We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Getaway” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sycamore Mineral Springs Resort and Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sycamore Mineral Springs Resort and Spa
Ranked #8 of 31 Hotels in San Luis Obispo
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great Getaway”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2012

We booked the one bedroom spa Suite and thoroughly enjoyed it. The room was clean and in good shape. One can always argue with the decor as all tastes are different.

The room has a small private patio that housed the hot tub. The patio had two chairs and a table. We whiled away the evenings drinking local wine and soaking in the hot tub.

We did not take advantage of the spa services so are unable to comment on them. We are return visitors to this resort and have stayed in the West Meadows rooms, but prefer the One Bedroom Queen Spa Suites.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MCM975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SycamoreGuestService, Manager at Sycamore Mineral Springs Resort and Spa, responded to this review, May 24, 2012
Dear Guest, thank you so much for taking the time to share your "Great Getaway" experience with us. We hope we have the pleasure to welcome you both back in the near future so that you can enjoy more local wine and a relaxing hot tub soak under our century old Sycamore trees.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,686 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    676
    513
    251
    157
    89
See reviews for
251
1,113
59
33
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Palm Springs
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2012 via mobile

Spend the money and stay in the meadows. The other properties ate rum down rat traps. Too bad the management is so greedy and short term thinking. Paradise ruined.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PaulRoide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SycamoreGuestService, Manager at Sycamore Mineral Springs Resort and Spa, responded to this review, May 17, 2012
Dear Guest, as we have discussed in person, on the phone and via email, we are sorry that we did not meet your expectations during your recent stay. We did everything we could to help make your stay a pleasant one. I appreciate the opportunity to clarify a few of your comments regarding your stay with us. The front desk staff discussed the issues at length with this guest, and then the general manager spoke to the guest for over 20 minutes. The guest was informed that the rooms he stayed in had new beds and new carpet, and that new furniture would be delivered in two weeks. We offered an upgrade at a discount rate and the guest refused.

The guest mentioned mice outside. However, as these rooms are situated amongst the trees on a beautiful hillside, guests will occasionally see squirrels, raccoons, deer, and, though rarely, a mouse outside. Naturally, we have a professional service that deals with any “creature” issues. We have a first-rate housekeeping team that does an excellent job in cleaning the rooms.

The owner and general manager have been and will continue to renovate and refurbish the property resort-wide. And our staff takes great pride in Sycamore and strives to make our guest’s experience a wonderful one.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado
Level Contributor
41 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2012

We just got back from a two night stay here and we loved it. The rooms were a little outdated and they could have used some outdoor furniture, but we loved the private hot springs. There was no need to use the other hot springs pools on the property if you book a room with your own hot springs tub. (For the other pools there is an extra charge per hour to use them.) There are trails to hike and classes are offered a few times a day. We ate dinner at the restaurant and it was very good food. Great place overall.

Room Tip: We stayed in the harmony building 2nd floor and loved the location.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank boulderjeanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee
Level Contributor
40 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2012

This was a great place to start our vacation. You can hike up a small mountain with great views or into Avila, an ocean-side resort community, soak in a private hot tub in the trees, or drive into San Luis Obispo. Some people mentioned fees. I added up the facilities charge, the hot tub charges, even breakfast one morning and came to the same price as a nice hotel in Santa Barbara. So you can't say it's too expensive. Why not 5 stars? I suppose one can always nitpick. I've stayed in more fashionable rooms and the walk to the historic breakfast room and tubs was through the parking lot. Overall though, we thoroughly enjoyed our stay we'll be back.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dos_companeros
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

had reservations for 2 days ended up staying 3.room-excellent,service-excellent,hotel grounds and neighboring Avila Beach a real pleasure at this time of year.Fat Cats restaurant an added plus on a foggy morning.Room,better than expected. In room hot tub was fresh water outside tubs mineral water. just a great time with nothing to complain about.

Room Tip: we stayed in the newer area,JOURNEY. there are pictures on the web site and the room was better than...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank highforehead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
66 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2012

We didn't stay here, we just went to the mineral springs. They're $13.50 during the week and $17.50 Fri-Sun per person. But it was $35 well spent! Each spring tub is completely secluded from the others, so you have a private location. The water is beautifully warm and soft, and each tub has a sheltered patio area around it for changing or relaxing by the tub. We had one right up the hill (quite a few stairs) with a lovely view down the mountain - but we could barely hear anyone else and couldn't see anyone at all.

It's worth booking if you go in the evening or weekend - we were told we'd have to wait up to 1 hour for a free tub, but after 10 minutes were called through from the bar as one had come free.

The staff are helpful and friendly - the whole place has a lovely, romantic atmosphere. They do tubs for two people up to around 5 or 6 I think. To avoid extra charges take your own towels.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gemsybob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2012

This hotel had a Spa the patio of our room and to our disappointment, the water wreaked of Sulfer. We stayed here on our way to San Francisco looking to enjoy the wonderful hot springs the hotel advertises and the smell of Sulfer led us back to the room. We enjoyed ordered in-room dining and enjoyed our wine.

Sycamore was just a place to stay, nothing more than this.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RobertAMeza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Luis Obispo
8.0 mi away
San Luis Creek Lodge
San Luis Creek Lodge
#1 of 31 in San Luis Obispo
4.5 of 5 stars 525 reviews
8.1 mi away
Apple Farm Inn
Apple Farm Inn
#3 of 31 in San Luis Obispo
4.5 of 5 stars 1,155 reviews
0.6 mi away
Avila Village Inn
Avila Village Inn
#2 of 5 in Avila Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 375 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.0 mi away
Madonna Inn
Madonna Inn
#6 of 31 in San Luis Obispo
4.0 of 5 stars 1,342 reviews
3.7 mi away
The Inn at the Cove
The Inn at the Cove
#3 of 27 in Pismo Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 981 reviews
1.3 mi away
Avila La Fonda Hotel
Avila La Fonda Hotel
#1 of 5 in Avila Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 637 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sycamore Mineral Springs Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sycamore Mineral Springs Resort and Spa

Property: Sycamore Mineral Springs Resort and Spa
Address: 1215 Avila Beach Dr, San Luis Obispo, CA 93405-8048
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > San Luis Obispo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in San Luis Obispo
#11 Family Hotel in San Luis Obispo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Sycamore Mineral Springs Resort and Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sycamore Mineral Springs Resort rests atop hot mineral springs and spans more than 100 acres of forest, hills and meadows on the picturesque Central Coast of California. An authentic California resort, the property features hillside mineral springs hot tubs, a beautiful spa, the Gardens of Avila Restaurant, a labyrinth, private balcony hot tubs, meditation gardens, and wide selection of mind-body classes in our Yoga Dome. Sycamore Mineral Springs Resort -located halfway between San Francisco and Los Angeles is just a short walk to the ocean and close to award-winning wineries, golf courses, Hearst Castle, Pismo Beach, and San Luis Obispo. Escape to our historic resort voted best Spa and Weekend Getaway on the Central Coast. Experience rustic elegance in a serene and relaxing environment surrounded with the best California has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Sycamore Mineral Springs Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sycamore Mineral Springs Hotel San Luis Obispo
Sycamore Springs
Sycamore Mineral Springs Resort
Mineral Resort Springs Sycamore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing