We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A good bed and breakfast in San Luis Obispo” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Petit Soleil, Bed and Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in San Luis Obispo
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Petit Soleil, Bed and Breakfast
Certificate of Excellence
Laguna Beach, California
Level Contributor
52 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“A good bed and breakfast in San Luis Obispo”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2013

A cute little retreat in San Luis. This bed and breakfast looks like it used to be a small hotel that was converted to a b and b. Nice French decor and great location within walking distance to many restaurants. Great staff who really go out of their way to make you comfortable. Turn down service is nice but happened before 6PM. If you are still in your room, they do not come back later. We were there for my birthday and I did get a card and small bottle of champagne which was a nice surprise. Breakfast offers a couple of choices along with a self serve fruit and pastry table. Loved the happy hour wine and little bites. Only complaint is the acoustics in the hotel are very poor and the walls are thin.

Room Tip: Front room faces a busy street. Pick a center room to avoid traffic and courtyard conversations.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vickiew54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

250 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    172
    54
    15
    6
    3
See reviews for
39
121
9
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Jersey
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2013

I was here for business and had a very pleasant stay. My room (Herbes de Provence) was quiet and comfortable with a tiled shower, plenty of fluffy towels and L'Occitane bath amenities. The breakfast was generous: choice of an egg dish or pancakes, fresh fruit, cereal and pastries. There was a nice selection of wines at the nightly happy hour. The location was good for my purposes. It is about a 10 minute walk to the Mission square. One caution: this is a pet friendly B&B. At one point during breakfast, there were three large dogs interacting with each other as their owners looked on. Fortunately, I was done so I got out of there.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jjordan370
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2013

This is where you want to be if you are staying in San Luis Obispo. Immediately you are transported to a small French square with quaint waterfalls and beautiful gardening. Through the common area in the back feel free to enjoy the high-quality evening happy hour. We were lucky enough to enjoy an appetizer plate of crostini topped with zucchini butter, along with other tasty offerings, local craft beer and wine. Just perfect before walking to dinner. The accommodations were excellent and there was an evening turndown service. We stayed in the Rooster room which was appropriately decorated and very fun. Breakfast the next morning was delicious and homemade. Good strong fresh coffee, a selection of fruit, homemade pastries and a hot vegetable quiche. Dianne and the ladies are delightful with wonderful spirits. Everyone always had a smile on their face. Location was just fine for walking downtown to the Mission, shopping and restaurants.

We would definitely stay here again and only wish we lived closer.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 00MrTravel00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Voorhees, New Jersey, United States
Level Contributor
44 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2013

Stopped here for one night with my family on our trip from San Francisco to San Diego. Wasn't sure what to expect as I've booked other places based on internet pics and have been extremely disappointed. Happy to say this time I was NOT dissappointed. Exceeded our expectations. We showed up well after happy hour and they did not hesitate to invite us to sit down, have a glass of wine and round up some snacks. Rooms were nicely decorated and CLEAN, CLEAN CLEAN....(most importantly!) We were there on a Thursday and when we asked for a restaurant recommendation they suggested we go to the Farmers Market in town ~ it was a nice walk (after sitting in the car all day) and we each - husband and teens ~ could get something to eat based on what we wanted....one wanted pizza, one bbq, one maccaroons! Unfortunately, we had to leave the next morning to continue our journey, but they filled our bellies with homemade frittata and belgium waffles ~ good coffee before we left. Next time we will stay longer to see what the area of San Luis Obispo offers!!
Merci beaucoup ladies....you are doing a fine job! We most certainly will come back next time we are in CA.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Betty N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wayne, PA
Level Contributor
159 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2013

Thanks to Trip Advisor patrons I found this gem. We stayed in Le Jardin which was very comfortable, nicely appointed and CLEAN! We arrived in time for a complimentary glass of wine and appetizers served in the courtyard. Breakfast was not your 'usual' fare. I had a greek fritatta and my husband had lemon/blueberry pancakes. Lots of fresh fruit, yogurt, croissants, biscotti, etc. to choose from as well. Coffee was magnifique! L'Occitaine bath products were provided as well as luxurious, thirsty towels. The staff was very professional and welcoming. No wonder this establishment is celebrating their 10th anniversary. They've got it just right in SLO!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JaniceBlair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, Missouri
Level Contributor
35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2013

Absolutely terrific place to stay in San Luis Obispo area. Rooms are French themed, lovely and comfortable. Breakfasts have hot & cold choices complete with baked items and delicious frittatas and pancakes/French toast items. Walking distance to town. So much to do in SLO. Wine tasting, ocean, mountains, and everything else you may want. Le Petit Soleil is quiet, charming, clean, and overall a great bed & breakfast in SLO.

  • Liked — Location, excellent hospitality, food/breakfast
  • Disliked — Nothing not to like
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lovetheocean1309
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2013

This place was perfect. Breakfasts are incredible. Each night they have a free happy hour where you get a delicious snack / mini meal and a glass of wine or beer (and they did not mind pouring free refills into my bottomless cup!). Their hospitality did not stop there: we came back early one night and they were more than happy to serve us more free booze. It was almost like they were not trying to profit from your business but just wanted to make sure you felt at home and had a good time. The rooms were clean and cozy and all the staff were friendly and helpful. And we got a thank you postcard from them in the mail when we returned! I can't say enough good things about this place...

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank znoteman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Luis Obispo hotels
0.2 mi away
Quality Suites San Luis Obispo
Quality Suites San Luis Obispo
#1 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 683 reviews
0.4 mi away
San Luis Creek Lodge
San Luis Creek Lodge
#2 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 586 reviews
0.5 mi away
La Cuesta Inn
La Cuesta Inn
#11 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 369 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Apple Farm Inn
Apple Farm Inn
#3 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,318 reviews
1.7 mi away
Madonna Inn
Madonna Inn
#5 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,521 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sands Inn & Suites
Sands Inn & Suites
#16 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
3.5 of 5 bubbles 263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Petit Soleil, Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Petit Soleil, Bed and Breakfast

Property: Petit Soleil, Bed and Breakfast
Address: 1473 Monterey St, San Luis Obispo, CA 93401-2925
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > San Luis Obispo
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in San Luis Obispo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 16
Also Known As:
Petit Soleil Hotel San Luis Obispo
Petit Soleil, b&b

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing