We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“mixed feelings!!!”
Review of Apple Farm Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Apple Farm Inn
Ranked #3 of 32 Hotels in San Luis Obispo
Certificate of Excellence
poole, dorset
Level Contributor
35 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“mixed feelings!!!”
Reviewed June 10, 2006

My husband and I and another couple booked to stay in a family suite as we were told it had two bedrooms with a shared bathroom. No problem we thought..until we arrived! You opened the front door onto one bedroom with a huge four poster bed that left no room for anything else. The second bedroom had two queen sized beds which were fine but the room was in a motel block that was right next to Highway 101. The noise was deafening. We went to reception and complained. The receptionist said it was a busy weekend and all the rooms were booked. She offered us ear plugs to block out the noise. We told her that was unacceptable. Nowhere on their web-site does it mention how close the rooms are to the road. It does say "3-diamond motel setting at the Trellis Court surrounded by shade trees, flower gardens and mountain views. " Very misleading. Anyway, she said she would speak to a supervisor. He came back to us and offered us one room with two queen beds for the four of us. We told him we were friends but not that friendly. Perhaps he thought we were swingers. We told him we were insulted at his offer and very unhappy at the misleading information on the web-site. As he had nothing else to offer us we had to stay in the cramped and noisy conditions for one night. The next night we were all moved into two separate rooms in the main hotel building that were fabuluous. Very spacious, nicely decorated and cosy - and all at no extra charge (we should think so too!We told him that the information on the web-site should be changed to advise people of the road noise. He said he would put our point forward. So far, no change! So if you're thinking of staying at Apple Farm make sure you don't stay in the motel buildings and you'll have a great time.

  • Stayed May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
17 Thank sjh50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,347 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    763
    393
    115
    49
    27
See reviews for
333
671
45
40
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (366)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manasquan, NJ
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2006

This place has a country/victorian decor'.....single men/business travellers, not for you. The room was extremely clean and neat, but felt like I was staying in a 13 yr old girl's room.....mind you I'm a 31 yr old man. Very good location, downtown is a two minute car ride and quick to highway 101 in the morning. The (country) resturant was very good for breakfast. It was a perfect stop on our way down the Cali coast with my girlfriend....as I said, extremely clean. Check their website for specials.

  • Stayed June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank mhrunge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Encinitas, California
Level Contributor
53 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed May 21, 2006

We stayed here for one night in the Inn. The had a great deal on their website called "Tanks for Staying" - $129/night and included a $20 gas certificate. The inn provides great extras: wine reception in the afternoon, cookies/cider/tea in the evening, sparkling cider in your room, nice bath products - including lip gloss. The room was spacious, clean and charming! Though the property is right off the 101, once you are inside it feels like a country inn. Would definitely recommend it - especially with this deal. We wanted to add another night, but they said the rate would be the rack rate of $219. That seemed too high, so we moved on...

Helpful?
6 Thank dg_in_ca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pasadena, CA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2006

My husband and I just spent two days at the Apple Farm in SLO. What a treat! Our room was beautifully decorated in a tasteful country decor. Our king size bed was comfortable and cozy. The bathroom was very clean and roomy. We took advantage of their jacuzzi and swimming pool both days and never encounter another soul. We can't wait to return.

Helpful?
5 Thank PetiteAmie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Temple City, CA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 11, 2006

My best friend (from Sacramento) and I (from Los Angeles) met up in SLO for a girls weekend out. I chose to book a room at the Apple Farm since it mentioned having a spa, so I figured we could get massages on site.

We were given room #35 in the Trellis Court. It was the room closest to the freeway entrance. Thre was a lot of noise from the traffic, the room and bathroom were really small, but decorated very nice. The beds were sooooo comfortable and the fresh flowers in the bathroom was a nice touch. The decor was better than I expected. I was expecting flowers everywhere, but it was tastefully done with a blue and gold theme, with cool throw pillows on the bed. We didn't get an apple or turn down service as was mentioned in the other reviews.

The "spa" was one room in the former lobby of where the Trellis Court is located, with one therapist. My friend and I had to book our massages one at a time. It was a nice massage, but I was expecting an actual spa (with a steamroom, sauna, jacuzzi, etc.).

I enjoyed the afternoon reception - we were able to enjoy some nice wine, tea and desserts. Touring the millhouse was also a fun experience. I just wish I could have purchased the Apple Merlot, which I hear is excellent (they were sold out).

The service was good, all the staff was very friendly. I just received a post card today from the Apple Farm to thank us for our stay. I'll definitely be back.

  • Stayed May 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank AChau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed April 17, 2006

We have not been to the AFI in at least 5 years or so. I was worried that it wasnt going to be as nice as I remembered. I was not disapointed. THE AFI was even more lovely than I remember it. Very very clean, flowers in bloom, great room, nice staff. My only major problem was the mattress. IT WAS HORRIBLE!! We stayed 2 nights and I could hardly walk. My husband mentioned it to the front desk at check out and apparently they are going to be replacing them throught the inn soon. Other than that, our stay was great.

  • Stayed April 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
los angeles, ca
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2006

Just stayed at the Inn this past weekend. The room (we stayed in the Inn) was quite large. Loved the complimentary appetizer hour at 3:30 and cookie hour at 7:00 along with the on going coffeee, tea and hot cider in the lobby. Staff is very friendly. The hotel's attention to detail make this Inn what it is. But be warned if you are not into "Country" charm this place is not for you....

  • Stayed February 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank chrisbiv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Luis Obispo hotels
0.1 mi away
San Luis Creek Lodge
San Luis Creek Lodge
#2 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 603 reviews
0.3 mi away
Quality Suites San Luis Obispo
Quality Suites San Luis Obispo
#1 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 703 reviews
2.1 mi away
Madonna Inn
Madonna Inn
#5 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,557 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
La Cuesta Inn
La Cuesta Inn
#12 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 379 reviews
2.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Royal Oak Hotel
Best Western Plus Royal Oak Hote...
#6 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 813 reviews
3.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites- San Luis Obispo
Hampton Inn & Suites- San Luis O...
#7 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 571 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apple Farm Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apple Farm Inn

Property: Apple Farm Inn
Address: 2015 Monterey Street, San Luis Obispo, CA 93401-2695
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > San Luis Obispo
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in San Luis Obispo
#2 Family Hotel in San Luis Obispo
#9 Business Hotel in San Luis Obispo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Apple Farm Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 106
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Apple Farm Inn is located near downtown San Luis Obispo and very close to Cal Poly San Luis Obispo. All the rooms have fireplaces and complimentary wireless internet access. The property has a heated swimming pool, an on-site spa, a restaurant featuring comfort cuisine and an elaborate gift shop. It is centrally located for exploring the Central Coast with wineries and beaches no more than 10-15 miles away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick and TripOnline SA so you can book your Apple Farm Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apple Farm Hotel San Luis Obispo
Hotel Apple Farm
Apple Farm Inn Luis Obispo San

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing