We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Could use refreshing”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Best Western Capistrano Inn
Reviewed November 16, 2013

This Best Western is very conveniently located close to I-5, also a high-end mall with a fine portrait art gallery that was the object of our visit. The price was very good, so I am reluctant to mention that the overall area could use a sprucing up, but it could.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Richard M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (381)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

269 - 275 of 381 reviews

Reviewed November 10, 2013

Right off freeway, minutes from San Juan Capistrano attractions. Modest hotel with dated accommodations. Good deal on booking.com. As a note, do be cautious of the fog that rolls in off the ocean. No one warned me and it was an ordeal to drive thru thick evening fog to reach hotel.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
Thank Anna C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2013

Located off a main roadway, older property, walk outs, clean with your basic furnishings. Room was quiet, beds were so so. Able to park in front of your room easy to cart your luggage in. Will probably do a return visit in May on a motorcycles trip

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CocoLoco69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2013

I have stayed at this property many times for one reason or another. It is always clean and in good working order. The staff always provides efficient service. The breakfast is pretty basic for this type of accommodation. My only complaint is in the quality of coffee in the room. It is really quite bad. I will definitely stay here again whenever I am in the area and needing a place to sleep without frills, but wanting something more that a Motel 6 experience.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Mark B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2013

When I am in Los Angeles and needing a place to stay that has all the comforts of home. I will continue to choose the Best Western chain hotels. This particular hotel is the best I've been to in Los Angeles. Not only do you have the enjoyment of a warm pool steps away from your door. The hot tub is always warm and ready for you. If that don't get your fancy. How about walking the 20 to 30 feet over to the Bowling Alley and have fun with the family or just alone. I for one am a bowler and have to say with the coupon the hotel gives you for buy one get one free where can you go wrong. Lanes are the cheapest I've seen for a game. When you're in the mood to sing or just have a cold drink. The bar is very convenient as well. I enjoy the snack bar that is in same building as the lanes and bar ow did I mention that you don't even have to go outside to enter these places. That is so cool or what. The lanes and hotel are connected to one another and you wouldn't even know it by the sound. So again for the price and the entertainment this is the Best of the Best in L.A. for me.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
2  Thank DinoSoke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2013 via mobile

The location here is great. The staff was very helpful. The rooms have a fridge, microwave and coffee maker. The bed was firm, but was comfortable. We requested second floor and that was provided. The breakfast was adequate, but the only eggs were hard boiled and there was no meat provided. We found plenty to eat! The rooms had granite counters in bath area and there was plenty of hot water for the shower. The hotel is walking distance to downtown SJC, the Mission and the train. The hotel has a shuttle that you can use if you don't want to walk through the construction area. The construction will continue for at least another year. Overall we found this to be the best location and price in the area. It's not fancy but it does the job.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelBugs-LewSue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2013

The major problem with this hotel is the construction on the new ramps for I-5. There is no sign easily visible at night on the Ortega Highway, so when we got off I-5 we drove past the hotel at first. Because traffic was squeezed into two fewer lanes than normal, it was impossible to take a left turn when leaving the hotel; we had to go right and u-turn. The Mission, the shops and restaurants are withing easy walking distance, but getting there takes forever because you have to cross Ortega several times (the sidewalk is blocked by construction first on one side then on the other) and the traffic requires that you wait for crossing lights.

None of this is the hotel's fault, of course. Check in was courteous and efficient, as was check out. The room was good sized and had a small balcony. It was generally clean, although we did find a couple of insects, which is not unexpected in this climate. The free breakfast was limited, but adequate.

Wait a year until the construction work is finished, and this will be an excellent place to stay.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BruceWallingford_CT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Juan Capistrano
3.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Marina Shores Hotel
2.3 mi away
Residence Inn Dana Point San Juan Capistrano
Residence Inn Dana Point San Jua...
#2 of 3 in San Juan Capistrano
181 reviews
3.6 mi away
Dana Point Marina Inn
Dana Point Marina Inn
#8 of 12 in Dana Point
351 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
The Beachfront Inn & Suites at Dana Point
5.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express San Clemente North
5 mi away
Best Western Plus Casablanca Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Capistrano Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Capistrano Inn

Address: 27174 Ortega Hwy, San Juan Capistrano, CA 92675-2702
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > San Juan Capistrano
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in San Juan Capistrano
Price Range: $119 - $178 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Capistrano Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 108
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The BEST WESTERN Capistrano Inn- The Swallows Resting Place. Discover why the city of San Juan Capistrano is a must see travel destination when you stay at this property located just two blocks from historical Mission San Juan Capistrano®. With easy access to the 5 freeway and our Central location between Los Angeles and San Diego the BEST WESTERN Capistrano Inn makes it easy to enjoy the area's many attractions. We believe location matters a lot. Located just Four miles from beautiful Orange County beaches and near Top attractions such as Knott's Berry Farm®, Soak City® Water Park, Disneyland®, California Adventure® and SeaWorld® this property offers the location at an affordable rate. Mission San Juan Capistrano® various events bring guests to our hotel year-round. However, our hospitality, spacious cool rooms and Best Western amenities are what make guests feel at home. This hotel boasts the friendliest service in town, and we're committed to making you feel welcomed and comfortable. Business guests of the BEST WESTERN Capistrano Inn will also appreciate this hotel's close proximity to area businesses including Costco® Wholesale, Wal-Mart®, Quest Diagnostics®, Mission Viejo Hospital, The Shops at Mission Viejo® and many more. Book your BEST WESTERN Capistrano Inn room today! Enjoy your stay with us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Best Western Capistrano Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Capistrano Hotel San Juan Capistrano
Best Western San Juan Capistrano
San Juan Capistrano Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing