We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“charming” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Petit Soleil, Bed and Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in San Luis Obispo
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Petit Soleil, Bed and Breakfast
Certificate of Excellence
Wales
Level Contributor
34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“charming”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2012

This is a lovely little hotel near the centre of town, and a great place to stop if you are driving the coast road as we were. The staff are very friendly and helpful, and the whole place is very tastefully decorated in a French style. The breakfast was exceptionally good and they also lay on wine and snacks each evening in the courtyard.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WalesSteveE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

242 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    168
    50
    15
    6
    3
See reviews for
38
115
9
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2012

My sisters and I drove from San Francisco to visit SLO and decided on Petit Soleil because of it's affordability and proximity to downtown San Luis Obispo. Check-in was quick and easy! We booked the queen room with trundle bed that accommodated the three of us perfectly. The room was clean, quiet, and very, very comfortable. The breakfast was delicious and the staff was friendly. We loved our stay and will be back.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank remnob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centreville
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2012

This adorable French-themed B&B is a must for anyone staying in SLO. From the minute we pulled in, it was like we were in a small French country inn. Stephanie, who was at the front desk, is like the friendliest, most pleasant person ever. I wanted to adopt her. After we checked in to our beautifully appointed room, we went to the back garden for appetizers and wine before dinner at a local restaurant in town. Even the guests were smiling and friendly, telling us what a great place this was. There are magazines in the room, journals, to sign and write comments, and the piece de resistance was a CD player with old fashin French music to listed to. It was very reasonably priced with breakfast and afternoon wine and appretizers included. The couple who own it were very gracious and helpful. I want to go back again and again.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Cage aux Folles room with lime green walls and black checked bedding and accents. I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham England
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2012

This really did feel French but with very friendly Californian service
A great find with beautifully decorated rooms, great breakfasts and lovely wine with appetisers in afternoon
Extremely friendly staff.
Great value for money..would stay again

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Heather507
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2012

A one night stay on a Wednesday. We chose the suite. While it is a little pricey, it was very nice. The afternoon appetizers and wine was a nice touch. The morning breakfast was very tasty. I would stay there again. Only downs I saw were 1) Parking is a little bit of a pain, 2) it is a bit loud with the activity at the restaurant right next door, and 3) the staff is very young (at a B&B, I like to interact with owners and hear their stories) and we never saw he owners. None of those concerns are a deal breaker for me.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RetiredHockeyCoach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2012

We usually stay in 4 to 5 star hotels but wanted to try a B & B. We were not disappointed. The rooms were very well furnished and the staff was helpful. The breakfast was designed to make you want to stay and have another cup of coffee and the afternoon appetizers and wine were first rate. We would do this again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathleen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobe Sound, Florida
Level Contributor
34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2012

This is a quaint Bed and Breakfast, and perfect for our stay in SLO. It is very walkable to downtown, and nearby to great eateries. It offers a wonderful hot breakfast each morning. It's difficult to choose which meal to eat. It has a charming courtyard, and a delicious wine and appetizer offering each day at 5:00. We enjoyed our room, and would definately stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mamamax8825
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Luis Obispo hotels
0.2 mi away
Quality Suites San Luis Obispo
Quality Suites San Luis Obispo
#2 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 656 reviews
0.4 mi away
San Luis Creek Lodge
San Luis Creek Lodge
#1 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 561 reviews
0.4 mi away
Apple Farm Inn
Apple Farm Inn
#3 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
La Cuesta Inn
La Cuesta Inn
#11 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 359 reviews
2.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Royal Oak Hotel
BEST WESTERN PLUS Royal Oak Hote...
#7 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 752 reviews
1.7 mi away
Madonna Inn
Madonna Inn
#5 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,452 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Petit Soleil, Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Petit Soleil, Bed and Breakfast

Property: Petit Soleil, Bed and Breakfast
Address: 1473 Monterey St, San Luis Obispo, CA 93401-2925
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > San Luis Obispo
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in San Luis Obispo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 16
Also Known As:
Petit Soleil, b&b
Petit Soleil Hotel San Luis Obispo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing