We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“too expensive for what you get”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Capistrano Inn
Reviewed November 7, 2008

Well, room was very spacious and clean. But walls are very thin, you can hear everything from your neighbours. Breakfast: at check-in they tell you free breakfast, but in the morning they just gave us coupons (2.99 each) for Danny's nearby.

Stayed: October 2008
Thank bertlAustria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (383)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

352 - 358 of 383 reviews

Reviewed October 12, 2008

Stayed here for an anniversary weekend a couple of weeks back-- the location is excellent if Old San Juan is a primary destination on your itinerary. Check in was a little strange; it seemed someone was getting trained that evening and, instead of explaining this and perhaps offering a quick apology and a "please be patient" we just stood there for a long time while the new guy figured things out with the veteran guy watching. It was late (close to midnight) and we were tired, so we thought that was a bit odd. The room was fine, the carpets a little "sticky" however, and it was pretty loud all through the night (very thin walls). Half way through the weekend, our key just stopped working for no apparent reason, but they remedied that pretty quickly. All in all, a good deal if you're on a tighter budget.

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank aloveproject
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2008

My Fiance and I traveled to San Juan Capistrano on Labor Day Weekend for a wedding. The hotel was in a great location, however, it was pretty low budget. The lobby is a small 1/2 room 1/2 sitting area 1/2 cooler filled with beverages for purchase.

Check in was quick and easy- our room was ready long before the "normal check-in time" of 3 pm (i think we checked in around noon)

The hotel is the kind that you drive to your room door and park there (didn't they used to call those "motor lodges"?) We drove to our room (2nd floor) and got settled.

The room:
-smelled like cheap deodorizer (we had to air it out immediately)
-had a small balcony..looking at nothing
-had a microwave and refridgerator
-separate sink area - outside of the toilet and shower area

the good:
-location was great-close to everything, including the Mission
-FREE SHUTTLE to near by locations (if you are willing to risk a 16 year old driving you in a 10 passanger van- you are more than welcome. on our ride home from the wedding our driver's equally young girlfriend kept calling him on his iPhone. I joked that he should text her to make sure she doens't get mad. AND HE STARTED TO (as he veered into teh next lane..). i said "well...not NOW!"
-the pool looked small but inviting (we didn't use it)
-shower water pressure was great

the bad
-the shower looked like a handy man had just slapped on a bunch of caulking-old tile...missing grout
-the room was not updated at all-they may have painted but wasnt very clean
-there was a hole in the wall above the sink

Bottomline-
this is not a luxury hotel by any means. if anything its a commuter hotel or an economy lodge or a "i'm-staying-here-one-night -because- that's- all- i -can- take" place.

For the area..(rooty-tooty-fancy-expensive) I'm positive it was the cheapest hotel around...but i think next time i would have slurged and had just a little nicer of a hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kobeezgirl8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2008

Fantastic small hotel close to the old historic San Juan Capistrano 5 minute walk. Also close to the freeway to San Diego and Los Angeles. The rates were terrific and that included coupons for breakfast at the Denny's next door. The staff was very friendly and attentative. I would highly recommend staying here to visit southern Orange County and for day trips to Disneyland and to San Diego. This is our 2nd time we stayed at the property and we stayed for 6 nights on this trip.

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wigsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2007

This is a decent no frills motel. They tell you that it's 3 blocks from Old Town San Juan Capistrano which is true. However, you have to cross the freeway to get to the Old Town. This is possible on foot, but not very pleasant. They need new mattresses. I don't consider myself a terrible hotel snob, but that was the most uncomfortable bed that I can remember ever sleeping in. I would have been perfectly content with the room otherwise.

  • Stayed: October 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Madrebt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 21, 2007

Rooms were clean and quiet but a little dated. They are doing some remodeling as the looks of it. Price was fair when you booked on line instead of calling the hotel it self. Staff was not very informative as we weren't told about the cont. breakfast that was served. For the price and location we would stay again.

Stayed: December 2007
1  Thank TexasLJB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2007

My room was at the back of the hotel. Hard to park, construction type vehicles and personel seemed to be staying there long term. My room smelled very sour, my feet stuck to the carpet, dining table was very, very sticky, blanket well-worn and very wrinkled, and the pillows were worn-out and lumpy. If that was not enough, my room had an electrical problem the second day-knocking out one whole side of the room including TV. We were moved to a room up front, the difference was extreme: outstanding pillows and newer pillows and covers. We had to move all our own stuff for the last night. No one even offered to assist. My room at the local Travel Lodge was much better but it had a lot more traffic noise.

  • Stayed: November 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jmikeModesto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Juan Capistrano
3.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Marina Shores Hotel
2.3 mi away
Residence Inn Dana Point San Juan Capistrano
Residence Inn Dana Point San Jua...
#2 of 3 in San Juan Capistrano
186 reviews
3.2 mi away
The Beachfront Inn & Suites at Dana Point
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Dana Point Marina Inn
Dana Point Marina Inn
#8 of 12 in Dana Point
356 reviews
5.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express San Clemente North
3.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Mission Viejo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Capistrano Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Capistrano Inn

Address: 27174 Ortega Hwy, San Juan Capistrano, CA 92675-2702
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > San Juan Capistrano
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in San Juan Capistrano
Price Range: $118 - $196 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Capistrano Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 108
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The BEST WESTERN Capistrano Inn- The Swallows Resting Place. Discover why the city of San Juan Capistrano is a must see travel destination when you stay at this property located just two blocks from historical Mission San Juan Capistrano®. With easy access to the 5 freeway and our Central location between Los Angeles and San Diego the BEST WESTERN Capistrano Inn makes it easy to enjoy the area's many attractions. We believe location matters a lot. Located just Four miles from beautiful Orange County beaches and near Top attractions such as Knott's Berry Farm®, Soak City® Water Park, Disneyland®, California Adventure® and SeaWorld® this property offers the location at an affordable rate. Mission San Juan Capistrano® various events bring guests to our hotel year-round. However, our hospitality, spacious cool rooms and Best Western amenities are what make guests feel at home. This hotel boasts the friendliest service in town, and we're committed to making you feel welcomed and comfortable. Business guests of the BEST WESTERN Capistrano Inn will also appreciate this hotel's close proximity to area businesses including Costco® Wholesale, Wal-Mart®, Quest Diagnostics®, Mission Viejo Hospital, The Shops at Mission Viejo® and many more. Book your BEST WESTERN Capistrano Inn room today! Enjoy your stay with us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Best Western, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Best Western Capistrano Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Capistrano Hotel San Juan Capistrano
Best Western San Juan Capistrano
San Juan Capistrano Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing