We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Monster Burger is Still the best Burger!”

Franks Famous Hot Dogs
Ranked #30 of 304 Restaurants in San Luis Obispo
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Breakfast
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Atascadero, California
Level 6 Contributor
650 reviews
307 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 369 helpful votes
“The Monster Burger is Still the best Burger!”
Reviewed January 11, 2014

Franks Monster Burger is still the perfect hamburger. Yes they have a big menu, but the Monster Burger is the backbone of franks. I have been going there for years and will continue!! Oh yes - and lets not forget the Breakfast burrito! I love it I can Call ahead and pick it up - yippee - and the salsa is very good too - You gotta remember - I love Breakfast burritos! - Still great after all those years! This my update of my earlier review, as I just finished another wonderful meal at Franks - and everything is still perfect. A great hamburger place!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CharleySays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    54
    45
    20
    5
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Columbus, Ohio, United States
Level 6 Contributor
275 reviews
146 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Don't get the hot dogs”
Reviewed December 17, 2013 via mobile

Surprisingly, for a place called Frank's Famous Hot Dogs, my chili dog was the least successful part of my meal. But the prices are good, the portions enormous, and the service is fast. My chef salad was excellent. The french fries were tasty, and the hamburgers that other people ordered looked excellent. But the dogs are too messy, the chili too bland, and putting fresh tomatoes and onion on the bun on top of ketchup and mustard, the drowning it all under scalding hot chili creates an odd half-cooked texture to the tomatoes and onions that is very off-putting.

Helpful?
Thank Brent B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Augustine Beach, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
323 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
“A must--ard!”
Reviewed September 27, 2013

My wife, whose motto is if it tastes good spit it out -- eats these like crack! The biggest decision is do we start with a corn dog or finish up with a corn dog -- because there will be a corn dog.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank MMPJMH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“I went there today .the cashier girl charge me $19.96,When I asked her for the price detail ,She gave me one but the total was”
Reviewed August 22, 2013

I went there today .the cashier girl charge me $19.96,When I asked her for the price detail ,She gave me one but the total was $20!
How do you think this?
By the way I am a traveller and I can't handle English very well.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Wwwwannie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradley
Level 6 Contributor
374 reviews
299 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
“MMMMMM!!!”
Reviewed July 23, 2013

We have eaten there more than a few times and I've loved their kraut dogs and their regular dogs. It's one of my favorite hot dog places around! Everybody is so friendly, too!! It gets really crowded at lunch time (I guess because it's close to the college?) so plan accordingly.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank K. B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Franks Famous Hot Dogs also viewed

San Luis Obispo, San Luis Obispo County
San Luis Obispo, San Luis Obispo County
 
San Luis Obispo, San Luis Obispo County
San Luis Obispo, San Luis Obispo County
 
San Luis Obispo, San Luis Obispo County
San Luis Obispo, San Luis Obispo County
 

Been to Franks Famous Hot Dogs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing