We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming Inn - terrible service”
Review of Apple Farm Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Apple Farm Inn
Ranked #3 of 32 Hotels in San Luis Obispo
Certificate of Excellence
Roseville, California, United States
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Charming Inn - terrible service”
Reviewed March 16, 2014

We often visit SLO as our son is a student at Cal Poly and was excited to visit the inn as we have heard a lot of nice things about it. We were not disappointed with the charming cottage type room and the beautiful little shop, however the restaurant was not the best and I would recommend going down the street into downtown for better food options. My biggest issue was when we checked out and experienced a very unpleasant confrontation in the lobby. An elderly gentleman was checking out and the lady at the front desk insisted that he paid for an additional room as he apparently booked 3 rooms instead of 2. He tried to explain that it did not make sense - explaining that he phoned twice - first to make the reservation for 2 rooms, and then a second time to split the reservation - 1 room on his name and 1 room on his friends name - he remained soft spoken and well mannered during the entire exchange while the receptionist was really rude - telling in at least 5 times to keep quite as she was talking now (well she was doing 90% of the talking) She proceeded to charge him for the additional room and challenged him to take it up with management at a later stage as no manager was currently available, constantly running him down. I was shocked

Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Ilse P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
applefarm, Public Relations Manager at Apple Farm Inn, responded to this review, March 17, 2014
We appreciate the time you took to write your review and to let us know of the incident you encountered at checkout. We are as shocked as you to learn of this and we will be addressing this with our Front Desk staff immediately. Please know that this is certainly not up to our high standards of guest service. We sincerely apologize for that you had to experience this and we hope to be able to welcome you for another visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,398 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    798
    407
    116
    50
    27
See reviews for
348
699
46
41
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (375)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2014

I stayed here one night whilst travelling around California. Friendly placem good value and comfortable though 'kitsch; describes it best. Must remember that in the US only, cider means apple juice! :-)

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dubaiuaetravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
applefarm, Public Relations Manager at Apple Farm Inn, responded to this review, March 17, 2014
Thank you for your review of your recent stay with us. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your visit and that our staff was helpful and friendly. We will be sure to pass your comments on to our entire team. We hope to have another opportunity to welcome you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aldie, Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 13, 2014

My wife and I stayed here on our trip up the coast and had a wonderful stay at the inn. We heard a lot about the place and was not disappointed at all. The room was clean, quiet and the fireplace was a nice romantic touch. The staff were very polite and helpful and the wine and cookies in the evening were a nice added gratuity. The breakfast was very tasteful and the prices reasonable. All in all a great place to stay.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ira p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
applefarm, Public Relations Manager at Apple Farm Inn, responded to this review, March 14, 2014
We appreciate your feedback on your recent stay with us. It's so nice to hear how much you enjoyed your stay and breakfast with us. We will be sure to pass your comments on to our entire team. We hope to be able to welcome you for another stay soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ventura, California
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed March 12, 2014

Besides a beautifully decorated and comfortable room, the friendly staff and extras (wine reception, coffee and cookies...) make the Apple Farm a terrific place to stay. We spent two nights in March on the second floor of the main building. Great view from our room overlooking the brook. The sitting area and fireplace made the room extra cozy. This was our second visit, and we will be back.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
applefarm, Public Relations Manager at Apple Farm Inn, responded to this review, March 13, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write your review. We are so glad that you enjoyed your second stay with us so much. Our rooms on the creek side of our Inn are definitely peaceful and some of the most requested here on property. We especially appreciate your comments regarding our staff. We will be sure to pass them on to our entire team. We look forward to welcoming you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Georgia
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed March 10, 2014

Excellent service! This is not a routine motel; the staff are trained to be friendly and helpful as if this were a top resort. I can't say enough about how good that made me feel. However, looking past the staff, the facility is basically a motel with kitschy rooms. My room had a comfortable king bed and a fireplace, but not a lot of space to move around or to place my suitcases. If I had stayed for more than 1 night, the room would have felt claustrophobic (I suspect other rooms are larger than the one I was in since my room was at a lower rate). The wall paper, curtains, bed spread, pillows, and every other flat surface had color-coordinated matching print (a bit too much for me). The attached restaurant had a wonderful breakfast, and I got a discount coupon when I checked into my room.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dixiedorena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
applefarm, Public Relations Manager at Apple Farm Inn, responded to this review, March 12, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post your review. We are so thrilled that our staff was so helpful and made your stay very special. We appreciate your feedback on the decor of our Trellis Court motel rooms. We are currently in the process of updating the decor and renovating these rooms. We are simplifying the design and removing the floral patterns and wallpaper as well as updating the bathrooms and adding a flat screen television and refrigerator to each room. We have completed this project in about half of our Trellis Court rooms and we plan to finish later this year. We certainly hope to have another opportunity to welcome you in one of our renovated rooms soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paso Robles, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 28, 2014

I can't express how grateful I am to the Apple Farm. My husband has cancer and was having surgery at Sierra Vista Hospital. My stay there was so peaceful, calming and restful during my stay. I just loved starting my day with your booklet Our Daily Bread!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank KarynBarton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
applefarm, Public Relations Manager at Apple Farm Inn, responded to this review, March 3, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write your review. We are so honored that we could be a place of rest for you during such a difficult time. We certainly appreciate your feedback. We hope that your husband heals quickly. Our thoughts are with your family. We hope to be able to welcome you and your husband for a romantic getaway soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
torrance
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2014

Stayed in the main building on the first floor. Room was very large, had a comfy couch, coffee table, sitting chair, fireplace, and very large TV. Bathroom was in beautiful condition. It was a great room to relax in, the building was VERY quiet, and the staff was very friendly and accommodating. I'll definitely return.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kk572
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
applefarm, Public Relations Manager at Apple Farm Inn, responded to this review, February 28, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our property. We are glad to know that you enjoyed your visit. Yes, it is true that our rates are higher on the weekends because there is more demand. If you can ever get away during the week, we have awesome midweek specials available at applefarm.com. We hope to welcome you back sometime soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Luis Obispo
0.1 mi away
San Luis Creek Lodge
San Luis Creek Lodge
#1 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
621 reviews
0.3 mi away
Quality Suites San Luis Obispo
Quality Suites San Luis Obispo
#2 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
717 reviews
2.1 mi away
Madonna Inn
Madonna Inn
#5 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
1,622 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
La Cuesta Inn
La Cuesta Inn
#13 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
391 reviews
2.6 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton San Luis Obispo
Embassy Suites by Hilton San Lui...
#11 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
1,206 reviews
9.6 mi away
The Inn at the Cove
The Inn at the Cove
#1 of 29 in Pismo Beach
1,406 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apple Farm Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apple Farm Inn

Property: Apple Farm Inn
Address: 2015 Monterey Street, San Luis Obispo, CA 93401-2695
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > San Luis Obispo
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in San Luis Obispo
#2 Family Hotel in San Luis Obispo
#9 Business Hotel in San Luis Obispo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Apple Farm Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 106
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Apple Farm Inn is located near downtown San Luis Obispo and very close to Cal Poly San Luis Obispo. All the rooms have fireplaces and complimentary wireless internet access. The property has a heated swimming pool, an on-site spa, a restaurant featuring comfort cuisine and an elaborate gift shop. It is centrally located for exploring the Central Coast with wineries and beaches no more than 10-15 miles away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your Apple Farm Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apple Farm Hotel San Luis Obispo
Hotel Apple Farm
Apple Farm Inn Luis Obispo San

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing