We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming inn”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in San Luis Obispo
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Petit Soleil, Bed and Breakfast
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 3, 2012

We stayed for only 1 night, but would have happily stayed longer if time had allowed. We were welcomed with wine and appetizers served in a cute courtyard. Our king room was nicely decorated and very comfortable. Breakfast was delicious. The inn is within walking distance of downtown. We were fortunate to stay on a Thursday night when the town has a farmers' market and street entertainment. We found the staff to be friendly and helpful. We would stay here again.

Room Tip: Parking can be an issue. It can be a distance to carry your luggage.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sojouner2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (267)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

130 - 136 of 267 reviews

Reviewed June 7, 2012

We generally drive from N. California to the L.A. area several times a year to visit family -- and we always choose the coast route south of San Francisco. It's a longer trip than down I-5, but the stop in San Luis Obispo makes it a comfortable drive. We always stay at Petit Soleil. This little "French" inn is delightful. The rooms -- though a bit dark -- are comfortable and stylish. Our last stay was in a room with a huge metal sunburst over the bed. At night there is always turn-down service, complete with complimentary truffles (the cookie jar in the dining area is always full at night -- yum!). In the morning, Petit Soleil offers a tasty breakfast -- we almost always opt for the daily quiche, a house speciality. In the late afternoon, there is always a complementary selection of local wines. We often spend time reading or journal-writing in the lovely little patio area. In short, Petit Soleil is the perfect stopover after a long drive.

Room Tip: If you don't mind climbing stairs, you may find the upstairs rooms have more light.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DavefromDavis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2012

We stayed only one night but it was very nice. Clean, great brealfast. As other have said, a bit noisy but not objectionable to me.

Room Tip: My choice, downstairs (due to the stairs and no elevator) but they all seem fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dhoffm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2012

We have been staying at another hotel on our last three visits to SLO, but due to a recommendation by our son (who is grinding away at Cal Poly) we decided to stay at Petit Soleil on Monterey Street.

This was a great choice! Bedrooms are whimsical yet very relaxed. Breakfast is divine and the bicycles on hand to borrow were a delightful way to visit and explore the town. Monterey Street becomes very tranquil at night so we had a quiet and peaceful sleep for two nights. My wife is a bed snob, so get a smile and a sigh of happiness out of her is remarkable!

We want to thank the owners and the enchanting staff at Petit Soleil. See you soon!

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BullwinkleMoose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2012

Clean spacious room. Sweet, accommodating, helpful staff. Delicious breakfast specials to augment the pastry buffet. SLO and Paso wineries nearby. A lovely birthday trip

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Josie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2012

Two years ago, on a college tour with my daughter, we happened upon this property and spent one night. It made an impression so I booked it for a road trip with my Mother (86) and Mother-In-Law (80) on our way to Santa Cruz. It was just as lovely as I had remembered. We booked the Joie de Vivre suite. It is extremely spacious with a fireplace, sitting area and impressive bathroom.

The location is great and the staff and owners are wonderful. We came down to enjoy wine and appetizers in the evening and enjoyed a delicious breakfast the following day. My son will be attending Cal Poly in the fall. This will definitely be my SLO "home away from home".

Room Tip: (Whoops. No swimming pool. I got carried away with the "excellents"). All rooms that I hav...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NANCY Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2012

I stayed in Petit Soleil's only suite the night before and night of my wedding this past March and had the best experience. The location is excellent and central to downtown destinations, as well as easily accessible from the freeway. The suite was very spacious and offered the perfect amount of room for the hustle and bustle of getting ready for the wedding. I was not able to take advantage of the daily wine & appetizers downstairs but I was able to enjoy the breakfast both mornings and it was to die for! Far from your typical complimentary hotel breakfast, they offered a wonderful assortment of freshly baked goods and offered daily specials they made on the spot. It was quite delicious. The staff was very warm and friendly as well. When my groom joined me for the second night he couldn't stop talking about what a great find Petit Soleil was - we can't wait to visit again!

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ssakoda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Luis Obispo hotels
0.4 mi away
San Luis Creek Lodge
San Luis Creek Lodge
#1 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
644 reviews
0.2 mi away
Quality Suites San Luis Obispo
Quality Suites San Luis Obispo
#3 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
739 reviews
2 mi away
Best Western Plus Royal Oak Hotel
Best Western Plus Royal Oak Hote...
#4 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
907 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites- San Luis Obispo
Hampton Inn & Suites- San Luis O...
#8 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
638 reviews
0.4 mi away
Apple Farm Inn
Apple Farm Inn
#2 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
1,458 reviews
0.7 mi away
SLO Brew Lofts
SLO Brew Lofts
#10 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Petit Soleil, Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Petit Soleil, Bed and Breakfast

Address: 1473 Monterey St, San Luis Obispo, CA 93401-2925
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > San Luis Obispo
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in San Luis Obispo
Price Range: $169 - $299 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 16
Also Known As:
Petit Soleil Hotel San Luis Obispo
Petit Soleil, b&b

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing