We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charm and Ambiance” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Apple Farm Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Apple Farm Inn to your Saves list
Apple Farm Inn
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2015 Monterey Street, San Luis Obispo, CA 93401   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #3 of 31 Hotels in San Luis Obispo
Certificate of Excellence
Camarillo, California
Level Contributor
50 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Charm and Ambiance”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

I have always enjoyed the warmth and ambiance of the Inn. The staff as always been helpful, friendly and attentive. The renovated rooms are comfortable. Some tweaking can always be done.The heater/airconditioning unit can be noisy.While I know that everyone is trying to economize, I would like to suggest that each room have at least one, if not 2, lights bright enough by which you can read. Many hotels have changed back to dim lighting, but there are those of us who would like to read at night without struggling to see or turning on all the lights. When traveling In the US, I now carry a couple of light bulbs. In the restaurant, I wish for some smaller, heathier meals to be available

I always look forward to my stays and shall be back again.

Room Tip: I prefer the renovated rooms on the 3rd floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank vignettehol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
applefarm, Public Relations Manager at Apple Farm Inn, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write your review and for staying at our hotel. It sounds like you have enjoyed your stays over the years and we are glad to hear it. Our newly renovated rooms are all uniquely decorated and have a contemporary charm. Thank you for your feedback on the air conditioning units and the lamps in the rooms. I have passed on your comments to our Maintenance Manager so that he can improve these areas. We sincerely appreciate your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,149 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    629
    345
    104
    46
    25
See reviews for
277
566
39
38
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (314)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

We stayed at the Apple Farm overnite on our way to Carmel and then again on our way back down the state. And it was a delight both times. The inn and town makes an excellent stop to breakup a long drive. A very different inn (beautifully decorated) with LOTS of charm and an attentive staff. And within walking distance to the town.Looking forward to returning and staying longer.

Room Tip: If you have the choice, stay at the Inn rather than the Motor Inn, it's quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Bostonboy2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
applefarm, Public Relations Manager at Apple Farm Inn, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
We appreciate your review and your recent visits to our inn. We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stays and that our staff was attentive to your needs. Our location is convenient to downtown and it is a wonderful area to explore. Thank you again for your feedback. We look forward to welcoming you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aylesbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

We stayed here for one night during a two week tour of California, before we began our journey up the Pacific Coast Highway. We chose to stay in a "one off" hotel rather than a chain hotel in SLO as we felt it would be more in keeping with the town - Apple Farm ticked the box and didn't disappoint.
We arrived on a very wet day, but the reception staff's welcome was like a ray of sunshine. Check in was smooth and effecient and we were leant an umbrella while we unloaded our luggage from the car. They also gave us a printed map of Downtown SLO and directions and advise to get there - about a 15 minute walk, even though it was raining we still walked it, rather than taking the car - hey, we're from Britain and are so used to wet weather anyway !!!. Before we left the next day the young guy on reception gave us more helpful information and ideas for our drive up Highway 1.
Our room was a queen room with outside hot tub in a terrace of about 10 individual rooms away from the main building. It was decorated in a very traditional way - floral and frills - with little lamps and armchairs and a fire place - but so in keeping with the rest of the property - traditional,rather than old fashioned. The room was small / cosy, but we felt this added to the atmosphere.
The bed was very comfortable. Property was clean throughout.
I did manage to lock the bathdoor by opening it too wide so that the push lock button in the handle hit the wall of the shower, so when it closed we couldn't re open it !!!!!! a quick call to front desk and someone came along and fixed it straight away.
We had breakfast in the restaurant on site, which isn't included in the room rate, but you do get a guest discount. The restaurant is big, split up into different rooms, each with their own individual character. We sat in the conservatory. Food was very good and obviously freshly home cooked.
The property also has an on site bakery, which sells an awesome Pumpkin pie ( we got 2 slices to go which we had later on in the day, parked up looking over the Pacific Ocean !!). The shop is amazing as well, don't leave without purchasing a jar of their own produced apple butter.
If we are ever in SLO again we would stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank anjoco69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
applefarm, Public Relations Manager at Apple Farm Inn, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review and for your recent visit to our hotel. It sounds like you enjoyed your trip to California and your stay and we are glad to hear it! The Trellis Court rooms with the private patio hot tubs are cozy and relaxing. We are also happy to hear you were able to dine at our restaurant and shop in the gift shop and that you had great experiences there as well. We appreciate all of your comments and we look forward to welcoming you again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Altos, California
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

Takes you back to a different era , kind of like staying on Grandmas back porch, very small room walls with pinkish wallpaper, low ceilings , I was alone , so I had enough room , loud heater , overall an O K experience

Room Tip: Talk with the desk about room selection , I booked online , just looking for an inexpensive rack for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Daniel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
applefarm, Public Relations Manager at Apple Farm Inn, responded to this review, January 18, 2013
Thank you for your review and your recent stay at our property. We are glad to hear you had a comfortable stay. It sounds like were in our Trellis Court section which does have smaller rooms than the Inn and is in a more traditional country decor. We have plans on renovating this section of our property in the next year or so. Our main Inn does have larger rooms and a more contemporary country decor. Thank you so much for your feedback and we hope to be able to welcome you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
california
Level Contributor
190 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

We made a reservation to stay at Apple Farm Inn but had to change the dates. There was no problem with making the date changes, our complaint is with the lack of manners shown by the Reservation Staff member who answered the phone. Rude, rude, rude! In fact he was sooooo rude we totally canceled our reservation and made them someplace else. I don't think some of these hotel/motel Managers get it. The public's first impression of an establishment is the staff at the front desk! No matter how cute, how nice, how cheap or great a place is, if we, the customer don't feel comfortable or welcomed we're not staying! Better training folks. We travel a lot and you lost good customers because some college kid's lack of common courtesy.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CaliforniaFieldmouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
applefarm, Public Relations Manager at Apple Farm Inn, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your review. We are so sorry to hear of your experience with one of our staff members. Clearly, this is not up to our standards of guest service and we have already retrained this staff member on the incident. Again, I sincerely apologize for your experience and I certainly hope to hear from you directly so that we may resolve this issue. We appreciate your feedback as it continually helps us to improve.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

I was in LA on business and decided to go up the coast for a day. This was a great drive once you got out of Ventura (seemed like the end of the megaplex) . .. I went to Morro Bay, then turned around to return to San Luis Obispo for the night. I stopped at the Apple Farm and was very pleased with the place. Good food in the restaurant (tho a bit pricy for what seemed to be a family place) and the hotel was clean and comfortable.

Room Tip: They have an older section and a newer, you might ask to see both before you decide which part of th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Aaron W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
applefarm, Public Relations Manager at Apple Farm Inn, responded to this review, December 24, 2012
Thank your for your review and your recent visit to our property. We are glad to hear you chose to stop for the night and that you enjoyed your stay and your meals. It sounds like you had a relaxing visit and that is what we like to hear. Thank you again for your feedback. We hope to be able to welcome you again if you come to the Central Coast for another visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

I love the Apple Farm and come here multiple times a year. My one complaint this trip is a game the hotel has during the holidays. Guests are encouraged to find the missing elf, Dash, in exchange for a chance to win a two night stay. A little elf doll is hidden in the gift shop for guests to find. The problem is I twice witnessed the gift shop staff telling certain guests where Dash was hidden. As a result, they are essentially selecting the guests who will be entered to win the stay. Not fair. They shouldn't have the contest if it isn't fair for everyone.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Erin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
applefarm, Public Relations Manager at Apple Farm Inn, responded to this review, December 24, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review and for your recent visit to our property. We are thrilled to hear you enjoyed your stays! The Missing Elf Contest is one of our guests' favorite holiday pastimes and I am sorry to hear that has been tainted for you. I will contact our Gift Shop Manager and make sure that she knows about the incident so that we can make the game as fair as possible as was our original intention. Thank you again for your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Luis Obispo hotels
0.1 mi away
San Luis Creek Lodge
San Luis Creek Lodge
#1 of 31 in San Luis Obispo
4.5 of 5 stars 523 reviews
2.1 mi away
Madonna Inn
Madonna Inn
#6 of 31 in San Luis Obispo
4.0 of 5 stars 1,332 reviews
0.3 mi away
Quality Suites Central Coast
Quality Suites Central Coast
#2 of 31 in San Luis Obispo
4.5 of 5 stars 622 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
La Cuesta Inn
La Cuesta Inn
#12 of 31 in San Luis Obispo
4.0 of 5 stars 333 reviews
3.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites- San Luis Obispo
Hampton Inn & Suites- San Luis O...
#7 of 31 in San Luis Obispo
4.0 of 5 stars 473 reviews
2.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Royal Oak Hotel
BEST WESTERN PLUS Royal Oak Hote...
#5 of 31 in San Luis Obispo
4.0 of 5 stars 690 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apple Farm Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apple Farm Inn

Property: Apple Farm Inn
Address: 2015 Monterey Street, San Luis Obispo, CA 93401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > San Luis Obispo
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in San Luis Obispo
#2 Family Hotel in San Luis Obispo
#9 Business Hotel in San Luis Obispo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Apple Farm Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 104
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Apple Farm Inn is located near downtown San Luis Obispo and very close to Cal Poly San Luis Obispo. All the rooms have fireplaces and complimentary wireless internet access. The property has a heated swimming pool, an on-site spa, a restaurant featuring comfort cuisine and an elaborate gift shop. It is centrally located for exploring the Central Coast with wineries and beaches no more than 10-15 miles away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon and Odigeo so you can book your Apple Farm Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apple Farm Hotel San Luis Obispo
Hotel Apple Farm
Apple Farm Inn Luis Obispo San

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing