We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“A little piece of heaven” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sycamore Mineral Springs Resort and Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sycamore Mineral Springs Resort and Spa
Ranked #8 of 31 Hotels in San Luis Obispo
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“A little piece of heaven”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2012

Some reviews/ratings do not do this place justice; it is well worth the money just to be totally free from stress, to soak in your own personal sulphur hot tub looking up at the stars is just incredibly peaceful and relaxing.
We had driven passed the Sycamore spa hotel on our way to Avila beach, which in its own right is a beautiful place with a great walk out on the pier, where you can watch the sea lions play.
We decided to return the next day and have a look at the Spa services that they had to offer at the Sycamore. The receptionist at the front desk told us all about the hotel and spa then offered us a tour of the West meadow suites with a private hot tub, as we had told him that we were looking for peace and tranquility. A golf buggy transported my wife and I across a bridge into a very secluded private area, so peaceful and beautiful hidden by the trees. We immediately returned to the front desk and booked in for the last few days of our vacation (4 nights).
The lounge area in the suite was well laid out and spacious, with a fake log gas fire (very welcomed after the heat of the tub and the cold night air) and a big TV (not that the TV was even thought about being turned on!). The 4-poster bed was huge over three feet high with great big fluffy pillows, great fun. The bathroom was also well laid out with the usual stuff and a big double-headed shower made for two with loads of towels and nice big bathrobes. The hot tub on our very private balcony was exceptionally clean, and secluded; we bought some smelly stuff from the gift shop on site and soaked away for hours surrounded by nature and the stars, being gently massaged by the water jets, smelling cherry blossom and citrus till very late in the evening.
The breakfast was unnecessarily over presented, (very “arty”) and lacking in taste, we entered the main restaurant for our evening meal, looked at what was on the menu, saw the dishes being served and decided that it was the same as breakfast and left. Both Avila and Pismo have great restaurants with real food very close by.
To sum this up, the staff, facilities, suite and grounds are a little piece of heaven beautifully kept and presented but a big shame about the restaurant. We will defiantly return there should we be in that area again and take a picnic hamper with us.

Room Tip: Speak to the front desk and tell them exactly what you need to get the best deal for you before you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank coffeebeanthere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,770 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    710
    535
    269
    161
    95
See reviews for
273
1,162
64
35
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (126)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2012

Called in pretty much on spec as we had read about the sulphur springs in a guide book and realised we would pass on our travels. OH spoke to reception who gave us a guided tour of all the facilities and the available rooms. After a bit of bartering we opted for a room up the hill with its own tub.
Grounds were lovely though don't know why you would wish to pay for a communal hot tub when one on the balcony. Fantastic chilling in the tub with a glass or two of vino.
Room was spacious and clean but a little tired - staff very helpful delivering ice (don't have machines as noisy) and helping set up internet (wired not wifi).
Didn't eat in restaurant as got 'delayed' at the outlet mall but menu looked good.
One gripe that when we settled up in the morning a resort fee had been added on when it hadn't been mentioned to my OH when negotiating rates but to be fair they removed it straight away.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank UKflashpacker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2012

We so enjoyed our visit to the mineral spring tubs! Honestly it didn't start out ideally but it was fantastic. The price on the website said the cost was $12 an hour but when we arrived we were told it was $17.50 an hour, much higher than I expected. The welcome center was nice and fancy as you would expect, but they send you to a little outhouse style bathroom (only 1) to change. I was definitely less than impressed. But once we got to our little private hot tub none of the other stuff mattered. You get quite a bit of privacy with a nice setting in the trees--very natural. We even saw a wild turkey walking by. It was romantic, tranquil, and so very relaxing. We really loved it and we're so glad we found this little gem of an experience. Afterwards we walked around in the labyrinth and to the Bob Jones Trail to round off the great afternoon.

Room Tip: Get a mineral tub high up on the hill for more privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank zooee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2012

this place is super cool if you're looking for something other than a place to crash in the san luis obispo area - the hot tub on the patio is a nice bonus, but the one in our room wasn't very luxurious - i expected something different i guess - but nice to relax just outside your room. our room had a living room off the bedroom, so the extra space was nice, but not really necessary as we didn't spend much time there. the hot tubs in the hills were super cool and a fun experience.

Room Tip: reserve your hot tub in the hills and trees early (around $10 per person) as the times fill up - the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kmichael30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara, CA
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2012

I spent my 50th birthday celebration here with about 20 girlfriends who came from all over the state. Many of them are in the hospitality business. It was a treat for them and me! We rented the big house for a few girls to stay with me and to have a great central meeting place for everyone. Most of the girls shared rooms in the standard room section and they were thrilled with it. We had a brunch at the hotel banquet room and they were so great and easy to work with! The resort offers so much for everyone. We were able to get spa treatments, take a walk down to the beach, catch up visiting by the fireplace in the spacious big house. Marina and Trena were wonderful to work with and Charles Crelin leads a great team!

Room Tip: Rent the large house if you have a group of people joining you. It has a full and spacious kitchen a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CACoastGal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanford, California
Level Contributor
21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2012

Loved having a hot tub on the patio, and the mineral tubs in the hills were great. Had a great massage, very relaxing! We had a room in the meadows area across the road, and it was nice and secluded; although you could hear cars from the road at all hours if you were outside or the window was open. The room was nice, with a nice floorplan and huge bedroom, but could have used a little TLC (cabinets crooked on hinges, cracks in tile, drawers won't slide on track). Beds were huge and comfortable, luxurious pillows and linens. Game tables in the living room is a nice touch, I got my behind kicked in chess! The restaurant was underwhelming for the price, tried two meals and decided to eat offsite from then on.

Overall it was a nice relaxing weekend, away from the hustle and bustle of Avila Beach but close enough to enjoy it at our leisure. Will probably visit again!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dgold21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seaside, California
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2012

My boyfriend and I make our annual pilgrimage to Sycamore Springs for our birthdays, since they're just 2 days apart. We love having a tub on our patio so we can have coffee and a morning soak. Then we usually hop on our bikes and go for a bike ride, or we drive to Pismo so we can play on the beach there. After a long day out, it's great to come back after dinner and soak for a couple of hours before going to bed.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank watergirl_73_2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Luis Obispo
8.0 mi away
San Luis Creek Lodge
San Luis Creek Lodge
#1 of 31 in San Luis Obispo
4.5 of 5 stars 534 reviews
8.1 mi away
Apple Farm Inn
Apple Farm Inn
#3 of 31 in San Luis Obispo
4.5 of 5 stars 1,171 reviews
0.6 mi away
Avila Village Inn
Avila Village Inn
#2 of 5 in Avila Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 385 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
The Inn at the Cove
The Inn at the Cove
#3 of 27 in Pismo Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 1,016 reviews
6.0 mi away
Madonna Inn
Madonna Inn
#5 of 31 in San Luis Obispo
4.0 of 5 stars 1,379 reviews
1.3 mi away
Avila La Fonda Hotel
Avila La Fonda Hotel
#1 of 5 in Avila Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 657 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sycamore Mineral Springs Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sycamore Mineral Springs Resort and Spa

Property: Sycamore Mineral Springs Resort and Spa
Address: 1215 Avila Beach Dr, San Luis Obispo, CA 93405-8048
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > San Luis Obispo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in San Luis Obispo
#11 Family Hotel in San Luis Obispo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Sycamore Mineral Springs Resort and Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sycamore Mineral Springs Resort rests atop hot mineral springs and spans more than 100 acres of forest, hills and meadows on the picturesque Central Coast of California. An authentic California resort, the property features hillside mineral springs hot tubs, a beautiful spa, the Gardens of Avila Restaurant, a labyrinth, private balcony hot tubs, meditation gardens, and wide selection of mind-body classes in our Yoga Dome. Sycamore Mineral Springs Resort -located halfway between San Francisco and Los Angeles is just a short walk to the ocean and close to award-winning wineries, golf courses, Hearst Castle, Pismo Beach, and San Luis Obispo. Escape to our historic resort voted best Spa and Weekend Getaway on the Central Coast. Experience rustic elegance in a serene and relaxing environment surrounded with the best California has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Sycamore Mineral Springs Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sycamore Mineral Springs Hotel San Luis Obispo
Sycamore Springs
Sycamore Mineral Springs Resort
Mineral Resort Springs Sycamore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing