We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Sycamore Mineral Springs Resort and Spa
Ranked #8 of 32 Hotels in San Luis Obispo
Certificate of Excellence
Chino Hills
1 review
“So so”
Reviewed April 27, 2014

Concept was great. We upgraded our room to include the fireplace and it didn't work. Disappointing. Everything was very pricey.

Concept was great. We upgraded our room to include the fireplace and it didn't work. Disappointing. Everything was very pricey.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Catherine P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SycamoreGuestService, Front Office Manager at Sycamore Mineral Springs Resort and Spa, responded to this review, May 4, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Sycamore Mineral Springs Resort for your recent visit to the Central Coast.

I apologize that you did not have a memorable experience at our resort. Thank you for being understanding of our historic property maintenance needs. I apologize your in room fireplace did not work during your stay. If we are made aware of any maintenance issues while guest our on property we do our best to resolve the occurrence instantly.

We look forward to having you return in the near future and creating a new experience at Sycamore Mineral Springs Resort.

Sincerely,

Sycamore Mineral Springs Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,365 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    972
    708
    368
    207
    110
See reviews for
378
1,577
82
47
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (147)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bakersfield
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed April 25, 2014

The room was nice, the trails/atmosphere was awesome and the hot tub was well worth the amount of the overnight stay! The service was amazing and the restaurant was well delicious. We wish we had come earlier and enjoyed more of the trails and picnic area. We wish check out time would have been a little later though.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Natalie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SycamoreGuestService, Front Office Manager at Sycamore Mineral Springs Resort and Spa, responded to this review, May 4, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for allowing us to create a relaxing and quaint experience for you at Sycamore Mineral Springs Resort. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed the restaurant, trails, and picnic area.

We look forward to your return visit in the near future.

Sincerely,

Sycamore Mineral Springs Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Maria
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 23, 2014

Room was great and the food at the onsite restaurant was awesome. We did have some problems with the plumbing in our private tub, but the resort tried to make it right and worked hard to solve it. They were extremely professional and accommodating in resolving the issue. I would recommend this to anyone looking to have a great romantic getaway.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Daniel D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SycamoreGuestService, Front Office Manager at Sycamore Mineral Springs Resort and Spa, responded to this review, May 4, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for allowing us to create a great stay for you at Sycamore Mineral Springs Resort. I apologize once again for the plumbing problem you experienced in your room but am pleased to hear our staff was able to resolve the matter in a timely fashion.

We look forward to your return visit in the near future and helping you celebrate your romantic getaways.

Sincerely,

Sycamore Mineral Springs Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed April 23, 2014

Tiny horrible bathroom. Invest in a 5$ curtain as there is mine snd window opens right up to a covered hallway. Absolutely no counter space considering its a 2 bed room. Beautiful grounds. Pool hours need to start earlier. I love the trail and bike rentals The grounds and gardens beautiful but disappointed overall. My kid is a freshman at cal poly so in future stays we will stay elsewhere

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SycamoreGuestService, Front Office Manager at Sycamore Mineral Springs Resort and Spa, responded to this review, May 4, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback regarding your recent stay at Sycamore Mineral Springs Resort. I appreciate you sharing your comments describing your recent stay in Room Leisure. Through our guest insight we are able to grow our property each day.

We began a remodel in November 2013 of our West Meadow – King Suites which will be complete in May 2014. We then will begin remodeling the main property rooms and look forward to creating a new look for our rooms.

It is a pleasure to hear you enjoyed the trails, bike rentals, and ground.

We do look forward to having you give Sycamore another chance in the future.

Sincerely,

Sycamore Mineral Springs Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Sacramento
1 review
Reviewed April 23, 2014

Great place to relax and unwind. Beautiful location with great accommodation. Wort every penny. We will be coming back soon. This was a great place for a family to get together. They have a great back door trail that allows you to be surrounded by the nature, natural spring water and quietness.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank S. L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SycamoreGuestService, Front Office Manager at Sycamore Mineral Springs Resort and Spa, responded to this review, May 4, 2014
Dear Guest,

It is a joy to hear you were able to have a great getaway with you and your friends. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed the two hiking trails located directly on our property.

We will look forward to seeing you on your next visit to the Central Coast.

Sincerely,

Sycamore Mineral Springs Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Placentia
1 review
Reviewed April 22, 2014

My wife and I celebrated our 20th Anniversary at Sycamore Mineral Springs. It was a wonderful and relaxing 3 days. We travel to the SLO area 3 or so times per year and have wanted to stay here for awhile. It was great and we highly recommend it.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Todd H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SycamoreGuestService, Front Office Manager at Sycamore Mineral Springs Resort and Spa, responded to this review, May 4, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing to spend your 20th Anniversary at Sycamore Mineral Springs Resort. Congratulations on 20 years of marriage, we are pleased to hear you were able to enjoy your relaxing weekend here on the Central Coast.

We will look forward to having you stay at Sycamore on your next trip to the Central Coast.

Sincerely,

Sycamore Mineral Springs Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pacific Grove
1 review
Reviewed April 22, 2014

Room was lovely but bed was really squeeky every time i rolled over in the middle of the night i woke up my boyfriend. The pillows were way too firm as well. All in all beautiful property and room but didnt sleep well. Restaurant food tasted delicious but the service was terrible waitress seemed distracted was there for an hour and a half and there was only 2 other tables. Not sure why it took so long but we were grateful for the kind and attentive front desk staff and allowing us a late checkout since breakfast took so incredibly long. Enjoyed everything but restaurant service and squeaky uncomfortable bed.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Mara R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SycamoreGuestService, Front Office Manager at Sycamore Mineral Springs Resort and Spa, responded to this review, May 4, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay at our beautiful resort located in the hidden valley of the Central Coast.

I apologize your room accommodations did not allow for a good nights rest as Sycamore strives for each guest to have an enjoyable and peaceful stay.

It is a pleasure to hear you enjoyed the restaurant as we use all local farm-to-table ingredients. I apologize for the lack of service you received in the restaurant during your stay at the resort. Receiving direct feedback from our guests allow us to grow our customer service on a daily bases.

We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your overall stay and look forward to your return visit in the near future.

Sincerely,

Sycamore Mineral Springs Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Luis Obispo
0.5 mi away
Avila Village Inn
Avila Village Inn
#2 of 5 in Avila Beach
642 reviews
6.0 mi away
Madonna Inn
Madonna Inn
#5 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
1,576 reviews
8.1 mi away
Apple Farm Inn
Apple Farm Inn
#3 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
1,368 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
The Inn at the Cove
The Inn at the Cove
#1 of 29 in Pismo Beach
1,353 reviews
8.0 mi away
San Luis Creek Lodge
San Luis Creek Lodge
#2 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
611 reviews
1.2 mi away
Avila La Fonda Hotel
Avila La Fonda Hotel
#1 of 5 in Avila Beach
830 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sycamore Mineral Springs Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sycamore Mineral Springs Resort and Spa

Property: Sycamore Mineral Springs Resort and Spa
Address: 1215 Avila Beach Dr, San Luis Obispo, CA 93405-8048
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > San Luis Obispo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in San Luis Obispo
#11 Family Hotel in San Luis Obispo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Sycamore Mineral Springs Resort and Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sycamore Mineral Springs Resort rests atop hot mineral springs and spans more than 100 acres of forest, hills and meadows on the picturesque Central Coast of California. An authentic California resort, the property features hillside mineral springs hot tubs, a beautiful spa, the Gardens of Avila Restaurant, a labyrinth, private balcony hot tubs, meditation gardens, and wide selection of mind-body classes in our Yoga Dome. Sycamore Mineral Springs Resort -located halfway between San Francisco and Los Angeles is just a short walk to the ocean and close to award-winning wineries, golf courses, Hearst Castle, Pismo Beach, and San Luis Obispo. Escape to our historic resort voted best Spa and Weekend Getaway on the Central Coast. Experience rustic elegance in a serene and relaxing environment surrounded with the best California has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Sycamore Mineral Springs Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sycamore Mineral Springs Hotel San Luis Obispo
Sycamore Springs
Sycamore Mineral Springs Resort
Mineral Resort Springs Sycamore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing