We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Petit Soleil, Bed and Breakfast
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
Inn at San Luis Obispo(San Luis Obispo)
$85
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
San Luis Creek Lodge(San Luis Obispo)
$139
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$149
$129
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$128
$119
HIExpress.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Courtyard San Luis Obispo(San Luis Obispo)
$129
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Best Western Plus Royal Oak Hotel(San Luis Obispo)(Great Value!)
$113
$107
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$139
$135
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Apple Farm Inn(San Luis Obispo)
$239
$174
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$205
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Avenue Inn Downtown San Luis Obispo(San Luis Obispo)(Great Value!)
$89
$86
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (270)
Filter reviews
270 results
Traveler rating
190
56
15
6
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
190
56
15
6
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsb bwine and appetizersafternoon winecharming courtyardthe van gogh roomcoffee cakefrittatafrench country styletrufflerooms are beautifully decoratedan appetizerbreakfast was amazingpenneyogurthappy hourqueen roomtwo nights
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
131 - 136 of 270 reviews
Reviewed July 9, 2012

We took the train from Santa Barbara to celebrate our anniversary, and chose to stay at Petit Soleil. It was a perfect stay, for a short trip. We found champagne and truffles, and a note for us in our room when we arrived. Breakfast was amazing- two hot meal options, along with fruit and fresh baked goodies. We were able to borrow bicycles for a ride around the city, just a few minutes down to downtown.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SBTraveler38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2012

We stayed for only 1 night, but would have happily stayed longer if time had allowed. We were welcomed with wine and appetizers served in a cute courtyard. Our king room was nicely decorated and very comfortable. Breakfast was delicious. The inn is within walking distance of downtown. We were fortunate to stay on a Thursday night when the town has a farmers' market and street entertainment. We found the staff to be friendly and helpful. We would stay here again.

Room Tip: Parking can be an issue. It can be a distance to carry your luggage.
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sojouner2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2012

We generally drive from N. California to the L.A. area several times a year to visit family -- and we always choose the coast route south of San Francisco. It's a longer trip than down I-5, but the stop in San Luis Obispo makes it a comfortable drive. We always stay at Petit Soleil. This little "French" inn is delightful. The rooms -- though a bit dark -- are comfortable and stylish. Our last stay was in a room with a huge metal sunburst over the bed. At night there is always turn-down service, complete with complimentary truffles (the cookie jar in the dining area is always full at night -- yum!). In the morning, Petit Soleil offers a tasty breakfast -- we almost always opt for the daily quiche, a house speciality. In the late afternoon, there is always a complementary selection of local wines. We often spend time reading or journal-writing in the lovely little patio area. In short, Petit Soleil is the perfect stopover after a long drive.

Room Tip: If you don't mind climbing stairs, you may find the upstairs rooms have more light.
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DavefromDavis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2012

We stayed only one night but it was very nice. Clean, great brealfast. As other have said, a bit noisy but not objectionable to me.

Room Tip: My choice, downstairs (due to the stairs and no elevator) but they all seem fine.
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dhoffm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2012

We have been staying at another hotel on our last three visits to SLO, but due to a recommendation by our son (who is grinding away at Cal Poly) we decided to stay at Petit Soleil on Monterey Street.

This was a great choice! Bedrooms are whimsical yet very relaxed. Breakfast is divine and the bicycles on hand to borrow were a delightful way to visit and explore the town. Monterey Street becomes very tranquil at night so we had a quiet and peaceful sleep for two nights. My wife is a bed snob, so get a smile and a sigh of happiness out of her is remarkable!

We want to thank the owners and the enchanting staff at Petit Soleil. See you soon!

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BullwinkleMoose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews