We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful stay!”
Review of Apple Farm Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Apple Farm Inn
Ranked #3 of 32 Hotels in San Luis Obispo
Certificate of Excellence
Fresno, California
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Wonderful stay!”
Reviewed August 20, 2014

We planned a last minute trip to Apple Farm San Luis Obispo based on being able to secure a reservation. Fortunately, we did. We had a wonderful, relaxing stay. The attention to detail at Apple Farm is second to none. My job demands attention to detail so I am highly tuned into that and this attribute is impressive at Apple Farm. Upon arrival, we felt very welcome by the staff members and all matters at check in were handled efficiently. The hotel is close and handy to the down town area. We would highly recommend a stay at the Apple Farm!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Willard P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
applefarm, Public Relations Manager at Apple Farm Inn, responded to this review, August 21, 2014
We really appreciate your feedback on your recent stay with us. It is so nice to hear that you enjoyed your visit and that we could be a nice spot for rest and relaxation for you. Thank you for your kind comments about our staff. I will be sure to pass them on to our entire team. We look forward to your next stay!

Sincerely,
Christen Goldie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,400 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    799
    408
    116
    50
    27
See reviews for
349
700
46
41
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (376)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2014

Stayed one night at the Apple Farm with my husband and 3 children. The check in was very efficient and staff were very helpful. All of us were pleasantly surprised by the lovely cookies we were given in arrival. We had two rooms which were unfortunately in completely different buildings. The room in the main building was lovely and had loads of space. Both rooms were very clean and comfortable. Also, we ate in the Apple Farm restaurant. The food was beautiful and everyone was more than happy with their choice. This hotel offers a very different experience to the usual corporate hotel options and is most definitely worth a visit.

Room Tip: Try to get a room in the main building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Linda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
applefarm, Public Relations Manager at Apple Farm Inn, responded to this review, August 20, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post your review. It is so nice to hear that you and your family enjoyed your stay with us. We are glad that you found our rooms comfortable and that your visits to our restaurant were great as well. We will be sure to pass on your feedback to our hotel and restaurant staff. We look forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2014

We stayed in a Mill House room previously; those are over a real working mill with water pouring next to our jacuzzi tub balcony overlooking the lavishly-flowered, lush grounds replete with gardens of flowers and plants. Apple Farm is like the coolest hotel possible (light switch-controlled fireplaces and canopy beds, deluxe decor and all) set within country botanical gardens, for lack of a better description. This time we stayed in another specialty room with a big round high ceiling... Wow! Then there's the grist mill making real apple cider live, the amazing food and desserts of the on premises restaurant & bakery (we're talking homemade cobblers and grandma's apple pies, y'all) and the nicest staff possible :) We're all smiles here, folks!!! PS - Can be extremely romantic or family-like, depending on who you're with. Also, we took Amtrak from Los Angeles to get there.... easy to do and they are close to Amtrak and the incredible beach.

Room Tip: Although all their rooms are great, if you want to pay a bit more, get one of the Mill House rooms o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joey C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
applefarm, Public Relations Manager at Apple Farm Inn, responded to this review, August 18, 2014
We appreciate your feedback on your stay at our hotel. We are so glad that you enjoyed room 300 so much as well as our grounds and restaurant. Our Millhouse rooms and other signature rooms are very unique and we love the way you described them. We certainly will be sure to pass your comments on to our entire staff. We look forward to your next stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2014

WOW is all I can say! My daughter and I stayed one night in room 115 - a huge beautifully decorated room decorated in all light greens. This room has a huge four poster king size canopy bed (VERY comfortable), a seating area with a love seat, chair and coffee table under a bay window, a writing desk, a large flat screen TV, a gas fireplace, and a fridge. The bathroom is also very big with a full length mirror on one wall and a very large mirror over the sink. On the mirror over the sink was even a suction cup vase with two fresh mini carnations inside which was a very nice touch. Included in the room was the souviner apple decoration to take home (which now sits proudly on my living room end table!) two bottles of apple juice, and some Hershey kisses. I wish my bedroom and bathroom at home were even just half as big and beautiful. The hallways are all decorated in a floral country theme too - just beautiful! The grounds are immaculate and so pretty, especially at night with the lights in all the trees. At check in we were given two delicious chocolate chip cookies and a $5 gift credit to use in the gift shop, restaurant, or bakery - we choose the bakery after eating the yummy cookies and took a few cookies for the road. I wish all my rooms on our trip could have been as nice as the Apple Farm Inn and wish we could have stayed much longer. Also I got a fabulous deal through Groupon, so this made the stay even that much better! If we are ever in the area again we will definietly be staying here!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lisa F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
applefarm, Public Relations Manager at Apple Farm Inn, responded to this review, August 18, 2014
Thank you for your kind words about your recent stay with us. It is so nice to hear that you and your daughter had such a lovely time. We will be sure to pass your comments on to our entire team. We look forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2014

Fell in love with Apple Farm from the moment we pulled up and was greeted with a warm welcome and freshly baked cookies. The terrace rooms were a good size and very comfortable. The grounds are well kept and the twinkly lights at night made this hotel really special. Hope to return soon!!!!!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sarah m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
applefarm, Public Relations Manager at Apple Farm Inn, responded to this review, August 14, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post your review. We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay in our Trellis Court. It is nice to hear that our property was warm and inviting. We really appreciate your feedback. We look forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
omaha, ne
Level 6 Contributor
127 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2014

The Apple Farm is a quaint, homey inn that was quiet and comfortable. Service was good with a welcome glass of wine and homemade cookies. The rooms are spacious and the bed was comfortable. Very easy to find, right off the highway. Skip the restaurant on property, there are too many great places just minutes away.

Room Tip: Our room on the first floor was quiet and overlooked a garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mcarollo13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
applefarm, Public Relations Manager at Apple Farm Inn, responded to this review, August 11, 2014
We appreciate your feedback on your visit to our property. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and we will be sure to pass your comments on to our Front Desk staff. Thank you for your comments. We look forward to welcoming you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tipperary, Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
77 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2014

We were greeted upon arrival with fresh baked choc chip cookies, yum. The rooms were very old world but fantastic. You were given a $5 voucher to be used in the bakery or restaurant. We used it for breakfast the next morning and although it wasn't cheap it was very good !!
We didn't have to pay for parking or Wi-Fi either so thumbs up from us !!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bandearg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
applefarm, Public Relations Manager at Apple Farm Inn, responded to this review, August 11, 2014
Thank you for your review of your recent stay with us. It is so nice to hear that you enjoyed your room and our restaurant. Our chocolate chip cookies are such a nice treat and we love being able to welcome our guests with these. We hope to have another opportunity to welcome you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Luis Obispo
0.1 mi away
San Luis Creek Lodge
San Luis Creek Lodge
#1 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
624 reviews
0.3 mi away
Quality Suites San Luis Obispo
Quality Suites San Luis Obispo
#2 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
718 reviews
2.1 mi away
Madonna Inn
Madonna Inn
#5 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
1,625 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
La Cuesta Inn
La Cuesta Inn
#13 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
392 reviews
2.6 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton San Luis Obispo
Embassy Suites by Hilton San Lui...
#12 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
1,207 reviews
9.6 mi away
The Inn at the Cove
The Inn at the Cove
#1 of 29 in Pismo Beach
1,409 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apple Farm Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apple Farm Inn

Property: Apple Farm Inn
Address: 2015 Monterey Street, San Luis Obispo, CA 93401-2695
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > San Luis Obispo
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in San Luis Obispo
#2 Family Hotel in San Luis Obispo
#9 Business Hotel in San Luis Obispo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Apple Farm Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 106
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Apple Farm Inn is located near downtown San Luis Obispo and very close to Cal Poly San Luis Obispo. All the rooms have fireplaces and complimentary wireless internet access. The property has a heated swimming pool, an on-site spa, a restaurant featuring comfort cuisine and an elaborate gift shop. It is centrally located for exploring the Central Coast with wineries and beaches no more than 10-15 miles away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your Apple Farm Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apple Farm Hotel San Luis Obispo
Hotel Apple Farm
Apple Farm Inn Luis Obispo San

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing