We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Buyer Beware Not What You Think” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sycamore Mineral Springs Resort and Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Sycamore Mineral Springs Resort and Spa
Ranked #8 of 32 Hotels in San Luis Obispo
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Buyer Beware Not What You Think”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2013

Let me begin by saying every business should understand and value their customers. Myself and girlfriends checked into the Sycamore Mineral Springs Resort and Spa on Friday for what was to be a celebration of life. The room we stayed in (the Heavenly) was simple, with a hot tub (it was old and filthy, as was the peeled painted decking-I will try to upload photos). We booked a girlfriend's retreat with access to the Oasis spa. There were many issues with our room, however we were willing to overlook the stained tiles, filthy hot tub, bug ridden room because the outdoor areas are beautiful. We ate dinner in the hotel restaurant (which was good)-they earned multiple stars, but I can't reflect that here because the staff for the hotel, more specifically the general manager, Charles [--] was incompetent and does not understand that when a business makes a mistake they should rectify it to the customers satisfaction. After receiving a voicemail and email confirmation dated April 3rd and again on April 18 from the hotel marketing director, Marina [--] we planned our day and evening so we would experience the "Oasis" which was presented as a one of a kind experience. Long story short they gave our spa away and acted like oh well... The GM, [--] stated, "It's just a hot tub" which is NOT how it is marketed. Unfortunately, the old bait and switch happened. After being insulted, talked down to, and interrogated for complaining, we had sat in the lobby of the spa area nearly 60 minutes without a resolution... THERE IS NO ACCOUNTABILITY or immediate executive leadership/decision making. My advice is stay somewhere else. The property is owned by King Ventures out of San Luis Obispo who also owns several other resorts including The Cliffs Resort and has won awards for development , but obviously NONE for hospitality. #KingVenture #Sycamoremineralpingsandreort #thecliffsresort #Applefarm #seaventure #Boutiquehotel #filthytub #badcustomerservice #bugsinroom #badmanager #epicfail #poorcustomerservice

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank juanits R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SycamoreGuestService, General Manager at Sycamore Mineral Springs Resort and Spa, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Thank you for sharing your review and the opportunity to publicly respond. Of course, our first objective is to ensure our guests have a wonderful experience. And we always appreciate constructive feedback. I'd simply like to address this response from guests that stayed with us last weekend to provide some perspective. Our hot tub are thoroughly cleaned everyday; however, with Sycamore being situated amongst the trees, leaves do blow into the tub and deck at times. We addressed this and had a staff person re-clean it immediately. Needless to say, Sycamore isn't, as they claimed, bug-ridden, and they never mentioned it in our conversations.

In regards to the hot tub these guests requested, in fact that particular tub was double-booked. Our mistake. I apologized and offered them another hillside six-person size hot tub at no cost, and to refund the price of the original hot tub. We also offered them the Oasis hot tub the next morning for no charge. However, the guests stated that they were entitled to a free night of the Girlfriend Getaway Package, approximately $600 for their party of five, for not receiving their promised hot tub. I personally spoke to these guests, at almost midnight on my day off to try to make things right. They insulted the staff and me and threatened a law suit because they didn't get the hot tub they requested. Additionally, I authorized $150 off their stay for the mistake about the hot tub, which they took.

Charles Crellin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,011 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    811
    606
    318
    173
    103
See reviews for
315
1,331
73
43
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (132)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
424 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2013

My friends and I reserved a 2 bedroom suite to celebrate my birthday. The total cost for one night was $498. The suite itself was clean and spacious but our fireplace did not work. You think if you pay that much, everything would work right? As for the rooms, they were clean and spacious but nothing extravagant. We had a bottom floor suite and you could hear all the footsteps from the floor above, not to mention the baby crying in the night. If you have a chance, book a top room floor.

The hot tub that is on the private balcony has no heater so you must use it immediately after filling otherwise you have to drain it and start all over. We filled it and went to dinner and came back to cold water not being aware that there was no heater. Needless to say, we just gave up on it and rented the private hot tub on the hill. I must warn you to reserve these as soon as you can or risk not getting a tub.

The tubs look worn and dated and they charge $17.50 a person an hour. It would be nice if they gave guests a one time complimentary hour, but nope. Add another $87 to our overpriced bill already. The water was yellow but i guess that's what it's supposed to look like? I've been to hot springs in Costa Rica and don't remember yellow water, but maybe it's different. I decided to pass on getting in since it's not clear how often they clean these.


The biggest drawback to this place are their check in/out hours. Check in is at 4pm! I've done a lot of traveling and have never had a 4pm check in. Most luxury hotels have a standard 3 pm check in and a 12 pm checkout. . Not this place! The checkout time is 11 am. So we basically lost two more hours of our stay. For the money you pay to stay here, you'd expect more. Next time we are staying elsewhere. After a little research, we could have stayed at the Pelican Bay 5 star resort for about the same price so that's where we'll be next time.

Room Tip: Book a top floor room
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carolinelomeli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SycamoreGuestService, Manager at Sycamore Mineral Springs Resort and Spa, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
We appreciate your time to write about your experience at our resort. We sincerely regret that your stay with us did not meet your expectations regarding value. We are happy to hear that you appreciated the size and cleanliness of your room. We confirm prior to arrival that every room is in working order. I am sorry that your fireplace did not work properly but we did fix it during your stay as soon as you informed us, we apology for any inconvenience. Every hotel room has a balcony hot tub that offers the benefits of the therapeutic mineral water that naturally resides underground of the resort. The balcony hot tubs are customized to pump the mineral water straight to your personal hot tub directly from the ground and does not keep it heated, rather allows you to control the temperature by choosing how hot you want the naturally heated water in your own personal hot tub with out any chemicals. You can empty and fill your hot tub as often as you would like which keeps the water as fresh as possible. We rely on your feedback as it continually helps us to improve. Thank you and we hope to have the opportunity to exceed your expectations in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bakersfield, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

I've been to this resort 3 times in the past 6 months - the first time on a romantic getaway, the second on a girlfriends weekend, and the last time as a business retreat and it was WONDERFUL and perfect each time! I loved the service, privacy, location, food, and ambiance. My husband and I enjoyed a beautiful room and secluded hot-tub for a very romantic getaway. My girlfriends and I used it as a destination resort for massage and facials, great beach time, and nearby outlet shopping! We did a business training there where the meeting rooms were well appointed, the service was great and we had the wine country and fine-dining options onsite and just minutes away...all three stays were wonderful! Trena their event coordinator was wonderful for our meetings, and Amy their front desk supervisor made sure my room for my weekend away with my husband was just perfect! The Chef at their restaurant was AWESOME - we enjoyed the food and wine pairing meal (a steal at $100 with tax and gratuity included) as one of the highlights of our trip. Everything I can say about the resort is positive - if you give it a try once, you'll be back again, and again! I know we're already looking forward to our next getaway there!

Room Tip: If you want a 'retreat' with a little more privacy - make sure you ask for one of the cottag...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chispi3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solvang, California
Level Contributor
33 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2013

The hotel staff are always very friendly and helpful - everyone from the front desk to the wait staff to the groundskeepers.

We stayed in the newer West Meadows surrounded by a nature preserve.
A hike to the top of the hill worked up our appetites for dinner. A soak in the hot tub topped off the night. A morning walk in the nature preserve and through the labyrinth is a great way to start the day.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MsMoch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2013

I enjoyed my short stay very much. I stayed in the spa suite with a queen bed. The rooms were clean and spacious. The fan in the bathroom was really loud and sounded like a dying hippo but that didnt bother us too much. There were two tvs and a mini fridge. The bed was super comfy! Some hotel beds can be really uncomfortable but I didn't have an issue with mine.

The hot springs were nice since you get your own private hot tub. The only thing is that I reserved a night time slot in hopes that I'd get to bathe under the stars but we turned out to be completely surrounded by trees. I'm thinking day time slots are better. Overall it was relaxing. I'd recommend this spot to my parents since its quiet and private.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vvang24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pacific Grove, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2013

We came here for the tubs after a triathlon in Arroyo Grande this past weekend, and it was the PERFECT post-triathlon relaxation. The staff here is very friendly and accommodating, and the private tubs were incredible. If you have ever taken a hike on any central coast inland trail and dreamed of plopping a mineral springs hot tub down right in the center of that wonderful nature, that's exactly what these tubs are like! Nature, healing, seclusion, connection, fantastic!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jessika1018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2013 via mobile

We LOVED our one bedroom suite! It was quite and relaxing! They have the BEST HIKES in the day and the hot tubs on your private deck are perfect !! Our massage in the spa was TRULEY one of a kind and I felt like a princess!! We left feeling rested and relaxed!!! Def coming back sooner than later!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TinaMina83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Luis Obispo
8.0 mi away
San Luis Creek Lodge
San Luis Creek Lodge
#1 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 561 reviews
8.1 mi away
Apple Farm Inn
Apple Farm Inn
#3 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,259 reviews
0.6 mi away
Avila Village Inn
Avila Village Inn
#2 of 5 in Avila Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 454 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.0 mi away
Madonna Inn
Madonna Inn
#5 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,454 reviews
1.3 mi away
Avila La Fonda Hotel
Avila La Fonda Hotel
#1 of 5 in Avila Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 710 reviews
3.7 mi away
The Inn at the Cove
The Inn at the Cove
#2 of 27 in Pismo Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sycamore Mineral Springs Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sycamore Mineral Springs Resort and Spa

Property: Sycamore Mineral Springs Resort and Spa
Address: 1215 Avila Beach Dr, San Luis Obispo, CA 93405-8048
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > San Luis Obispo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in San Luis Obispo
#11 Family Hotel in San Luis Obispo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Sycamore Mineral Springs Resort and Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sycamore Mineral Springs Resort rests atop hot mineral springs and spans more than 100 acres of forest, hills and meadows on the picturesque Central Coast of California. An authentic California resort, the property features hillside mineral springs hot tubs, a beautiful spa, the Gardens of Avila Restaurant, a labyrinth, private balcony hot tubs, meditation gardens, and wide selection of mind-body classes in our Yoga Dome. Sycamore Mineral Springs Resort -located halfway between San Francisco and Los Angeles is just a short walk to the ocean and close to award-winning wineries, golf courses, Hearst Castle, Pismo Beach, and San Luis Obispo. Escape to our historic resort voted best Spa and Weekend Getaway on the Central Coast. Experience rustic elegance in a serene and relaxing environment surrounded with the best California has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Sycamore Mineral Springs Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sycamore Mineral Springs Hotel San Luis Obispo
Sycamore Springs
Sycamore Mineral Springs Resort
Mineral Resort Springs Sycamore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing