We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Peaceful getaway” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Apple Farm Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Apple Farm Inn
Ranked #3 of 32 Hotels in San Luis Obispo
Certificate of Excellence
Sunnyvale, California
Level Contributor
52 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Peaceful getaway”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2012

My wife and I have always enjoyed stopping at the Apple Farm restaurant while traveling on 101. One year, we decided to come here to stay at the Inn and had a wonderful, restful week end. There is much to see in the area and we enjoy the break from the busyness of the Bay Area. Over the years, as our children have grown, we have grown weary of providing a full blown Thanksgiving Dinner for family and guests. We chose to come to this peaceful spot for the holiday with our teenage sons last year and had such a wonderful experience, we will be returning. Our room was nicely decorated and quiet. The grounds are beautiful with fresh flowers. The staff is attentive and friendly. Our boys love the fresh baked cookies placed in the hotel lobby for guests each evening. If a family needs a break from the hustle and bustle of life, this is a great getaway destination. The grounds are very nicely decorated for the holidays. Highly recommend staying here if ambience and quiet are on your list of requirements.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back of the property, off the creek are quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank William A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
applefarm, Public Relations Manager at Apple Farm Inn, responded to this review, October 19, 2012
We appreciate the time you took to post your review. It sounds like you had a wonderful visit and we are glad to hear it! Thanksgiving and the holidays are a very fun time here on property and our guests really enjoy the decorations and cozy atmosphere that we provide. We can't wait to welcome you and your family again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,283 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    723
    377
    109
    48
    26
See reviews for
315
636
43
40
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (345)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2012

This is a homely retreat with inviting reception on arrival and our unit had a lovely 4 poster bed and reminded us of a dolls house with its unique decor. No breakfast included but the bakery on site was more than adequate to get us going

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Johnny1952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
applefarm, Public Relations Manager at Apple Farm Inn, responded to this review, October 17, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review our property and for your recent stay with us. We are very glad to hear you enjoyed your stay! Our country decor is very unique and we are pleased that you found it cozy and inviting. The Guest Wine Tasting Reception is a favorite among our guests and it sounds like you had a nice time at it as well. The bakery does have lots of yummy treats that are just too tempting! Thank you again for your feedback! We look forward to welcoming you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boerne, Texas
Level Contributor
29 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here while in SLO for a wedding. Room was nicely sized for our family. Enjoyed the large bathroom. Beds were old, but comfortable. We slept well. There were a few cracked tiles on the bathroom floor, and the toilet seat was loose, but everything was clean. I know this hotel is in the process of renovation, but the price was steep considering the condition of the room.
We were given a $5 credit toward the restaurant, so we opted for breakfast. While in college, I remember eating at the restaurant, and thinking it was great. Apparently it has gone downhill. Server was not attentive, and disappeared halfway through our meal, and another server got our ticket for us. Food was just ok, but prices were high, so food should have been top notch.
Also, this hotel has no laundry facility. Kind of a pain to drive to the laundromat.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LuckyMommyTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
applefarm, Public Relations Manager at Apple Farm Inn, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel and restaurant. We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us! You are correct, we are in the process of renovating all of our rooms which involves redoing everything in the room from flooring, bathrooms and decor. In regards to your experience at the restaurant, I am disappointed to hear that we did not exceed your expectations. The service you described is not up to our standards and I have notified our Restaurant Manager about your comments so he can improve upon the problems you mentioned. While we do not have a laundry facility on site, we do offer a laundry service that will pick up and drop off at our hotel. Thank you again for your comments. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Apple Farm in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2012

Had a room with 2 queens and reserved for 2 nights. After the 1st nite our toilet broke and we had to move our stuff into a new room. This was supposed to be a deluxe but was smaller than our previous room and I received a whopping $20 credit on my bill for my troubles.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pmorow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
applefarm, Public Relations Manager at Apple Farm Inn, responded to this review, October 11, 2012
Thank you for reviewing your most recent stay with us. I apologize that your stay did not exceed your expectations. We have taken action on the broken toilet and it has been fixed since your departure. I am sorry that this issue was an inconvenience and we are doing everything we can to prevent this from happening to any future guests. I have contacted you personally and I would be happy to help you with any reservations in the future. Thank you again for your feedback, it allows us to continuously improve.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitby, Canada
Level Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2012

This inn is not for everyone but my wife sure loved it! Decor is flowery, rooms were clean.
Cont. breakfast is NOT included but there are several nice spots available to eat at close by.
We had a nice cottage style room with a gas fireplace and private hot tub on the back deck.
Staff were very helpful with any questions or directions.
Somewhat dated televisions. Shower was clean but control of the temp of the water was worn out and tended to scald you after a few minutes. Reported it the first day but it never got fixed even after 24 hrs. when we checked out.
All in all, it is a nice change from the usual chain hotels.
Would stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Duker6278
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
applefarm, Public Relations Manager at Apple Farm Inn, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
Thank you for reviewing the Apple Farm. We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and we are glad your wife loved the decor! While we do not offer continental breakfast we do provide a $5 voucher per night to use towards our restaurant or bakery on property. Many times we also have packages going that include an extra voucher to use towards any meal. Thank you for your feedback about the shower. I apologize that it was not addressed while you were here. I have passed your comments onto our maintenance department to ensure that it has been fixed since your departure. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Apple Farm!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lausanne, Switzerland
Level Contributor
67 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2012

They spent a lot of time on decoration and - although we would never choose this style for ourselves - they did a very good job. The country style if everywhere, from the reception area to the bathrooms. The rooms are very cozy and comfortable. The staff is very family friendly. The owner hosted a welcome drink for new guests the evening we arrived, serving the local wine. A nice touch we thought. Our family still has fond memories. It's also a nice hotel for a couple's getaway (although no Spa facilities).

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bart M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
applefarm, Public Relations Manager at Apple Farm Inn, responded to this review, October 11, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review our property. We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us! We are glad you were able to attend out Guest Wine Tasting Reception. We have recently started teaming up with a local winery every month and their wines are featured at the daily reception and at our monthly Winemaker's Dinner. We appreciate your comments and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Apple Farm again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
35 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

We chose this hotel thinking, from the pictures we'd seen, that we'd be getting a bit of a countryside experience. This is NOT a farm. In fact it is a rather tired motel, decorated by someone's grandma- all flounces, furbelows and nick nacks. We all found it slightly creepy unfortunately. The staff were very friendly though.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ehtnax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
applefarm, Public Relations Manager at Apple Farm Inn, responded to this review, September 25, 2012
Thank you for reviewing the Apple Farm. I apologize that we did not exceed your expectations during your stay with us. You are correct, we are not a farm and we are located in San Luis Obispo so we are not in the country. However, we strive to provide wine country hospitality and create the peaceful atmosphere that is characteristic of a small bed and breakfast. We understand that our decor does not appeal to everyone but we are in the process of renovations that provide a more contemporary feel. Thank you for taking the time to share your comments. We appreciate your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Luis Obispo hotels
0.1 mi away
San Luis Creek Lodge
San Luis Creek Lodge
#2 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 575 reviews
2.1 mi away
Madonna Inn
Madonna Inn
#5 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,472 reviews
0.3 mi away
Quality Suites San Luis Obispo
Quality Suites San Luis Obispo
#1 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 664 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
La Cuesta Inn
La Cuesta Inn
#11 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 366 reviews
2.6 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton San Luis Obispo
3.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites- San Luis Obispo
Hampton Inn & Suites- San Luis O...
#6 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 531 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apple Farm Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apple Farm Inn

Property: Apple Farm Inn
Address: 2015 Monterey Street, San Luis Obispo, CA 93401-2695
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > San Luis Obispo
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in San Luis Obispo
#2 Family Hotel in San Luis Obispo
#9 Business Hotel in San Luis Obispo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Apple Farm Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 104
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Apple Farm Inn is located near downtown San Luis Obispo and very close to Cal Poly San Luis Obispo. All the rooms have fireplaces and complimentary wireless internet access. The property has a heated swimming pool, an on-site spa, a restaurant featuring comfort cuisine and an elaborate gift shop. It is centrally located for exploring the Central Coast with wineries and beaches no more than 10-15 miles away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Apple Farm Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apple Farm Hotel San Luis Obispo
Hotel Apple Farm
Apple Farm Inn Luis Obispo San

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing