We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Artistic spicing” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Shalimar Restaurant

Shalimar Restaurant
Ranked #44 of 301 Restaurants in San Luis Obispo
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Business meetings, Special occasions, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Buffet, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff
Paso Robles, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Artistic spicing”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2012

My mother was a spicing artist. She never used a recipe, and as an Indian cook her "hand" was what made her unique. This was her universal praise, not just one from her son. So I tend to rate Indian restaurants on only the quality of their spicing, not the ambiance, service or presentation. This place is the real deal to my palate. It's a hole-in-the-wall place, so don't plan on a special night out. But you'll have to go to Cambridge or my house (yes I got my Mom's hand) to get a similar taste experience.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Art T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    57
    21
    4
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Santa Cruz
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Love this place.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2012

I love Indian food and this restaurant always has a good selection on the buffet. Very friendly service as well.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank SantaCruzTraveler09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nice Indian restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2012

One of the best Indian restaurant I visited in California.
We had a dinner at Shalimar on way to LA. Enough veg options were available. Food quality was very good and quantity served was more than enough. Price was reasonable. Will visit again if i town.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank PrasannaH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Luis Obispo, California
Level Contributor
88 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Decent Indian food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2012

Quiet restaurant out of the city center, good service, but nothing really memorable. Not cheap.

Helpful?
Thank ken r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paso Robles, California
Level Contributor
72 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“When hungry Indian food, this place will not disappoint!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2011

I eat out often. when I discovered Indian food; I also discovered that so many places are just OK. Shalimar is VERY good! If you are taking a friend to try this food for the first time; take them here.

    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Charles K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Shalimar Restaurant also viewed

San Luis Obispo, San Luis Obispo County
San Luis Obispo, San Luis Obispo County
 
San Luis Obispo, San Luis Obispo County
San Luis Obispo, San Luis Obispo County
 
San Luis Obispo, San Luis Obispo County
San Luis Obispo, San Luis Obispo County
 

Been to Shalimar Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing