We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Old style motel” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of BESTWESTERN Capistrano Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
BESTWESTERN Capistrano Inn
Calgary
Level Contributor
49 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Old style motel”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2013

Located off a main roadway, older property, walk outs, clean with your basic furnishings. Room was quiet, beds were so so. Able to park in front of your room easy to cart your luggage in. Will probably do a return visit in May on a motorcycles trip

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CocoLoco69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

311 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    93
    110
    59
    25
    24
See reviews for
94
97
24
44
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hingham, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2013

I have stayed at this property many times for one reason or another. It is always clean and in good working order. The staff always provides efficient service. The breakfast is pretty basic for this type of accommodation. My only complaint is in the quality of coffee in the room. It is really quite bad. I will definitely stay here again whenever I am in the area and needing a place to sleep without frills, but wanting something more that a Motel 6 experience.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Mark B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2013

When I am in Los Angeles and needing a place to stay that has all the comforts of home. I will continue to choose the Best Western chain hotels. This particular hotel is the best I've been to in Los Angeles. Not only do you have the enjoyment of a warm pool steps away from your door. The hot tub is always warm and ready for you. If that don't get your fancy. How about walking the 20 to 30 feet over to the Bowling Alley and have fun with the family or just alone. I for one am a bowler and have to say with the coupon the hotel gives you for buy one get one free where can you go wrong. Lanes are the cheapest I've seen for a game. When you're in the mood to sing or just have a cold drink. The bar is very convenient as well. I enjoy the snack bar that is in same building as the lanes and bar ow did I mention that you don't even have to go outside to enter these places. That is so cool or what. The lanes and hotel are connected to one another and you wouldn't even know it by the sound. So again for the price and the entertainment this is the Best of the Best in L.A. for me.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
2 Thank DinoSoke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
65 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2013 via mobile

The location here is great. The staff was very helpful. The rooms have a fridge, microwave and coffee maker. The bed was firm, but was comfortable. We requested second floor and that was provided. The breakfast was adequate, but the only eggs were hard boiled and there was no meat provided. We found plenty to eat! The rooms had granite counters in bath area and there was plenty of hot water for the shower. The hotel is walking distance to downtown SJC, the Mission and the train. The hotel has a shuttle that you can use if you don't want to walk through the construction area. The construction will continue for at least another year. Overall we found this to be the best location and price in the area. It's not fancy but it does the job.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelBugs-LewSue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wallingford, CT
Level Contributor
70 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2013

The major problem with this hotel is the construction on the new ramps for I-5. There is no sign easily visible at night on the Ortega Highway, so when we got off I-5 we drove past the hotel at first. Because traffic was squeezed into two fewer lanes than normal, it was impossible to take a left turn when leaving the hotel; we had to go right and u-turn. The Mission, the shops and restaurants are withing easy walking distance, but getting there takes forever because you have to cross Ortega several times (the sidewalk is blocked by construction first on one side then on the other) and the traffic requires that you wait for crossing lights.

None of this is the hotel's fault, of course. Check in was courteous and efficient, as was check out. The room was good sized and had a small balcony. It was generally clean, although we did find a couple of insects, which is not unexpected in this climate. The free breakfast was limited, but adequate.

Wait a year until the construction work is finished, and this will be an excellent place to stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BruceWallingford_CT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Jolla, United States
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2013

We were attending the Rodeo. It was a short drive to the Rodeo. Ad just a few minute walk the train station, dinner at the El Adobe and dancing at the Swallows nest. Great location, clean. Walls are thin so you can hear the neighbors TV. Overall - very happy with our stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Nancy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hebron
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2013

I could not believe this from a Best Western. Sometimes its the little things that add up to an overall impression. First off we were put in a room with 2 queen size beds instead of the king we had requested. No big deal - it worked. Secondly the bathroom amenities were seriously lacking. You get soap and shampoo, that's it. There was no lotion, no conditioner and no bath mat. When I asked for at least a bath mat, we were then shorted one large towel. Really? As mentioned by a previous reviewer, the breakfast selection was meager and not all that inviting. Because we paid top dollar during the summer, I must say that we seriously overpaid for this experience. We were at the hotel for several days so, as I said, it was the small things that added up to less than a stellar review. We did have a balcony but the screen did not close properly and left a big gap between the screen and door frame.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the freeway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 1stemee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these San Juan Capistrano hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Juan Capistrano
2.3 mi away
Residence Inn Dana Point San Juan Capistrano
Residence Inn Dana Point San Jua...
#2 of 3 in San Juan Capistrano
4.0 of 5 bubbles 159 reviews
3.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Marina Shores Hotel
3.2 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Oceanview
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Doheny Beach - Dana Point
5.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express San Clemente North
3.6 mi away
Dana Point Marina Inn
Dana Point Marina Inn
#8 of 12 in Dana Point
3.5 of 5 bubbles 316 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BESTWESTERN Capistrano Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BESTWESTERN Capistrano Inn

Property: BESTWESTERN Capistrano Inn
Address: 27174 Ortega Hwy, San Juan Capistrano, CA 92675-2702
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > San Juan Capistrano
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in San Juan Capistrano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BESTWESTERN Capistrano Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 108
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The BEST WESTERN Capistrano Inn- The Swallows Resting Place. Discover why the city of San Juan Capistrano is a must see travel destination when you stay at this property located just two blocks from historical Mission San Juan Capistrano®. With easy access to the 5 freeway and our Central location between Los Angeles and San Diego the BEST WESTERN Capistrano Inn makes it easy to enjoy the area's many attractions. We believe location matters a lot. Located just Four miles from beautiful Orange County beaches and near Top attractions such as Knott's Berry Farm®, Soak City® Water Park, Disneyland®, California Adventure® and SeaWorld® this property offers the location at an affordable rate. Mission San Juan Capistrano® various events bring guests to our hotel year-round. However, our hospitality, spacious cool rooms and Best Western amenities are what make guests feel at home. This hotel boasts the friendliest service in town, and we're committed to making you feel welcomed and comfortable. Business guests of the BEST WESTERN Capistrano Inn will also appreciate this hotel's close proximity to area businesses including Costco® Wholesale, Wal-Mart®, Quest Diagnostics®, Mission Viejo Hospital, The Shops at Mission Viejo® and many more. Book your BEST WESTERN Capistrano Inn room today! Enjoy your stay with us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Best Western so you can book your BESTWESTERN Capistrano Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Capistrano Hotel San Juan Capistrano
Best Western San Juan Capistrano
San Juan Capistrano Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing