We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good sole”
Review of Horatio's

Horatio's
Reserve with OpenTable
Horatio's is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #2 of 253 Restaurants in San Leandro
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $31 - $50
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Transit: San Leandro BART station
Level Contributor
85 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Very good sole”
Reviewed October 3, 2012 via mobile

Crab stuffed sole is one of the specials. It is crispy on the outside but moist inside. Very good. As a rule I order the specials when I travel on the theory it was either planned or looked good to the chef but either way is fresh. I also had the smoked salmon appetizer which was uneventful. I'd definitely go back.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Roissen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

283 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    110
    108
    49
    8
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great water front restaurant”
Reviewed September 24, 2012

Right next to our hotel, great food and service. The wait staff were very friendly and accommodating.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank TopMomCasaSirena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great location and service but mediocre food experience”
Reviewed September 20, 2012

The restaurant is in an area with very little competition. It’s in a lovely location, right on the water. The service was very friendly and attentive. The décor is nautical, warm and very inviting. The food though (at least what I ordered) was mediocre--not bad but not great.

The company website lists a Rib Eye & Lobster Special for $29.95 if you mention the ad. That’s what I ordered. I asked for my steak to be medium rare. When it arrived, it was somewhat pink inside but quite dry. When the server came by to ask how it was, I said it was ok but dry. Bless her heart, she took it away and ordered another. The chef brought out the second and assured me that I would like it better. (So you can see that the service really is very good.) Unfortunately, the second steak was more juicy, because it had more fat--a lot of fat and gristle. I ate it. It was ok. The lobster was very tasty. The meal was served with roasted potatoes that did not seem freshly made. The one thing that was delicious was the garlic bread. It was my favorite part of the meal.

I do want to emphasize how impressed I was with the service and the nice location. Maybe it was a bad day. I think it would be a great place for a date (assuming that the food would be better) or happy hour.

One other thing--which has nothing to do with the restaurant. I was staying at the Holiday Inn and took the free shuttle there. I have Sprint and had no cell service to call the hotel to send the shuttle back for me. Fortunately, the very nice woman at the hostess desk let me use their phone.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Girl_From_Portland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tadley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Nice food although a bit expensive”
Reviewed August 11, 2012

We were sat in a booth over looking the marina, it was wonderful. During ourt stay at the Marina hotel next door we ate here twice as very easy just to walk across. Both times food was great. Although a bit expensive the quality of the food is good.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank JANETTT7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pacifica, California
Level Contributor
33 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Horatio Hornblower by the Marina”
Reviewed July 26, 2012

I've been eating and drinking off and on since 1985. Happy hour is every day! Outdoor patio great decor and really good food and great service staff. A bit pricey but, happy hour makes it better.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank mdhutch52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Horatio's also viewed

 

Been to Horatio's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing