We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Hotel, shame about the service.”
Review of Apple Farm Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Apple Farm Inn
Ranked #3 of 32 Hotels in San Luis Obispo
Certificate of Excellence
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Beautiful Hotel, shame about the service.”
Reviewed November 12, 2011

First impressions were terrible due to the rude reception staff member, David. We were forced to wait half an hour while he tried to retrieve our booking, and we were made to feel very unwelcome and judged for the discounted rate we got through Expedia.

Unfortunately this did put a dampener on the rest of our stay, however the Apple Farm is a lovely, quaint hotel that was very cosy. Complementary hot cider and fresh baked cookies in front of the fire was a nice touch, and it was fun to walk around the grounds that were decked out in Christmas decorations and fairy lights. San Luis Obispo itself is also a very cute town.

If they brush up on their customer service and first impressions I would happily stay their again.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jkappleseed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
applefarm, Public Relations Manager at Apple Farm Inn, responded to this review, November 14, 2011
Thank you taking the time to review our Inn. I would like to sincerely apologize for the unpleasant service you received during your stay with us. I am terribly sorry that you felt unwelcome during your check in. This level of service is not up to our standards and our Guest Services Manager has been notified about the issue. I am glad you were still able to enjoy the Christmas decorations and some of the amenities we offer. I do hope we will be able to welcome you back in the future with guest service that wows you. Thank you again for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,400 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    799
    408
    116
    50
    27
See reviews for
349
700
46
41
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (376)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Southern California
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2011

I love coming here. it is so relaxing and calming. It is very country with lots of flower wall paper, vases, pictures and everything else country... so If you dont like country this is not for you. Yes it is a older hotel, but I still love it. I love sitting in the lobby having coffee every morning, or hot cider, and watching people come down in their bathrobes. that's how comfortable this place is. Theresa at the front desk was so much help.. (Thank you) she even gave me a hand written map to take on a little road trip.bottom line, if you are looking for a modern hotel this is not for you. but it is totally for me! So relaxing!

Room Tip: get a room in side the hotel, it is alittle quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank coocoomaroo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
applefarm, Public Relations Manager at Apple Farm Inn, responded to this review, November 7, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to review The Apple Farm. I am thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us! I agree that our Inn has a very special feel and it is not for everyone but it is perfect for others. The pictures you posted are beautiful, room 300 is a favorite for many of our guests. Thank you again for sharing your experience with us and we look forward to welcoming you back to The Apple Farm again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level 6 Contributor
178 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2011

A fabulous find in SLO. The restaurant serves excellent food at a great price. The portions are very American size, so go easy.

The room deco is very old fashioned and not in a good way. Floral curtains, matching wall paper etc.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RazNe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
applefarm, Public Relations Manager at Apple Farm Inn, responded to this review, November 2, 2011
Thank you for reviewing our property. I am happy to hear you enjoyed your stay and loved the restaurant as well. We definitely serve big portions. They are great for leftovers! Thank you again for taking the time to share your experience with us. We look forward to welcoming you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2011

I stayed for one night with my husband in September 2011. Our stay was pleasant, we had to wait about 10 minutes to check in but that was fine. We enjoyed a cookie whilst we were waiting! Our room was huge and at the back of the hotel. A king size bed, very comfortable (although quite high off the ground!). The room was very quiet. It was quirky, everything had roses - the walls, couch, bed, canopy, even the bathroom! But it was no big deal. I read some reviews awhile back which were a bit harsh on the decorating. I think the hotel is redoing some of the rooms anyway.

The hotel is a little walk into town (20 mins). We didn't bother to wait for the tram. If you can visit on a thurday, there are great markets! Very lively with lots of food to eat. I really like this little town and would recommend this place to stay.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hkj00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
applefarm, Public Relations Manager at Apple Farm Inn, responded to this review, November 2, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to review the Apple Farm. I am thrilled to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. We are in the process of renovating our rooms so they will still have the same feel as our traditional style rooms but they will be more contemporary. It is great that you were able to spend some time at the Farmer's Market, it is a always a big event around here. Thank you again and we look forward to welcoming you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastern Shore, MD
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2011

We stayed here recently for two nights as part of our trip to CA this summer. I saw this place on travelzoo.com with their special deal. We booked a room in the inn - I think it was called the queen deluxe room. When we arrived, so tired, it was nice to see a lovely lobby and we were delighted with free cookies and cider (or water) in their lobby. Check in was fine. However, going to our room, we were even more surprised. There was four of us, 2 adults and 2 almost adults (13 & 15), and we were impressed that the room was huge! There is a nice sitting area with a fireplace, then the two beds, armoire, and large bathroom. It was a room we could spread out in. It was somewhat "frilly", yes, but that's the way it is. If you want mannish decorating, you may want to stay at someone's hunting lodge instead. Oh, there is free internet in the lobby, which is a plus. Also, we had a free credit for breakfast. I don't remember if that is a usual thing or just part of the travelzoo special. However, just be aware, breakfast is pretty expensive for 4 people in their restaurant (count on about $10 p.p. for almost anything.) I think you could have used this credit towards their bakery too. Anyway, they had a nice gift shop, not cheap, but a lot of neat and unusual items to look at. They also had an area that was more like a "motel" area, which is different from the inn. From what I could tell, the rooms in the inn were much nicer and I would recommend them!
All in all, we had a nice time here!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank iwannatravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
applefarm, Public Relations Manager at Apple Farm Inn, responded to this review, November 2, 2011
Thank you so much for taking the time to review the Apple Farm. I am so happy to hear that you felt so comfortable while staying with us. The rooms in the Inn are very spacious which makes it great for families. It is wonderful that you were able to spend some time in the gift shop as well. We keep it full of very unique items. Thank you again for commenting on your stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Modesto, California
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2011

Beautiful grounds and atmosphere. Rooms decorated very quaintly. However, no place to sit in the room to watch the TV except the bed due to the arrangement even though there is a couch and chair in the room. Restaurant food is very good especially breakfast but a bit pricey as well. The grounds are a delight to walk around and enjoy. Also should have a refrig and microwave in the room.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hunters101291
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
applefarm, Public Relations Manager at Apple Farm Inn, responded to this review, October 21, 2011
Thank you reviewing our property. We are thrilled to hear you enjoyed the atmosphere while you stayed with us. We offer a variety of packages that you can find on our website with really great rates. Our guests tend to take advantage of these when they are available. We are also renovating all of rooms and a part of this process is adding refrigerators. So, as of now, select rooms have them and eventually all of them will. Thank you again and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Apple Farm!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2011

We booked this by telephone as we were on the road about ten miles from San Luis Obispo. A friend had highly recommended it. They quoted $199 and we accepted, again based on the comments from our friend. What we didn't know was that we wouldn't be in the main building, but in the adjacent old motel building. The room was tiny. It was overly chinzy, but I can live with very outdated cutsy decor. I can also turn sideways to get around the bed (4 poster with canopy). What I can't tolerate is a backed up moldy shower. When my husband showered the water backed up. He stepped on the drain cover plate and it moved. It wasn't screwed down. Apparently, it had been unsecured to allow for previous work (which apparently hadn't fixed the problem). My husband showed it to me and it was obvious that the whole area which had been covered by the cover plate (4" to 6" diameter) was full of mold. It was ghastly. I took a picture and passed on the shower that morning. No way was I getting in there. So, off to visit friends with no shower and no hair washing.

When we checked out we asked to see the manager. It was Saturday morning and the manager wasn't available. The desk clerk said she was very sorry. The supervisor was helping someone else so we decided to wait. We felt that someone higher up should know as it is a health issue. While waiting the desk clerk told us that housekeping advised her it wasn't mold. Well, I know black mold when I see it. (Perhaps that's a training challenge for housekeeping). The supervisor also said he was very sorry. That was it. Nothing more. They weren't unpleasant, but it was a completely inadequate response. First, $200 for an almost impossible to navigate room and then a foul shower stall. We'll never return and will share the story with anyone who will listen. I have the picture to prove the story, attached

Room Tip: Stay elsewhere and for less money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank puppysara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
applefarm, Public Relations Manager at Apple Farm Inn, responded to this review, October 24, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to review our property and for your feedback. I cannot apologize enough for the way this situation was handled. The response you received was not adequate and we would like to make this right with you. The condition of the room you stayed in is not a typical situation and it is certainly not up to the standards of our Inn. We will be looking into what room this was so we can immediately fix the problem if it has not been done so already. I would also like to apologize that you were not informed that you were staying in the Trellis Court. It is expected that our sales staff explains this difference so our guests are not surprised by the size difference. If you feel comfortable contacting us directly we would appreciate the chance to remedy this issue with you. Thank you again for your feedback and I am sincerely sorry for the issues you encountered during your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Luis Obispo
0.1 mi away
San Luis Creek Lodge
San Luis Creek Lodge
#1 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
622 reviews
0.3 mi away
Quality Suites San Luis Obispo
Quality Suites San Luis Obispo
#2 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
718 reviews
2.1 mi away
Madonna Inn
Madonna Inn
#5 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
1,624 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
La Cuesta Inn
La Cuesta Inn
#12 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
391 reviews
2.6 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton San Luis Obispo
Embassy Suites by Hilton San Lui...
#11 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
1,207 reviews
9.6 mi away
The Inn at the Cove
The Inn at the Cove
#1 of 29 in Pismo Beach
1,407 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apple Farm Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apple Farm Inn

Property: Apple Farm Inn
Address: 2015 Monterey Street, San Luis Obispo, CA 93401-2695
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > San Luis Obispo
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in San Luis Obispo
#2 Romantic Hotel in San Luis Obispo
#9 Business Hotel in San Luis Obispo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Apple Farm Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 106
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Apple Farm Inn is located near downtown San Luis Obispo and very close to Cal Poly San Luis Obispo. All the rooms have fireplaces and complimentary wireless internet access. The property has a heated swimming pool, an on-site spa, a restaurant featuring comfort cuisine and an elaborate gift shop. It is centrally located for exploring the Central Coast with wineries and beaches no more than 10-15 miles away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your Apple Farm Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apple Farm Hotel San Luis Obispo
Hotel Apple Farm
Apple Farm Inn Luis Obispo San

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing