We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Defiantly will return”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sycamore Mineral Springs Resort and Spa
Ranked #8 of 32 Hotels in San Luis Obispo
Certificate of Excellence
Murrieta, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Defiantly will return”
Reviewed March 27, 2014

Staff was friendly, grounds were nicely kept. Room was very comfortable. Had a very nice and relaxing stay. Enjoyed the hot tub in the room. I will defiantly recommend and return for another visit!!!!


  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Lgar6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,352 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    967
    705
    364
    207
    109
See reviews for
376
1,566
82
47
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (147)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
La Mirada
1 review
Reviewed March 26, 2014

This was our first time staying at the resort, it was peacefull and relaxing. We enjoyed the hiking trails and Avila Beach. The room was nice and clean, service was good. The resturant food left a lot to be desired.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Blanca C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange County, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2014

We stayed in the "Soothing" suite at Sycamore, and the room was very well laid out, spacious, with great extra large TVs in both the den area and the bedroom. The bed was very comfortable. There was a wine refrigerator and a cozy fireplace.

Kudos to the young men who shuttled us back and forth to our room. They were very friendly and helpful.

But there were issues. First, the spa took forever to fill, and the water seemed to be nothing more than tap water. It did not have the faintest scent of sulphur, and we guessed that it was not plumbed into the marketed mineral springs at all.

The worst problem was the bathroom water. You had to let the hot water run for several minutes before it turned warm. Not at all convenient and certainly not eco-friendly in California's current drought conditions. We called for maintenance to check this, and he said it was due to the simultaneous use of the spa. But the problem persisted throughout our 1-day stay, regardless of whether the spa was being used or not.

Finally, one small item: the Sycamore should provide at least a simple soap dish. I guess they just think it's ok to keep the wet bar lying on the granite counter. (Like I said, "small item".)

Oh, I forgot.... I played golf very early in the morning and asked my wife to request a late checkout time--on a quiet non-holiday Monday morning. They gave us til 12 noon, but would not grant the extra 30 minutes I needed to take a quick shower after my round. Not the best customer service.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank CotoRick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2014

We are frequent fans of the Mineral Springs and whenever we're in the area, we pop in for a great relaxing hour or so in the tubs. We decided to try an overnight stay and were blown away. Great vibe. Breakfast was wonderful followed by a great hike to Avila Beach through the Sycamore trail. Topped it off again with a relaxing tub bath. We do prefer the tubs in the trees. Thanks! And we can't wait to return!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank DanHertlein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 25, 2014 via mobile

The customer service was fine, nothing memorable about it. We had a room with a mineral hot tub, which was fine as well.
To use other facilities, such as the sulfur mineral hot tubs is an extra charge for staying guests and only offer a discount m-th. extra charge for the lagoon as well, I had thought this was just part of the pool area but it is separate. The bikes were yet an another extra charge. The yoga/meditation classes were free for paying guests, so that was nice. The hikes on the property were decent.

Was looking forward to walking through the labyrinth but nowhere on their website does it indicate it is closed. I had discouraged my sister to walk in one in Carmel so that we could use the one on the property, do quite disappointed to find out it was closed.

It was a quiet property, our room was secluded, which was nice.

Rather than staying at the property, I would suggest to just book what amenities you are interested in using and just book those. Like the hot tub, etc.

Nothing very memorable about this stay.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nychipster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SycamoreGuestService, Guest Relations Manager at Sycamore Mineral Springs Resort and Spa, responded to this review, March 26, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your recent stay at Sycamore Springs. We thank you for choosing us for your accommodation needs. We appreciate your input and reviews as it helps us reach our highest potential.

We are glad you found the resort peaceful and secluded. We are very lucky with our location and property to have such seclusion and privacy throughout the resort. Unfortunately, it seems as though nothing stood out in memory. We apologize for this as we hope that each guest leaves our resort with fabulous memories. We hope that we can increase levels of service so that each future guest will feel extra good and have memorable interactions.

We apologize for the Labyrinth inconvenience. We do have it stated on our website that the Labyrinth is closed, however it is on the Labyrinth page, not the Home Page. Sorry you had to find out after you were already here to walk it. We are glad you found our Yoga and meditation classes memorable and enjoyable.

Thank you again for your stay and we look forward to hosting you again in the future, when you come back to CA!

Sincerely,
Sycamore Mineral Springs.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yosemite National Park, California
2 reviews
Reviewed March 25, 2014

We love staying at Sycamore. The grounds are beautiful. The rooms are private and the hot tubs fabulous. We have been there the last 2 months and will be back for 3 days in April with 6 of us! The staff seemed nice on this trip however because of past experience we try not to ask for anything and we don't go to the restaurant. We highly recommend this hotel! Not the restaurant especially for breakfast.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Denise P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camarillo
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 25, 2014

I fell the sycamore mineral spring was little over priced for the service and room that we received.
First morning we woke up 6:30 am with a screaming bird around our room and a neighbor guest slamming door. For the price we paid we should have breakfast included.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Ernieroy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Luis Obispo
6.0 mi away
Madonna Inn
Madonna Inn
#5 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
1,571 reviews
0.5 mi away
Avila Village Inn
Avila Village Inn
#2 of 5 in Avila Beach
642 reviews
8.1 mi away
Apple Farm Inn
Apple Farm Inn
#3 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
1,366 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.0 mi away
San Luis Creek Lodge
San Luis Creek Lodge
#2 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
609 reviews
3.8 mi away
The Inn at the Cove
The Inn at the Cove
#1 of 29 in Pismo Beach
1,352 reviews
1.2 mi away
Avila La Fonda Hotel
Avila La Fonda Hotel
#1 of 5 in Avila Beach
826 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sycamore Mineral Springs Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sycamore Mineral Springs Resort and Spa

Property: Sycamore Mineral Springs Resort and Spa
Address: 1215 Avila Beach Dr, San Luis Obispo, CA 93405-8048
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > San Luis Obispo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in San Luis Obispo
#11 Family Hotel in San Luis Obispo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Sycamore Mineral Springs Resort and Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sycamore Mineral Springs Resort rests atop hot mineral springs and spans more than 100 acres of forest, hills and meadows on the picturesque Central Coast of California. An authentic California resort, the property features hillside mineral springs hot tubs, a beautiful spa, the Gardens of Avila Restaurant, a labyrinth, private balcony hot tubs, meditation gardens, and wide selection of mind-body classes in our Yoga Dome. Sycamore Mineral Springs Resort -located halfway between San Francisco and Los Angeles is just a short walk to the ocean and close to award-winning wineries, golf courses, Hearst Castle, Pismo Beach, and San Luis Obispo. Escape to our historic resort voted best Spa and Weekend Getaway on the Central Coast. Experience rustic elegance in a serene and relaxing environment surrounded with the best California has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Sycamore Mineral Springs Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sycamore Mineral Springs Hotel San Luis Obispo
Sycamore Springs
Sycamore Mineral Springs Resort
Mineral Resort Springs Sycamore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing