We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cute place to stay with friendly staff”
Review of Apple Farm Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Apple Farm Inn
Ranked #2 of 32 Hotels in San Luis Obispo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 26, 2012

We decided to make SLO a stop along our driving trip up the PCH. I'm glad we did, as we really liked the town and the people. The Apple Farm is a cute, country style inn right off the highway. We were greeted by a very nice gentleman at the front desk, who got us our room promptly and offered us cookies from their on-site bakery. They were really good. My husband tried the free apple cider, which he said was delicious. We asked him where we could go for a great dinner. He not only made the suggestion, but also called and made reservations for us. And the suggestion turned out to be very good. We got to our room (queen room with a private hot tub) and, while charming, was very tiny. We hardly had room for all our luggage (we were on a 2 week + trip so we had lots of stuff). The TV is old and outdated and the bathroom is barely bigger than a closet. I actually liked the country style decor even though I wouldn't' have it in my house. Once we managed to get everything situated so we could actually be able to walk around the room, it worked out ok. We were just there for 1 night, but I honestly couldn't have stayed longer than that. It really is that small. The grounds of the inn are adorable. The old working mill is great, and at night they have white Christmas lights on all the trees. There is an outdoor pool, which looked really nice but we didn't have time to use it. We did use the hot tub, which was clean and the water was nice and hot. I do wish the jets were stronger, though. The free wifi was ok. The next morning we had breakfast at the on site restaurant. We had really high hopes for it. My husband had a cinnamon roll pull apart which he said was pretty good. I just had bacon, eggs, and a biscuit and the biscuit was one of the best I'd ever had. The service, however, really is not that great. Now the hostess and the ladies at the front counter were great, but our server was ok at best. She took a long time to greet us and take our order. She didn't check on us after we got our food. And when it came time to pay (which took forever also), she took our card and brought it back, but didn't bring the actual check for us to sign. By this time, we went up to the cashier ourselves because we had to check out by noon. We explained what happened and that we were in a hurry so they got us our check to sign. And the very kind lady at the counter was very upset that we had to come up ourselves to straighten everything out. She even went to find our server and couldn't locate her at all! She even offered to comp our breakfast. We told her that was unnecessary, since we actually did enjoy the food. So....here's my suggestion. If you like a quaint, SMALL, inn then this is definitely for you. You may want to skip the restaurant if you are in a hurry.

Room Tip: We liked the queen room with a hot tub and it was quiet enough. But it is very, very tiny.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FionaJ68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 3, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to review our property. We are glad you were able to experience both the Inn and the Restaurant during your stay with us. Our property is set up with two buildings, the Main Inn and the Trellis Court Motel. Our queen size rooms with hot tubs are located in the Trellis Court. These rooms are all about half the size of the rooms in our Main Inn. These rooms are popular among guests who are just passing through for the night so I can understand the difficulty you had finding a place for all of your luggage. In regards to the service you received at the restaurant, this is not up to our standards. I have notified the restaurant manager so he can use this as a training tool for his wait staff. We appreciate your feedback and we will use it to improve our services. We hope to welcome you back to our property the next time you are in San Luis Obispo.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,442)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,018 - 1,024 of 1,442 reviews

Reviewed June 24, 2012

We stayed here one for a one night stopover during our trip down the Pacific Coast Highway. Having read previous reviews with all the talk about floral wallpaper we were looking forward to seeing what it was really like. We were very pleasantly surprised.

The hotel has a real welcoming atmosphere. We checked in at 4.40pm and, after giving us cookies, the staff on reception advised us to put our bags in our room and head down to the complimentary reception in the garden as it finished at 5pm. This we did and enjoyed a couple of glasses of wine which was lovely. We ate in the hotel's restaurant and the food was fine.

Our room was beautiful - yes there was floral wallpaper but the room was big and could take it. We had a huge bed, a gas fire, a fridge, a microwave and coffee maker. The room was quite luxurious with very nice toiletries provided in the bathroom.

We were sorry that we were only there for one night and didn;t have time to use the pool and hot tub but they looked lovely.

We would recommend this hotel. It was quite refreshing to find something so different.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CoopaLoop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded June 27, 2012

Thank you for your kind review of the Apple Farm. We are glad to hear that you were pleasantly surprised with your stay. We do have many rooms with floral decor but during our renovation project we have created many rooms that offer much less floral for guests who prefer something more contemporary. We are glad you were able to attend the guest wine reception. This is a great way to relax and meet fellow travelers. Thank you again for your review. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2012

We are travelling around California, so it's a bit, of a pot luck situation, when it comes to overnight accommodation. Trying to use the tourist information, wherever possible. Coming across the Apple Farm, helps to make our holiday special. We loved it, we were given an upgraded room. Shear luxury. Made use of the amenities, the breakfast was delicious, setting us 'up' for the day. If anything a little over fussy for me, but pleasing to the eye. Trying local wine on the patio, in the afternoon sun, great. All worth recommending.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anne T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded June 27, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to review our property. We are thrilled to hear you enjoyed your stay! It is always a little nerve racking when staying in many different hotels throughout a trip. We are so glad we could contribute to making your holiday special. We look forward to welcoming you back during your next visit to California!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2012

Decor not to my taste but not a bad hotel. I only stayed for one night and room was clean, comfortable and quiet. I had breakfast in the restaurant - portions are huge but food was great.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded June 26, 2012

Thank you for your review of the Apple Farm Inn and Restaurant. We are glad you were comfortable during your stay with us. Our restaurant is known for having large portions and they are great for leftovers! We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2012

We stayed here one night in the main building. The room was awesome and big with 2 queens and a loveseat. The decor is country and there is americana decor all over the halls etc. it has its charm. The restaurant was great for breakfast or the bakery if you don't want a full breakfast.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mehyde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
applefarm, Public Relations Manager at Apple Farm Inn, responded to this reviewResponded June 13, 2012

Thank you for reviewing the Apple Farm. We are so happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us! We are glad you were able to dine at our restaurant. Breakfast is our specialty and we have a wonderful pastry chef on property who makes all of our baked goods. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2012

My friend and I stayed here for one night to cut up our drive down the Coast. We were in the newer bldg. and our 2 rooms were large and comfortable. I had a canopy bed and we both had fireplaces. The restaurant has a bakery and comfort food to smile about. If you like biscuits and gravy and hot roast turkey sandwiches..this is your place.I had a reservation for 2 nights and cancelled the one night without a 48 hour notice and was forced to pay for it. That part left a sour taste in my mouth as the Hotel wasn't full anyways. So don't make that mistake.

Room Tip: I would ask to be in the newer bldg. and on the 2nd floor with a view of the mountains. These are fa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PeggyChism
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
applefarm, Public Relations Manager at Apple Farm Inn, responded to this reviewResponded June 13, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to review our property. We are thrilled to hear you enjoyed our hotel and restaurant! The rooms in our Inn are quite spacious and all of our rooms have fireplaces. We are glad you found the accommodations comfortable. In regards to our restaurant, comfort food is certainly our specialty. We strive to make our guests feel at home by offering quality meals and cozy rooms. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Apple Farm in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2012

Worst hotel I've ever stayed at. Hideous floral wallpaper with hideous non-matching floral curtains with the ugliest floral painting I've ever seen. I stayed in the 'annex' which is a typical side of the highway exposed dump of a place. It was loud. Every time someone shuts a door, the entire building shakes. It's right next to the highway, so you get to enjoy that sound too. The room smelled like a sewer. No lighting overhead, so you have to turn on 3 lamps to read a paper. The only natural light that comes through is through the window that faces the walkway, which- if you would open the curtains- would then expose you to everyone walking by. The TV was so old that the settings were permanently broken and was unwatchable. The prices are unreal for such a hole. The Super 8, down the street, looked nicer than this place. They also charged $50 more without telling me for incidentals, which will be reversed in 10 days. There are a million little dumps like this in SLO all next to each other. Pick a different one than the Apple Farm.

Room Tip: Avoid the "annex."
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank J H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
applefarm, Public Relations Manager at Apple Farm Inn, responded to this reviewResponded June 7, 2012

Thank you for your review of our property. We truly appreciate your feedback as it allows us to continuously improve our services. I am deeply sorry that you were so disappointed in your stay with us. Please allow me to address the concerns you mentioned in your review.

Our property has two sections, the Main Inn and the Trellis Court Motel. The room you stayed in is in the Trellis Court which has the traditional floral decor that the Apple Farm has been known for over the years. Many rooms in our Main Inn have been renovated and provide a more contemporary setting. Eventually all of our rooms will be renovated but as of now we have many guests who prefer the traditional decor and request these rooms when they stay. We know that all of our guests have different tastes and we are more than happy to find a room that is fitting for all of our guests.

The odor and broken TV you referred to are being addressed immediately by our housekeeping and maintenance departments. This is not up to our standards and we are working to ensure future guests do not encounter this. We are always eager to hear about these kinds of issues so we can promptly solve the problem.

In regards to the $50 charge you had on your card, this is a standard procedure performed by hotels to authorize the card being used. Whether or not funds are held depends on if you are using a credit or debit card. I apologize that you were not informed of this. Our front desk staff is trained to explain this procedure thoroughly and our guest services manager will be retraining on this process.

Again, I apologize that your stay with us did not exceed your expectations. We are not taking your comments lightly and we will be using them to improve upon our services in the future. Thank you for your honest feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Luis Obispo hotels
0.1 mi away
San Luis Creek Lodge
San Luis Creek Lodge
#1 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
632 reviews
0.3 mi away
Quality Suites San Luis Obispo
Quality Suites San Luis Obispo
#3 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
733 reviews
2.1 mi away
Madonna Inn
Madonna Inn
#5 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
1,673 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton San Luis Obispo
Embassy Suites by Hilton San Lui...
#11 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
1,235 reviews
0.0 mi away
La Cuesta Inn
La Cuesta Inn
#13 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
402 reviews
3.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites- San Luis Obispo
Hampton Inn & Suites- San Luis O...
#6 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
627 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apple Farm Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apple Farm Inn

Address: 2015 Monterey Street, San Luis Obispo, CA 93401-2695
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > San Luis Obispo
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in San Luis Obispo
#2 Romantic Hotel in San Luis Obispo
#9 Business Hotel in San Luis Obispo
Price Range: $182 - $351 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Apple Farm Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 106
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Apple Farm Inn is located near downtown San Luis Obispo and very close to Cal Poly San Luis Obispo. All the rooms have fireplaces and complimentary wireless internet access. The property has a heated swimming pool, an on-site spa, a restaurant featuring comfort cuisine and an elaborate gift shop. It is centrally located for exploring the Central Coast with wineries and beaches no more than 10-15 miles away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Apple Farm Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apple Farm Hotel San Luis Obispo
Hotel Apple Farm
Apple Farm Inn Luis Obispo San

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing