We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We So Enjoyed the Mineral Hot Tubs!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sycamore Mineral Springs Resort and Spa
Ranked #9 of 32 Hotels in San Luis Obispo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 1, 2013

My sister, cousin and me spent a long weekend last weekend in San Luis Obispo. Although I had done plenty of research before the trip, we did not know anything about this resort and the mineral hot springs until we met a lady at a local winery who gave us some information. When she mentioned that there were hot tubs that could be reserved, we were interested and the next morning we arrived before our reserved time of 10:00. The hot tubs can be reserved for one hour at $10.00 each during the day. The price goes up at night to $17.00 during weekend nights. Upon arrival, we were checked in and given the name of our hot tub and location on the hillside. We then had to walk up several stairways on the hillside to the tub. The tubs are set privately amongst a forest of huge and beautiful oak trees. The setting is just wonderful. The tubs are also semi-private with lattice around 3/4 of the tub and since the tubs are set a good distance apart from each other, we did not see another person. Clothing is optional if you choose. Our tub was a good size on a nice redwood deck with plenty of room to change. A shower was also available. The area was clean and well kept. Hot mineral water is pumped in continually and the temperature was perfect. What a rejuvenating experience to sit in the tub out in nature and gaze at the beautiful forest around us. As a birder, I especially enjoyed seeing a number of woodpeckers and other bird life flitting around the trees. All three of us had a lovely time and did not want to leave. After our soak, our skin and spirits felt much improved from our mineral bath. Although we mainly came for the hot tub, the resort has a number of other amenities that looked appealing. The gift shop was fun to browse in and featured some very nice items. We were interested in getting a facial at the spa but the prices are quite high. There are bikes available and the Bob Jones bike/walking trail is located at this resort and goes for a few miles to Avila Beach. There are also hiking trails in the hills and a labyrinthe that I wanted to try. There is also a yoga building on site. We checked out the restaurant for dinner, but the menu is limited and fairly expensive. I am definitely interested in coming back to this resort again and perhaps next time to stay in one of the rooms and experience more of this beautiful area and the relaxing activities.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MSWMom50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,643)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,320 - 2,326 of 2,645 reviews

Reviewed July 31, 2013

I did not stay at the resort, only made use of one of the hot tubs for an hour's rental so I can't comment on the hotel itself, but my wife and I really enjoyed the jacuzzi. The information on their website is out of date. It said outside guests were only allowed from 8AM to noon but when I called to make reservations, the staff member said any time was possible, maybe because it was the middle of the week. Very beautiful location on the side of a hill. Each hot tub has a privacy wall built around it so you won't see any other people around but they are open to the sky. Very natural setting. The very helpful staff explained everything thoroughly about the rules and regulations. Water temp was a little hot for me, ranging from 100 to 104 on a 20 minute cycle, so I stayed in for only a half hour. Very clean and sanitary. Definitely worth a second trip. Good value too - Some kind of special rate today $10 per person per hour.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeff H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2013

Very pleasant stay for mind and body. It was are second stay and would go again. Sunday brunch are very good. Go for the Walk in mountain, the view is very nice. The only down side was the front desk girl for Check out on a Monday, i'vr ask for later Check out and was told that people call at 6:30am but i'm on vacation didn't expect to call that early on a Monday.

Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Julie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2013

This is our 5th trip here in 2 years. Great place to unwind and recharge. Although this time several young children were present, had to listen to Marco Polo for 2 hours pool side. I was disappointed that the staff did not attend to this.

Our room was excellent, maid service did all the little extras, cute towel,animals and folded tissue!

The resturant was excellent , we had 3 different meals and each one was a treat!

Enjoyed the trails both over the hill and the leisure walk into Availa.

If you are looking for a palace to unwind, and reconnect, this is the palace. Can't wait for the next trip...

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Becky C C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SycamoreGuestService, Guest Relations Manager at Sycamore Mineral Springs Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded August 2, 2013

Thank you for choosing Sycamore Mineral Springs Resort for your accommodation needs. We apologize for the noise you experienced. In the future we will keep a watchful eye on the noise levels so all guests can enjoy their experience here. It was an honor to host your stay during your visit to the beautiful Central Coast, we hope to see you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2013

The scenery is very good. The room was very ordinary. The hot tub in the room was very good. My meal was poor. I ordered the salmon. It was served cold and had the consistency of jelly. I asked for it be warmed, but the microwave must have been broken. We wanted to use an outdoor spa, but found there was an extra charge, on top of the "resort fee".

The employees were helpful and friendly.

The cost was out of bounds for what we received.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rexh733
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SycamoreGuestService, Guest Relations Manager at Sycamore Mineral Springs Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded August 2, 2013

I am disappointed to hear that your dining experience was not to your satisfaction. Our Chef has a steam cooking method of preparing that particular salmon dish which does contribute to a more moist texture. We actually do not have a microwave in our kitchen but would be happy to heat any item in our oven. We will be working with our restaurant staff to make sure that they can fully explain the cooking methods and menu items for our guests in the future. We are always looking for ways to improve our guest experience at the resort.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2013 via mobile

I stay at sycamore springs every year since my mid 20's. It is so romantic, and peaceful. You don't have to leave the premises with the restaurant and bar on site, labyrinth, a walk on bob jones trail, and a hike with a breathtaking view up the mountain. It's price is similar to a less-than Marriott in the area, so why not pay a bit more and have a better experience with a private mineral tub in the room? Whenever I travel up the coast to San Fran from LA, I always stop here for 1-3 nights. I wish I could live here forever. It's clean, peaceful, and close to nature. It's the place I fell in love with my boyfriend....

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MitsoukoRussie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SycamoreGuestService, Guest Relations Manager at Sycamore Mineral Springs Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded July 11, 2013

Thank you for choosing to stay at Sycamore Mineral Springs Resort. We are certainly pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback and we appreciate your loyalty to Sycamore Mineral Springs Resort. We hope to have the honor to host your next stay on the beautiful Central Coast.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2013

The main reason to stay here is here is the unique sulfur-fed hot spring tubs that they have for each room. They have several different room styles. We have stayed in one hill-side room and also stayed in the Meadow Suites three times. The cost is really based on having the hot tubs I think because the level of the rooms/service in that area doesn't justify the rates. That said, it is a great place to feel like you are getting away from it all and have the great relaxation of a private hot tub for your room. The sulfur-springs really are unbelievably relaxing. It is a quick drive down to the ocean area and there are lots of hiking trails nearby as well as San Luis Obispo. So its a great romatic/relaxing get-away just a little too pricey for the quality of the rooms and level of service.

Room Tip: If you want a suite type room and more privacy, pick the ones that are the Meadows suites. They are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank S R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SycamoreGuestService, Guest Relations Manager at Sycamore Mineral Springs Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded July 11, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to post your thoughts on your recent experience at Sycamore Mineral Springs Resort. We are pleased to hear that you have enjoyed the hot tub experience at the resort. We appreciate your loyalty and we hope to have the honor of serving you again in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Luis Obispo
8.1 mi away
Apple Farm Inn
Apple Farm Inn
#2 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
1,459 reviews
8 mi away
San Luis Creek Lodge
San Luis Creek Lodge
#1 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
644 reviews
0.5 mi away
Avila Village Inn
Avila Village Inn
#2 of 5 in Avila Beach
686 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6 mi away
Madonna Inn
Madonna Inn
#6 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
1,696 reviews
3.8 mi away
The Inn at the Cove
The Inn at the Cove
#1 of 29 in Pismo Beach
1,504 reviews
7 mi away
SLO Brew Lofts
SLO Brew Lofts
#10 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sycamore Mineral Springs Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sycamore Mineral Springs Resort and Spa

Address: 1215 Avila Beach Dr, San Luis Obispo, CA 93405-8048
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > San Luis Obispo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in San Luis Obispo
Price Range: $169 - $462 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sycamore Mineral Springs Resort and Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sycamore Mineral Springs Resort rests atop hot mineral springs and spans more than 100 acres of forest, hills and meadows on the picturesque Central Coast of California. An authentic California resort, the property features hillside mineral springs hot tubs, a beautiful spa, the Gardens of Avila Restaurant, a labyrinth, private balcony hot tubs, meditation gardens, and wide selection of mind-body classes in our Yoga Dome. Sycamore Mineral Springs Resort -located halfway between San Francisco and Los Angeles is just a short walk to the ocean and close to award-winning wineries, golf courses, Hearst Castle, Pismo Beach, and San Luis Obispo. Escape to our historic resort voted best Spa and Weekend Getaway on the Central Coast. Experience rustic elegance in a serene and relaxing environment surrounded with the best California has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Sycamore Mineral Springs Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sycamore Mineral Springs Hotel San Luis Obispo
Sycamore Springs
Sycamore Mineral Springs Resort
Mineral Resort Springs Sycamore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing