We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Romantic date getaway” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Marina Inn on San Francisco Bay

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Marina Inn on San Francisco Bay
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in San Leandro
Certificate of Excellence
Palo Alto, California
1 review
“Romantic date getaway”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2012

My husband and I often come here for our get-a-way date nights. It's wonderful. Right on the bay with many restaurants close by. The rooms are spacious and comfortable. We often call for our reservation and get the date night package if available. The price is outstanding for the location and all that's included; view, deck, fridge and microwave, pool, hot tub, workout facility, warm cookies and cold milk at night and a breakfast in the morning! Plus the restaurant next door that they work with is amazing!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephanie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

436 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    280
    122
    22
    5
    7
See reviews for
124
134
32
99
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (148)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Columbia River Gorge WA
Level Contributor
65 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2012

Briefly,
I wrote about my experience here before and several of the Heartflight fans or readers of Trip Advisor took me up on visiting this lovely gem in San Leandro CA and found it to be just as many others have found it to be! Tanka – Which means Great in Lakota!
So I will just say this time, Same place , Outstanding wonderful staff , Great new sales Manager and atmosphere lovely as ever! You must ask for a suite looking over the bay. Yes, if its a beautiful day you can see the city sky line. Great golfing close by, nice park , walking area. Ask to ride their free bikes as a guest.
Read the other reviews, They found out also why this place is special, Or read my other San Leandro Marina Inn as they were named previously! Great restaurant next door Horatio's. See my review San Leandro Horatio's. Worth reading!
Over all I could write a book about this place. A hidden gem for sure. Try it , you'll be back and may even run into me there. I am there often and love it. You will too and you'll know why, right as you check in. The warmth the staff gives is beyond compare! Let them know Heartflight sent you. You’ll get a smile!
Can't wait to go back. They call my suite Heartflight's room. Say Hello to the wonderful Manager Audrey while your there! Lovely lady that truly represents customer service at its finest! Fantastic lady and the staff such great folks!! Well better superb!
It truly is a Marina Inn on the San Francisco Bay! Lovely! A hidden Gem!
Do yourself a favor and find out for yourself! You'll be a regular like so many others of us! and you too will write some wonderful thoughts on trip advisor.
Happy visit, Sweet Dreams........................
Heartflight.

Room Tip: Ask for a suite view balcony room over the bay towards city skyline. Wet bar, large suite huge TV...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Heartflight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2012

I highly recommend this Inn. The complement breakfast offers a wide variety of foods and several flavors of coffee. The pleasant Staff, large, clean room, pool and Business Center are also a plus. What is unique however is the location. It is right next to Marina Park where there are miles of beach side walking\jogging\bikng trails. I will return to this Inn.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank chrisa583
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san diego, ca
Level Contributor
111 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2012

On the east bay, off the beaten path, yet near all. The lodging at The Marina Inn on San Francisco Bay is a jewel. Not too many places can offer lodging on the bay at under $150 a night and have the same services as you get here. Breakfast, newspaper, wifi, business center, bicycles, east San Francisco bay, a pool, a fitness center, and a shuttle service are included in your room rate! The rooms are equipped with a flat screen television, a desk, comfortable bedding, mini-fridge, and a microwave. They have ample parking, the grounds are safe, and there are two restaurants within walking distant, one of which supplies room service to the Inn. The front desk staff is kind, friendly, and have suggestions that can meet your needs. Check in/out was efficient and without error. I recommend asking for a room facing the bay, and if available, on the second or third floor. You won't be disappointed with this establishment!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank acoachcool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Broken Arrow, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2012

We stayed here for 3 days while on our vacation to California the summer of 2011. We have friends in the area & a co-worker suggested this hotel. Our room was clean and spacious w/ a balcony that faced the marina and had a fridge. They have a "business center" that is free for guests - which comes in VERY handy if you need computer access to check on flights, reservations @ other hotels along the way OR in our case the possibility of inclement weather. If I remember correctly, they even have cookies & milk in the evenings for guests. Their continental breakfast was nicer than most we've seen & we enjoyed that every morning before heading out to see the local sights. The staff were always helpful & friendly. We wouldn't hesitate to stay here again if in the area.

Room Tip: We had a lovely view of the marina w/ a balcony - however, those rooms do cost a little more per nig...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank welovescotland!
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HUDSON
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 23, 2011

We have been staying at the Marina in for many years and the experience is always great. The rates are very reasonable for the Bay area and you are just a short BART ride from downtown SF or a short drive to the Valley. The rooms are clean and roomy, with very comfortable beds. The staff is helpful and friendly. We have stayed at The Marina on business trips as well as for vacation trips. The meeting rooms are very user friendly and provide the needed privacy. Horatio's Restaurant next door to the Inn provides a place for a business lunch or dinner. The Inn has an exerise room, outdoor pool and hot tub.

When booking a room ask for a room on the marina side of the hotel so that you may step out on the balcony and view the Bay and the boats docked in the marina.

Room Tip: Marina side junior suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JTBMMB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 14, 2011

We've stayed at the San Leandro Marina Inn twice using their park and fly program. It's a great way to get a good night's sleep before an early morning flight. It's nice to be able to park the car for the week and not pay extra. The shuttle to the airport is quick and takes the back way to the airport. The only downside is that it runs from 6 am to 11 pm so if you have a flight outside of that timeframe you'll have to cab it (about $20). The shuttle drivers are friendly and courteous.

Staff is very friendly and helpful. We requested a quiet room (I have noticed that there can be groups of louder guests, especially on weekends but staff was very quick to acknowledge and address any problems). After we came back from our weeklong vacation, the gentleman at the front desk (who had checked us in the prior week) recognized me, welcomed me back and asked about my vacation.

The continental breakfast is good - it's pretty extensive given that it's a continental breakfast - breads, pastries, hardboiled eggs, cereal, fresh fruit, yogurt, hot cereal, coffee, tea, and juices.

The rooms are spacious and beds are comfortable.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room. We were on the 2nd floor which helped.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TAmember123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Leandro
3.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Oakland Airport-Alameda
3.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Oakland/San Leandro
6.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Bayside Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Airport Inn & Suites
6.8 mi away
Executive Inn & Suites
Executive Inn & Suites
#2 of 49 in Oakland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 849 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hilton Oakland Airport
Hilton Oakland Airport
#12 of 49 in Oakland
3.5 of 5 bubbles 888 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Marina Inn on San Francisco Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Marina Inn on San Francisco Bay

Property: The Marina Inn on San Francisco Bay
Address: 68 Monarch Bay Drive, San Leandro, CA 94577
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Leandro
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in San Leandro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Marina Inn on San Francisco Bay 2.5*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Marina Inn on San Francisco Bay is a peaceful waterfront hotel for business or pleasure, offering a full range of resort and conference facilities overlooking a beautiful Marina, adjacent to Monarch Bay Golf Club, and just five minutes from Oakland Airport. Guests enjoy a value unparalleled in the Oakland/San Francisco/Bay Area, with all rates including an array of complimentary amenities and services such as Courtesy Shuttle Service, Deluxe Continental Breakfast, high speed wifi, Free Parking, local calls and much more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Despegar.com and Travelocity so you can book your The Marina Inn on San Francisco Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Marina Inn On San Francisco Bay Hotel San Leandro
San Leandro Marina Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing