We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Quite good Indian food” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Shalimar Restaurant

Shalimar Restaurant
Ranked #44 of 301 Restaurants in San Luis Obispo
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children, Special occasions, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Buffet, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
N California
Level Contributor
44 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Quite good Indian food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2013

Shalimar is in a fairly basic building, but the food and service were quite good. They did a good job in fitting our tastes on spicyness, and we enjoyed all the dishes that we had ordered.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank curmudgeon99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    56
    21
    4
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Centennial, Colorado
Level Contributor
98 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Favorite Restaurant in SLO!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2013

We have two daughters attending Cal Poly, one is a vegan and the other a vegetarian, and whenever we visit them in SLO, going out for a family dinner at Shalimar is a must. It is our favorite Indian restaurant, and although they have a pretty extensive menu, we always end up ordering the vegetable Samosas, a couple of different Naans, Chicken Tikka Masala, Karahi Chicken, Chana Masala, and a couple of plates of basmati rice. The dishes are spiced just right, and the portions are generous (we always bring home leftovers). The ambience is warm and genuine, and we always feel very welcome. The host/proprietor Aasim Sajjad, is especially charming and friendly, and he makes us feel like family. We were in SLO recently during the holidays, and found the restaurant to be extremely busy, standing room only. We expected to wait a while, but Aasim managed to get us seated very quickly. Shalimar restaurant is a hidden jewel in SLO and we highly recommend it!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank KikoSadie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent Nam and Spinach Paneer”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2012

Love their Nam and Spinach Paneer! We also had a shrimp with Potato curry but it is just fine (the shrimp is quite small and the sauce is kind of un-authentic). Their Basmati rice is great with a lot of flavor!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank travelingfrogs600
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Buffet food service temperature needs attention”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2012

We ate the lunch buffet in this welcoming, authentic Indian restaurant. The ambience needs some help as does the cleanliness of the floor and paintwork. However, the food was very good and the service attentive and friendly.

My major concern was the temperature at which the buffet was served. We were early into the lunch time buffet, but certain 'hot' foods were barely warm. I believe there are food hygiene standards that regulate this type of food presentation. I did eat most dishes, even the barely warm ones, and lived to tell the tale, but will not return until enough time has passed after my review so that the owners and staff can pay better attention to this important matter. Please preheat the buffet dishes to regulation temperature and ensure they are kept hot during the buffet service.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank SanDiegoMoxie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
32 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Truly authentic and fantabulous Indian Cuisine”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2012

I think it's fair to say that the Brits LOVE Indian food, and so my husband and I made a bee line for the Shalimar when we stayed in St Luis Obispo, recently. We can't praise this restaurant enough. The food was absolutely exquisite (in fact my mouth's watering now, from the memory!), the menu was extensive, it took me ages to order because I wanted to try everything - but of course I couldn't! I'd have been there all night. Anyway, if you're in the area and craving a good Curry, look no further! From the moment you enter the restaurant you're going to experience excellent customer service, very attentive staff, TRULY FANTASTIC AND MOUTH WATERING FOOD and an overall experience that you'll want to repeat time after time. Unfortunately, I'm at home in Manchester, UK, but would give anything to book a table at the Shalimar for this evening! Instead I'm going to have to make do with my home made version, which, quite frankly, isn't half bad!

  • Visited April 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Vivaldi1066
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Shalimar Restaurant also viewed

San Luis Obispo, San Luis Obispo County
San Luis Obispo, San Luis Obispo County
 
San Luis Obispo, San Luis Obispo County
San Luis Obispo, San Luis Obispo County
 

Been to Shalimar Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing