We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Charming, warm staff! AWESOME breakfast, Great Stay!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Petit Soleil, Bed and Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in San Luis Obispo
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Petit Soleil, Bed and Breakfast
Save
You added Petit Soleil, Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
1473 Monterey Street, San Luis Obispo, CA 93401   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence
Point Pleasant Beach, New Jersey
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Charming, warm staff! AWESOME breakfast, Great Stay!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

First off.... San Louis Obispo is quite a town. It's almost so cute, it was cut out by a cookie-cutter! I stayed at this bed and breakfast (more of a lodge), for one night while traveling down to San Diego from San Fransisco. The staff is AWESOME, the location is pretty good, and the breakfast is to die for.

The room was cute.... until I realized I was surrounded by clowns... Qui.. italian influenced-french clowns... je ne sais quoi....

All clowning aside... (ha).... The place was so charming and comfortable that I didn't even think a balloon would come through the drain, or I would have to escape a death grip from a clown... I was exhausted... ended up ordering some food, relaxing in my room on a cold 40 degree night, and reading the guest book and a book about Pierrot the clown.

The room was large, the bed comfy, the bathroom spacious, products wonderful, and the turn key entry was the cherry on the cream... or creme or whatever.... The stay was amazing.
The staff provides a breakfast....... not just a regular cliche continental breakfast..... THEY SERVE A BREAKFAST. I had a Chevre and Leek Frittata type dish, a pastry, fruit, and a glass of tea. This was all enjoyed in the beautiful dining area. They have an outside patio as well, I decided to stay warm inside!

Everything about this place was great... Next time I'll just request a clown free room (btw if you can't tell.... I don't really care for clowns). I have to say, I won't be able to stay anywhere else in San Louis Obispo!

Room Tip: The parking lot is shared by the neighboring restaurant.... parking can get tricky. The town is rea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank erikwithak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

232 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    160
    49
    14
    6
    3
See reviews for
37
110
8
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston
Level Contributor
48 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

I did not stay here, but I ate breakfast with friends who were here. WOW. Lovely breakfast room with a tea and coffee bar, plus a continental buffet (fruit, juices, home baked goodies), PLUS two cooked to order entree selections: egg and brie strata or banana-coconut pancakes. And you can order seconds! the staff was super friendly, and let us sit and talk at our table well past the official breakfast time.

I checked out my friends' room and it looked lovely, with a French country decorating theme.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Skeptika
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia
Level Contributor
38 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

We stayed at Petit Soleil from June 21 - 24th and just loved this treasure of a bed and breakfast. We stayed in a queen room on the second floor with the pig theme "cochon". The room had a lot of character and was clean. The room is very small...it is not meant for hanging out in but for sleeping in. That was no problem for us as we fell in love with San Luis Obisbo and spent no time in the room! We loved the awesome bathroom, the free wi-fi, the amazing brunch and happy hour with free home made treats, delicious French and CA wines, and beautiful patio area. The parking was free but was shared with the restaurant next door. We loved the proximity to downtown San Luis Obisbo and the surrounding towns. We definitely intend to return to this gem of a B&B and the city we fell in love with...the happiest city in the US!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Diane A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baileys Harbor, WI
Level Contributor
36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

We stayed at this charming little hotel in November. We found it on Tripadvisor and it turned out to be be a great choice. My husband and I both loved it. The room was warm and cozy and the staff even brought appetizers to our room for us the night we arrived. The breakfast was outstanding and the staff very helpful. The location was perfect and we cannot wait to return!!!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DianeG1939
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for just one night on our way from L.A to San Francisco and came across Petit Soleil on chance.
With the warmest of welcome and the hugest of smiles we were shown to our French room which was just wonderful. For those who take life a little too seriously then think again about staying here but if you don't mind a little bit of french style cosy kitsch in your life, then this may be the B&B for you.
Quality has not been overlooked for theme. The shower was AMAZING, the toiletries L'Occitane, the bed was incredibly comfortable and the bath robes were the finest I've ever I've seen. Excellent WiFi and a decent TV were modern touches in what otherwise felt very much like a French country farmhouse room.
Last, but not least, HAVE BREAKFAST! There are the usual cereals, croissants, fruit etc but they also serve 2 'specials' a day which are home cooked from scratch. We had nutella baked homemade French toast. And yes. It was as good as it sounds.
A marvellous and happy B&B run by true Francophiles that know how to make guests happy.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Laura N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
california
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012 via mobile

Nice 10 minute walk to main area of downtown. Really friendly service. Great wine and appetizers. I would honestly have preferred the more informal approach most bnbs have with help yourself vs being served because it allows you to talk to other guests but it was nice. Breakfast was lovely. The rooms were nice, clean, and the soaps etc were in unique bottles. I am rating this as more of a 4 star experience because of the loud trash truck at 5:30 am on a Sunday morning and I think it is about 40$ overpriced. We payed 219 plus tax for a room on a Saturday night. If it was a little cheaper 5 all the way.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank adventureCalifornia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Half Moon Bay, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

We have stayed at this hotel 3+ times and LOVE, LOVE it! The staff is fantastic, the food is great and the rooms are decorated very shabby chic! Very tastefully decorated and clean. Their turndown service is also much appreciated!

The hotel is a great location to downtown SLO and you can walk (or ride one of the hote's FREE cruiser bikes!). This hotel helped us fall in love with San Luis Obispo. Also, every single time the hotel has recommended a place to eat or shop, it has been worth it!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Shannon N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Luis Obispo hotels
0.4 mi away
San Luis Creek Lodge
San Luis Creek Lodge
#1 of 31 in San Luis Obispo
4.5 of 5 stars 524 reviews
0.2 mi away
Quality Suites Central Coast
Quality Suites Central Coast
#2 of 31 in San Luis Obispo
4.5 of 5 stars 623 reviews
0.4 mi away
Apple Farm Inn
Apple Farm Inn
#3 of 31 in San Luis Obispo
4.5 of 5 stars 1,150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Royal Oak Hotel
BEST WESTERN PLUS Royal Oak Hote...
#5 of 31 in San Luis Obispo
4.0 of 5 stars 690 reviews
0.4 mi away
Inn at San Luis Obispo
Inn at San Luis Obispo
#14 of 31 in San Luis Obispo
3.5 of 5 stars 323 reviews
0.5 mi away
La Cuesta Inn
La Cuesta Inn
#12 of 31 in San Luis Obispo
4.0 of 5 stars 333 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Petit Soleil, Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Petit Soleil, Bed and Breakfast

Property: Petit Soleil, Bed and Breakfast
Address: 1473 Monterey Street, San Luis Obispo, CA 93401
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > San Luis Obispo
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in San Luis Obispo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 16
Also Known As:
Petit Soleil, b&b
Petit Soleil Hotel San Luis Obispo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing