We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A nice visit”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in San Luis Obispo
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Petit Soleil, Bed and Breakfast
Certificate of Excellence
Michigan
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A nice visit”
Reviewed September 12, 2012

A one night stay on a Wednesday. We chose the suite. While it is a little pricey, it was very nice. The afternoon appetizers and wine was a nice touch. The morning breakfast was very tasty. I would stay there again. Only downs I saw were 1) Parking is a little bit of a pain, 2) it is a bit loud with the activity at the restaurant right next door, and 3) the staff is very young (at a B&B, I like to interact with owners and hear their stories) and we never saw he owners. None of those concerns are a deal breaker for me.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RetiredHockeyCoach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

260 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    182
    54
    15
    6
    3
See reviews for
42
126
9
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2012

We usually stay in 4 to 5 star hotels but wanted to try a B & B. We were not disappointed. The rooms were very well furnished and the staff was helpful. The breakfast was designed to make you want to stay and have another cup of coffee and the afternoon appetizers and wine were first rate. We would do this again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathleen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobe Sound, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2012

This is a quaint Bed and Breakfast, and perfect for our stay in SLO. It is very walkable to downtown, and nearby to great eateries. It offers a wonderful hot breakfast each morning. It's difficult to choose which meal to eat. It has a charming courtyard, and a delicious wine and appetizer offering each day at 5:00. We enjoyed our room, and would definately stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mamamax8825
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed July 31, 2012 via mobile

We really don't have anything bad to say about this hotel! It's absolutely wonderful. We recommend it to anyone. The staff is so friendly! The rooms are each uniquely decorated. Ours had a sunflower theme. They have complimentary wine, beer and appetizers in the evening. You sit in a cute courtyard and enjoy the home cooked food while they turn down your beds and place homemade truffles on your pillows. The hotel is a short distance from the downtown area. They have 4 bicycles they will loan you. We used then to bike into downtown for dinner. The next morning the has a buffet, coffee, and homemade quiche or waffles. They also have vegetarian and vegan options. Overall, an amazing b&b. Check it out if you're in SLO.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KellySwinks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara, California
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2012

We took the train from Santa Barbara to celebrate our anniversary, and chose to stay at Petit Soleil. It was a perfect stay, for a short trip. We found champagne and truffles, and a note for us in our room when we arrived. Breakfast was amazing- two hot meal options, along with fruit and fresh baked goodies. We were able to borrow bicycles for a ride around the city, just a few minutes down to downtown.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SBTraveler38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level 6 Contributor
329 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2012

We stayed for only 1 night, but would have happily stayed longer if time had allowed. We were welcomed with wine and appetizers served in a cute courtyard. Our king room was nicely decorated and very comfortable. Breakfast was delicious. The inn is within walking distance of downtown. We were fortunate to stay on a Thursday night when the town has a farmers' market and street entertainment. We found the staff to be friendly and helpful. We would stay here again.

Room Tip: Parking can be an issue. It can be a distance to carry your luggage.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sojouner2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davis, California
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2012

We generally drive from N. California to the L.A. area several times a year to visit family -- and we always choose the coast route south of San Francisco. It's a longer trip than down I-5, but the stop in San Luis Obispo makes it a comfortable drive. We always stay at Petit Soleil. This little "French" inn is delightful. The rooms -- though a bit dark -- are comfortable and stylish. Our last stay was in a room with a huge metal sunburst over the bed. At night there is always turn-down service, complete with complimentary truffles (the cookie jar in the dining area is always full at night -- yum!). In the morning, Petit Soleil offers a tasty breakfast -- we almost always opt for the daily quiche, a house speciality. In the late afternoon, there is always a complementary selection of local wines. We often spend time reading or journal-writing in the lovely little patio area. In short, Petit Soleil is the perfect stopover after a long drive.

Room Tip: If you don't mind climbing stairs, you may find the upstairs rooms have more light.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DavefromDavis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Luis Obispo hotels
0.2 mi away
Quality Suites San Luis Obispo
Quality Suites San Luis Obispo
#3 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
712 reviews
0.4 mi away
San Luis Creek Lodge
San Luis Creek Lodge
#1 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
616 reviews
0.4 mi away
Apple Farm Inn
Apple Farm Inn
#2 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
1,382 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
La Cuesta Inn
La Cuesta Inn
#12 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
385 reviews
1.7 mi away
Madonna Inn
Madonna Inn
#5 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
1,602 reviews
1.1 mi away
Avenue Inn Downtown San Luis Obispo
Avenue Inn Downtown San Luis Obi...
#4 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
542 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Petit Soleil, Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Petit Soleil, Bed and Breakfast

Property: Petit Soleil, Bed and Breakfast
Address: 1473 Monterey St, San Luis Obispo, CA 93401-2925
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > San Luis Obispo
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in San Luis Obispo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 16
Also Known As:
Petit Soleil Hotel San Luis Obispo
Petit Soleil, b&b

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing