite rude and there was no apology. Poor customer service.

Stayed September 2008
Helpful?
Thank kkjh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Luis Obispo
0.5 mi away
Avila Village Inn
Avila Village Inn
#2 of 5 in Avila Beach
646 reviews
8.1 mi away
Apple Farm Inn
Apple Farm Inn
#3 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
1,381 reviews
3.8 mi away
The Inn at the Cove
The Inn at the Cove
#1 of 29 in Pismo Beach
1,378 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.0 mi away
Madonna Inn
Madonna Inn
#5 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
1,601 reviews
8.0 mi away
San Luis Creek Lodge
San Luis Creek Lodge
#1 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
613 reviews
1.3 mi away
Avila Lighthouse Suites
Avila Lighthouse Suites
#3 of 5 in Avila Beach
713 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sycamore Mineral Springs Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sycamore Mineral Springs Resort and Spa

Property: Sycamore Mineral Springs Resort and Spa
Address: 1215 Avila Beach Dr, San Luis Obispo, CA 93405-8048
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > San Luis Obispo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in San Luis Obispo
#11 Family Hotel in San Luis Obispo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Sycamore Mineral Springs Resort and Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sycamore Mineral Springs Resort rests atop hot mineral springs and spans more than 100 acres of forest, hills and meadows on the picturesque Central Coast of California. An authentic California resort, the property features hillside mineral springs hot tubs, a beautiful spa, the Gardens of Avila Restaurant, a labyrinth, private balcony hot tubs, meditation gardens, and wide selection of mind-body classes in our Yoga Dome. Sycamore Mineral Springs Resort -located halfway between San Francisco and Los Angeles is just a short walk to the ocean and close to award-winning wineries, golf courses, Hearst Castle, Pismo Beach, and San Luis Obispo. Escape to our historic resort voted best Spa and Weekend Getaway on the Central Coast. Experience rustic elegance in a serene and relaxing environment surrounded with the best California has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Sycamore Mineral Springs Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sycamore Mineral Springs Hotel San Luis Obispo
Sycamore Springs
Sycamore Mineral Springs Resort
Mineral Resort Springs Sycamore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing