We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Food Quality and Taste, and in budget” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Taj Palace

Taj Palace
Ranked #96 of 301 Restaurants in San Luis Obispo
Cuisines: Indian, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special occasions, Dining on a budget, Romantic, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Buffet, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Cerritos, CA
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Excellent Food Quality and Taste, and in budget”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2011

We found the food quality much much better compared to Shalimar Restaurant in the same area.
We ordered 4 gravies, 2 plain naan, 2 garlic naans, 1 beer, 1 rice pulav, 1 biryani - all costed $70.
Next day we went again for buffet ($6.95 for adult and $5 for kids). 3 vegetarian gravy options, and 3 additional non-veg options. 4 Veg options were, yellow lentil daal, chole, egg-plant dry, jeera rice, raita, rice pudding, pickel, salad, papadam... And all the vegetarian options were really good in taste. And if you want they would serve you HOT too for which there is no additional charge.
Ample sitting space, but since the food is so great so be ready to wait for seating as there is wait time if the restaurant is full. And if there are only 2 employees serving people, then the wait time is triple. It is open till 10pm.
BAD thing though - If you visit at dinner time and saw only two people serving all guests, be ready to wait for at least 40 minutes (after when you give your order). To cover up this, they served additional plate of pakoras, strawberries etc without any additional charge.

Bottom Line: Excellent Food Quality and Taste.

  • Visited September 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Atul_Shukla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    7
    6
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fresno, California
1 review
“The Best Indian food in all the land!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2011

If you are looking for the BEST INDIAN food, give Taj Palace a try. The food is so flavorful.
The service is wonderful! We travel from Fresno,CA. to eat at Taj Palce. I can not say enough about the food. I have eaten chicken tikka from other Indian restaurants but Taj Palace's chicken Tikka is the most moist I have ever eaten. The vegeterian dishes are super. We recommend this restaurant with two thumbs way up!!!!!!!!
Call for hours of operation.

  • Visited March 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank charzar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Luis Obispo, California
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“First time at Indian Restaurant”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2011

http://homemadedank.blogspot.com/2011/02/taj-palace.html
Checkout our blog; we rated and commented on the dishes we ordered along with our overall experience above^ Overall, a great time.
My boyfriend and I loved the food; we ordered the garlic naan (absolutely delicious, cheap too), lamb curry and rice. The meats were cooked perfectly; they were just so tender. Prices were good, but wished some dish portions were a little bigger. The servers were very quiet but polite. We got our food fairly quick, but it wasn't that busy when we went for dinner. I liked the vibe and ambiance of the place, but you will smell of curry when you leave.

  • Visited February 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank kmf39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arroyo Grande
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Poor Service, Hit and Miss Food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2010

I had the lunch buffet. The food was okay overall, however, there were a couple of dishes that were inedible even though my guest and I both love Indian food. Service has never been its strong point, but today the service was inept. There were no bowls for the lentils and yogurt salad, even though they were of a thin consistency. The small bowls that were available had a sign on them stating FOR DESSERT ONLY! A lunch coupon was refused because we had the buffet, even though the coupon had no such restriction. A bad public-relations decision, considering the difference in cost was less than $3.00. We won't go back.

    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Cindy2302
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Luis Obispo, California
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“tasty Indian food!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2010

Taj makes really tasty food. I go for the buffet, which at times can be amazing. They make awesome samosas!

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ramblinguyowah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Taj Palace also viewed

San Luis Obispo, San Luis Obispo County
San Luis Obispo, San Luis Obispo County
 
San Luis Obispo, San Luis Obispo County
San Luis Obispo, San Luis Obispo County
 

Been to Taj Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing