We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it”
Review of Apple Farm Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Apple Farm Inn
Ranked #2 of 32 Hotels in San Luis Obispo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 24, 2014

Great place to stay. We staying in Trellis court king room with hot tub. Loved it. So relaxing. Only disappointment was not being able to receive a wooden apple because we didn't stay in the actual inn.

Room Tip: Tip would be to get hot tub rooms a little small but worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank laura_marie_n2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
applefarm, Public Relations Manager at Apple Farm Inn, responded to this reviewResponded March 25, 2014

Thank you for your review and recent stay with us. We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay in our Trellis King room with a private patio hot tub. That is a cozy and relaxing room to stay in. We hope to be able to welcome you in one of our Inn rooms soon so you can start your Innkeeper's Wooden Apple Gift collection.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,452)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

738 - 744 of 1,452 reviews

Reviewed March 23, 2014

My wife and I took a recent weekend getaway and booked a room at the Apple Farm Inn. Telephone reservation experience was very positive. Booked one of the Signature King suites. It was a lush room, very large, round, with a 180º view of the property. The property is extremely well kept—clean, green, and organized. If country kitsch is your thing, this is the place.

Having said all that, I found the service lacking. The staff seemed largely disinterested, even surly at times. Desk employees carried on audible personal conversations. With the exception of check-in and check-out, I was never greeted by any employee. "Good morning." "How are you today?" "Do you need any help?" Nothing, with the exception of one young woman, a trainee. I'm not one who needs to be fawned over, but at nearly $300 per night, I would like a little more customer care. I will say that their uniformed groundskeepers were quite a bit more friendly.

The Apple Farm Inn is a wonderful property with plenty to see and do. It's really a little oasis in an otherwise urban setting. I recommend that visitors give it a try. I also recommend that they better train their employees in the ways of the hospitality industry.

Room Tip: Room 300 is the largest of the Signature King rooms. 180º view and directly above the lobby. Great r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tommyboy10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
applefarm, Public Relations Manager at Apple Farm Inn, responded to this reviewResponded March 25, 2014

We really appreciate your feedback on your recent stay with us. While we are glad to hear that you enjoyed your room and our amenities, it is so disappointing to hear that our staff did not wow you during your visit. Guest service is our first priority here and we will be sure to address this with each staff member you encountered. This review will be a good training tool for our daily guest service training. Thank you again for your thoughts. We certainly hope to have another opportunity to welcome you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2014

We stayed at the Apple Inn for 2 nights and it was the best hotel I have stayed in. Cozy,comfy,very clean and great service.The rooms are very charming and so comfy,I didn't want to leave.Everything I have been looking for in a hotel was at Apple inn.We plan to come back soon.Thank you so much Apple inn for making my 30th Birthday a great way to start my 30's.

Room Tip: Rooms in the main inn is the way to go
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dino1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
applefarm, Public Relations Manager at Apple Farm Inn, responded to this reviewResponded March 25, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. We are so honored you chose us as your getaway spot for your 30th birthday and that you enjoyed your stay so much. We love being able to make a special occasion a perfect celebration. We certainly look forward to welcoming you for another stay soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2014

We selected a stay at Apple Farm to celebrate our 30th Wedding Anniversary - we're so glad we did, it was lovely in every way. Our 3rd floor corner suite was quiet, gorgeous and spacious! We enjoyed shopping at the Inn's boutiques.We enjoyed breakfast at the Inn one morning, we got an early start so the sun was just coming up over the hills, it was beautiful! We can't wait to come back!

Room Tip: Our corner suite was spacious and being on the 3rd floor it was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Linda T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
applefarm, Public Relations Manager at Apple Farm Inn, responded to this reviewResponded March 24, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to post your review. We are so thrilled that your anniversary stay was so nice and that you enjoyed your room and our amenities. It sounds like you had a great experience and we love to hear this! We really appreciate your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you for many more special occasions!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2014

We have stayed at the Apple Farm several times in the last ten years. Always had good experiences in the past.

Arrived early this time, and completed check-in early. Young lady at desk asked for my phone number, and said she would call as soon as the room was cleaned and ready to occupy. It never happened, no call at all.

Upon return to pick up room keys, all other guests were being offered complimentary wine and cookies. Except for me. Another young lady at desk just handed me my keys and said "Here you go"; no wine and sweets offered to me.

I also find it interesting that a $5 charge is applied for "complimentary" water bottles in room, Internet access and morning newspaper. Last time I checked "complimentary" meant "free".

This may sound like picking nits, but it indicates a decline in the formerly great service. Waitresses in restaurant said the facility was bought by a large corporation. The lack of a personal touch is starting to show.

Next trip to SLO will include a different lodging choice.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Blackcanyon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
applefarm, Public Relations Manager at Apple Farm Inn, responded to this reviewResponded March 17, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to post your review and for your many stays with us over the years. We sincerely apologize that your recent stay did not exceed your expectations and that you were not offered the welcome glass of wine and cookies at check-in. There is no excuse for this and we will be sure to address this with our Front Desk staff right away. Our property has been under same ownership of a local entrepreneur for the last fourteen years. It sounds like we need to retrain our staff on the history of our property. We would love another opportunity to welcome you. Please feel free to contact us directly so that we may discuss your stay and concerns. We hope to hear from you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2014

We often visit SLO as our son is a student at Cal Poly and was excited to visit the inn as we have heard a lot of nice things about it. We were not disappointed with the charming cottage type room and the beautiful little shop, however the restaurant was not the best and I would recommend going down the street into downtown for better food options. My biggest issue was when we checked out and experienced a very unpleasant confrontation in the lobby. An elderly gentleman was checking out and the lady at the front desk insisted that he paid for an additional room as he apparently booked 3 rooms instead of 2. He tried to explain that it did not make sense - explaining that he phoned twice - first to make the reservation for 2 rooms, and then a second time to split the reservation - 1 room on his name and 1 room on his friends name - he remained soft spoken and well mannered during the entire exchange while the receptionist was really rude - telling in at least 5 times to keep quite as she was talking now (well she was doing 90% of the talking) She proceeded to charge him for the additional room and challenged him to take it up with management at a later stage as no manager was currently available, constantly running him down. I was shocked

Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
Thank IlseP662
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
applefarm, Public Relations Manager at Apple Farm Inn, responded to this reviewResponded March 17, 2014

We appreciate the time you took to write your review and to let us know of the incident you encountered at checkout. We are as shocked as you to learn of this and we will be addressing this with our Front Desk staff immediately. Please know that this is certainly not up to our high standards of guest service. We sincerely apologize for that you had to experience this and we hope to be able to welcome you for another visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2014

I stayed here one night whilst travelling around California. Friendly placem good value and comfortable though 'kitsch; describes it best. Must remember that in the US only, cider means apple juice! :-)

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dubaiuaetravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
applefarm, Public Relations Manager at Apple Farm Inn, responded to this reviewResponded March 17, 2014

Thank you for your review of your recent stay with us. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your visit and that our staff was helpful and friendly. We will be sure to pass your comments on to our entire team. We hope to have another opportunity to welcome you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Luis Obispo hotels
0.1 mi away
San Luis Creek Lodge
San Luis Creek Lodge
#1 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
640 reviews
2.1 mi away
Madonna Inn
Madonna Inn
#6 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
1,691 reviews
0.3 mi away
Quality Suites San Luis Obispo
Quality Suites San Luis Obispo
#3 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
738 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton San Luis Obispo
Embassy Suites by Hilton San Lui...
#11 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
1,248 reviews
3.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites- San Luis Obispo
Hampton Inn & Suites- San Luis O...
#8 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
638 reviews
0.0 mi away
La Cuesta Inn
La Cuesta Inn
#12 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
406 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apple Farm Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apple Farm Inn

Address: 2015 Monterey Street, San Luis Obispo, CA 93401-2695
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > San Luis Obispo
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in San Luis Obispo
#2 Family Hotel in San Luis Obispo
#9 Business Hotel in San Luis Obispo
Price Range: $147 - $348 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Apple Farm Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 106
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Apple Farm Inn is located near downtown San Luis Obispo and very close to Cal Poly San Luis Obispo. All the rooms have fireplaces and complimentary wireless internet access. The property has a heated swimming pool, an on-site spa, a restaurant featuring comfort cuisine and an elaborate gift shop. It is centrally located for exploring the Central Coast with wineries and beaches no more than 10-15 miles away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Apple Farm Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apple Farm Hotel San Luis Obispo
Hotel Apple Farm
Apple Farm Inn Luis Obispo San

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing