We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Grounds”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sycamore Mineral Springs Resort and Spa
Ranked #9 of 32 Hotels in San Luis Obispo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 14, 2014

The grounds of the property are gorgeous. You feel like you are at a woodsy retreat but still close to the beach! Spa services were great and all employees were professional and service oriented. Average rating is due to the age of the property and could use a face lift I several areas. Only complaint is that the kitchen needs to learn how to cook a hamburger, medium well does not mean rare or well done/burnt.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Diana T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SycamoreGuestService, Front Office Manager at Sycamore Mineral Springs Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded May 4, 2014

Dear Guest,

It was a pleasure to host your recent visit to the Central Coast. Sycamore is surrounded by beautiful grounds that allow for different attributes such as the near by beach and hill side views.

We are currently in the process of remodeling each of our rooms across the resort. Thank you for your kind feedback as we value each of our guest comments to continue to grow the resort each day.

We look forward to your return visit in the near future.

Sincerely,

Sycamore Mineral Springs Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,541)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,073 - 2,079 of 2,541 reviews

Reviewed April 14, 2014

The water is great. The service staff are fabulous but the rooms are small without any comfy chairs in the room or on the deck. Our first stay was a web special and that cost was reasonable. But this stay made us decide not to come back and pay full price.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank kmrgudic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SycamoreGuestService, Front Office Manager at Sycamore Mineral Springs Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded May 4, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for allowing us to host your recent stay during your recent travels to the Central Coast.

I am pleased to hear you received great service throughout your time at the resort. We are currently in the process of remodeling our rooms across the resort to allow for further comfort and luxury.

We look forward to your return visit in the near future.

Sincerely,

Sycamore Mineral Springs Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2014

amy as you know our stay in ur wishful cottage was not relaxing. the generator water shed behind our bldg. rattle the pipes in our bldg. and makes a clunking sound all the time. hope u can fix that for the next visitor. also dinner was under par. chef made us oyster rockerfellers just terrible, we returned em. duck breast entrée also terrible, returned, tasted like liver and dry. hope our next experience is better,

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Robin D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SycamoreGuestService, Front Office Manager at Sycamore Mineral Springs Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded May 4, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to speak with me at check-out regarding your stay in Wishful. I appreciate you bringing the noise concerns to my attention so that I was able to address the matter directly with our maintenance department upon your departure. I apologize for your dining experience in the restaurant and appreciate your feedback as we continue to improve all attributes of our resort on a daily bases.

I seek to provide a tranquil and peaceful environment for each of our guest to all a perfect getaway at Sycamore. I once again thank you for sharing your feedback directly with me and look forward to creating a new experience for you in the near future.

Sincerely,

Sycamore Mineral Springs Resort
Amy Buell

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2014

Lovely relaxing location. Decor was a bit dated but comfortable. Our room had a fireplace and a hot tub out on the private deck. Restaurant service and food were amazing. We where a bit disappointed as we here seated by the outside patio and each time the door was opened the cold air went directly into our booth which detracted from our dining experience.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Tamra2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SycamoreGuestService, Front Office Manager at Sycamore Mineral Springs Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded May 4, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for allowing Sycamore to provide you a romantic getaway weekend. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your weekend of relaxation.

Sycamore Mineral Springs Resort is in the process of renovating the entire property to update the decor and setting of the resort. We hope you will return in the near future to enjoy the renovations and experience the relaxing comfort of our resort.

Sincerely,

Sycamore Mineral Springs Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2014

It was very peaceful, but for the price of the room I expected a lot more. Maybe I'm being a little picky. I just thought that cosmetically the building and deck would be in tip top condition. The stairs could use some paint and the hot tubs upgraded. Overall this is a great location and if you need a place to get away this place isn't bad.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Chanel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SycamoreGuestService, Front Office Manager at Sycamore Mineral Springs Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded May 4, 2014

Dear Guest,

It was an honor to host your peaceful getaway to Sycamore Mineral Springs Resort. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed the location and our overall resort during your getaway.

Sycamore Mineral Springs Resort is in the process of renovating the entire property including the decks, all new hot tubs and paint. We hope to have you return in the near future to enjoy the renovations and new outlook of our resort.

Sincerely,

Sycamore Mineral Springs Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2014

I came here on a trip with my mother. We had the remodeled room. The roon was clean and had a fresh feeling. It was too bad we had to pay for the upgrade because I expected all rooms to look like a remodeled room considering the price we were paying. We tried the privaTe rented bath and it was nice. I enjoyed the smell of sulfur. I wish we had the same sulfur water in our jacuzzi outside our room. The rental bath was run down and needs update if they are charging clients for it. I was disappointed to see the old unused or used tools outside our building. It does not look too pretty. Otherwise, I loved the serenity and the quaInt feel to this place.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank kewpiemayodoll40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SycamoreGuestService, Front Office Manager at Sycamore Mineral Springs Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded May 4, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for allowing Sycamore to provide a relaxing getaway weekend for you and your mother. Sycamore is a stunning resort that allows for true serenity and peace across the resort.

It is a delight to hear you enjoyed our newly remodeled West Meadow – King Suites. We are in the process of updating each room on property and shortly will be adding new private hot tubs to each room. The in-room hot tubs offer two different mineral base attributes depending upon the location of the resort. Our standard rooms offer mineral water with high sulfur content and our suites offer mineral water with muted sulfur content. All rooms provide full mineral benefits to allow for a therapeutic experience.

We look forward to your return stay in the near future as we continue to improve our resort daily.

Sincerely,

Sycamore Mineral Springs Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2014

The staff is very friendly and answered all questions, and let us know of what was going on in the local area. The grounds were taken care of. The room was dated and could use an upgrade. Stained carpets, scratched up furniture, cabinet doors wouldn’t stay shut. Mineral tub was patched, not very inviting, behind the tub, was loaded with cobwebs and old plastic cups, cobwebs were in the corners of the patio. I know its outside, but it would only take a broom to get rid of the spider webs. The food could have had a basic menu, not all people want to experiment with food have the basics. Tubs were very relaxing and my wife really enjoyed her massage. Overall a decent stay

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Arthur H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SycamoreGuestService, Front Office Manager at Sycamore Mineral Springs Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded May 4, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your recent stay at Sycamore Mineral Springs Resort. We appreciate your feedback as we continue to strive to enhance our guest experience each day. I am pleased to hear the staff was able to answer all your questions and familiarize you with the local area.

Sycamore began renovations in November 2013 and continues to improve the property each day. We are in the process of replacing carpet, furniture, cabinets, and the outdoor mineral spring hot tub. We are pleased to have the opportunity to update the resort and provide you with a new experience on your next visit to Sycamore.

Thank you for sharing your suggestions regarding our menu in the restaurant. With feedback directly from our guest we are able to customize our guest experiences.

It was a pleasure to host your stay on the central coast.

Sincerely,

Sycamore Mineral Springs Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Luis Obispo
0.5 mi away
Avila Village Inn
Avila Village Inn
#2 of 5 in Avila Beach
686 reviews
8.1 mi away
Apple Farm Inn
Apple Farm Inn
#2 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
1,442 reviews
8.0 mi away
San Luis Creek Lodge
San Luis Creek Lodge
#1 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
632 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
The Inn at the Cove
The Inn at the Cove
#1 of 29 in Pismo Beach
1,468 reviews
1.3 mi away
Avila Lighthouse Suites
Avila Lighthouse Suites
#3 of 5 in Avila Beach
757 reviews
6.0 mi away
Madonna Inn
Madonna Inn
#5 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
1,673 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sycamore Mineral Springs Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sycamore Mineral Springs Resort and Spa

Address: 1215 Avila Beach Dr, San Luis Obispo, CA 93405-8048
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > San Luis Obispo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in San Luis Obispo
#11 Family Hotel in San Luis Obispo
Price Range: $202 - $445 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sycamore Mineral Springs Resort and Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sycamore Mineral Springs Resort rests atop hot mineral springs and spans more than 100 acres of forest, hills and meadows on the picturesque Central Coast of California. An authentic California resort, the property features hillside mineral springs hot tubs, a beautiful spa, the Gardens of Avila Restaurant, a labyrinth, private balcony hot tubs, meditation gardens, and wide selection of mind-body classes in our Yoga Dome. Sycamore Mineral Springs Resort -located halfway between San Francisco and Los Angeles is just a short walk to the ocean and close to award-winning wineries, golf courses, Hearst Castle, Pismo Beach, and San Luis Obispo. Escape to our historic resort voted best Spa and Weekend Getaway on the Central Coast. Experience rustic elegance in a serene and relaxing environment surrounded with the best California has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Sycamore Mineral Springs Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sycamore Mineral Springs Hotel San Luis Obispo
Sycamore Springs
Sycamore Mineral Springs Resort
Mineral Resort Springs Sycamore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing