We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Petit Soleil, Bed and Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in San Luis Obispo
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Petit Soleil, Bed and Breakfast
Save
You added Petit Soleil, Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
Certificate of Excellence
Vancouver
Level Contributor
84 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Very good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

Our four night stay at this charming B&B was delightful.
The room we were in was small but cozy and the breakfasts and evening snacks were excellent.
The reasons I can't give it 5 stars?: parking is next door which we share with the cafe's patrons and the noise levels. It can be a problem for light sleepers.
Location is 7 blocks from downtown SLO and being a college town, there are plenty of cheap eats options. Next door is the Splash Cafe, great for chowder and fish tacos and two blocks away is a wonderful taqueria.

However, saving the best for last, the young ladies that run the inn are just delightful. They are always cheery, helpful and kind. To me, they are the inn's biggest assets along with the owners.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SamVancouver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

238 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    165
    50
    14
    6
    3
See reviews for
38
112
8
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
139 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

Petit Soleil is an absolute delight; a very pretty, French themed, conversion of a motel. Diane and John and their staff offer the most genuine welcome and are so helpful. The rooms are each styled differently and most overlook the tranquil courtyard. The breakfasts are scrumptious and very individual. Another distinctive feature of Petit Soleil is the offering each evening of appetisers and good wines. The whole experience was great. There are plenty of restaurants in San Luis Obispo that you can walk to from here. It is also well located to go to wine tastings in the Edna Valley and Foxen Canyon and for Highway 1. Being English we were not so bothered by the lack of air con and found the ceiling fan worked well with an open window. Our room overlooked the courtyard so we were not bothered by traffic noise. The Amtrak line is close by and we did hear the occasional train but it is not too intrusive. We would highly recommend a stay at Petit Soleil.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mrsmills55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

The owners manage to pull off the Provencal theme convincingly despite the challenges of the adjacent busy road and nearby rail tracks. The whole place is thoughtfully and attractively furnished, and the decor of our room was well thought out - authentic and timeless as well as comfortable and providing all expected facilities and a few more.

The wine and hors d'oeuvre are a really nice touch, and the charming courtyard complements them. Breakfast, too, is high quality, and appears to have good variety, including delicious homemade main items alongside the usual fare.

As many reviews mention, the lack of air conditioning is an issue, as is the road and rail noise, but not one that should stop you staying here. One small concern is the direct access to the top rooms from the roadside open gate, which gives more of a motel feel than the place needs or deserves.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back of the property have less road noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hmaffchc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

Breakfast and happy hour are very nice. Rooms nicely furnished. Beware that this B&B does not have air conditioning. I had hoped that by opening the windows and having the ceiling fan on high would cool down the hot room. Room finally cooled down by 11 pm. Local traffic and train noise very loud so bring ear plugs.

Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank big_girl_traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013 via mobile

After paying ove $200 for the night, my wife and I were cheerfully led to a hot room with no air conditioning. Also no tub and only one night stand. Lying here now with the door and window open wishing we had been told about the lack of a/c before paying.

BUT, thay provide all the decorations you would ever want, and then some.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Davebr8e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
petitsoleilslo, Owner at Petit Soleil, Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
We are sorry that the room that was reserved for you wasn't to your satisfaction. We have several different room combinations: some include tub/showers some do not. We do not advertise air conditioning and have always done well with our ceiling fans to cool the rooms down. Some rooms take a little longer to cool.
We are glad you were able to enjoy a glass or two of wine and appetizers before your departure.
We do believe in 100% guest satisfaction, though, and you were not charged. If you feel that you were, please contact us immediately.
John and Dianne Conner
Owners, Petit Soleil
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laguna Beach, California
Level Contributor
51 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

A cute little retreat in San Luis. This bed and breakfast looks like it used to be a small hotel that was converted to a b and b. Nice French decor and great location within walking distance to many restaurants. Great staff who really go out of their way to make you comfortable. Turn down service is nice but happened before 6PM. If you are still in your room, they do not come back later. We were there for my birthday and I did get a card and small bottle of champagne which was a nice surprise. Breakfast offers a couple of choices along with a self serve fruit and pastry table. Loved the happy hour wine and little bites. Only complaint is the acoustics in the hotel are very poor and the walls are thin.

Room Tip: Front room faces a busy street. Pick a center room to avoid traffic and courtyard conversations.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vickiew54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

I was here for business and had a very pleasant stay. My room (Herbes de Provence) was quiet and comfortable with a tiled shower, plenty of fluffy towels and L'Occitane bath amenities. The breakfast was generous: choice of an egg dish or pancakes, fresh fruit, cereal and pastries. There was a nice selection of wines at the nightly happy hour. The location was good for my purposes. It is about a 10 minute walk to the Mission square. One caution: this is a pet friendly B&B. At one point during breakfast, there were three large dogs interacting with each other as their owners looked on. Fortunately, I was done so I got out of there.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jjordan370
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Luis Obispo hotels
0.4 mi away
San Luis Creek Lodge
San Luis Creek Lodge
#1 of 31 in San Luis Obispo
4.5 of 5 stars 538 reviews
0.2 mi away
Quality Suites San Luis Obispo
Quality Suites San Luis Obispo
#2 of 31 in San Luis Obispo
4.5 of 5 stars 645 reviews
0.4 mi away
Apple Farm Inn
Apple Farm Inn
#3 of 31 in San Luis Obispo
4.5 of 5 stars 1,198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
La Cuesta Inn
La Cuesta Inn
#11 of 31 in San Luis Obispo
4.0 of 5 stars 345 reviews
1.1 mi away
Avenue Inn Downtown San Luis Obispo
Avenue Inn Downtown San Luis Obi...
#4 of 31 in San Luis Obispo
4.5 of 5 stars 428 reviews
0.5 mi away
Granada Hotel and Bistro
Granada Hotel and Bistro
#1 of 9 in San Luis Obispo
4.5 of 5 stars 176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Petit Soleil, Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Petit Soleil, Bed and Breakfast

Property: Petit Soleil, Bed and Breakfast
Address: 1473 Monterey St, San Luis Obispo, CA 93401-2925
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > San Luis Obispo
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in San Luis Obispo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 16
Also Known As:
Petit Soleil, b&b
Petit Soleil Hotel San Luis Obispo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing