We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value for money”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
BESTWESTERN Capistrano Inn
Los Gatos, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Good value for money”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2013

If you can, stay in the rooms close to the pool. The rooms on the exterior face the Highway and while it wasn't noisy - I think it could be at times. There is a lot of road construction around the hotel but it's doesn't affect your stay. The staff are friendly and helpful. The breakfast was good - no hot items - and was constantly replenished. The guy was run off his feet so not in a great mood but he did his job. the location is good, a short drive to the mission and the main street with all the restaurants, etc. if you wanted you could probably walk but it's a little challenging with all the road works right at the moment. Good value for money - Great for kids!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Sue H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

317 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    97
    112
    59
    25
    24
See reviews for
98
99
24
44
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ladera Ranch, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

If you need a reasonable, friendly location to stay while travelling to or from San Diego, I highly recommend BW Capistrano Inn. Conveniently located just off the 5 FWY, the surrounding area is gorgeous with horse ranch property and just an overall nostalgic ol' town feel. Upon check-in, we received a warm friendly welcome by Rob Grether, & equally welcome by staff coupled with a clean, [spouse approved] room, which made for a pleasantly surprising rest stop along the way. Minutes from downtown SJC,

I would also recommend the Hidden Coffee shop we discovered adjacent to the Amtrak station. Zoomars Petting Zoo is just next door too, a bonus for the kids & parents alike looking to keep travel low stress ~ Thank you Rob & staff, we'll be back again!

Room Tip: Just ask for Rob, he is the latest generation from his family to serve the community & who have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jbhendy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roseville, California
Level Contributor
55 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2013

Ideally located, right next to I-5, but be cautious of interchange construction right in front of the hotel. At cetain times of the day, it ca be impossible to make a left out of the property (towards I-5 and downtown) due to construction trafiic backup. That being said, it is a nice property, with all the amenities needed for a comfortable stay.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lukebabs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakeside, California, Usa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2013

Traffic is terrible right now due to road construction next door but it should be better soon. We didn't hear the noise while in our room. It is too bad that the town is on the other side of the freeway so the trip would have been walkable but when construction is finished, it may be. Hotel was comfortable and spacious.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Joy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert G, General Manager at BESTWESTERN Capistrano Inn, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
Thank you for spending time rewiewing your stay at The Best Western Capistrano Inn. We are located just three blocks from the historical mission and downtown shops and restaurants. We are confident guest will be pleased choosing to stay in the beautiful town of San Juan Capistrano. Our complimentary shuttle would love to escort guests around town. Located just 4 miles to the beach our low rates are amenities are unmatched.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surprise, Arizona, Usa
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2013

Screaming and whistling and knocking on room 402 thru out the night. The front office knew about the noise but did not called the police to stop this bad behavior. At 1:00 a.m. they still were screaming in the halls and whistling . Several customer compliant to the front desk but the noise continued. We will never stay at this B.W. again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank Susan Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert G, General Manager at BESTWESTERN Capistrano Inn, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
Thank you for reviewing your stay at The Best Western Capistrano Inn. We are disappointed a few loud guests ruined your stay with us. Hotel procedures will be reviewed to address this issue and to prevent such incidents from occurring in the future. I am disappointed we could not provide the service we strive for. Thank you for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WOODLAND HILLS
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2013

I've been here several times when I see shows at The Coach House. and plan on doing it again. It is walking distance from the train station, the mission, and the downtown section as well. The last time I went I found out that they provided shuttle service to and from The Coach House as well! They said it was a common occurrence for them.

Over the years, I have seen this place evolve from a simple cinderblock motel into a pleasant stay with a showing of commitment to updating itself and staying relevant. The lobby is bright and inviting and the staff is friendly and still gives the feeling of being in a small community. That's an accomplishment for a stay at a hotel chain.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank orinxpress
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
444 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 165 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2013

This was my first stay at this property and I would say I would definitely come back. I booked two rooms on Hotwire and paid $70 each for a Sunday night. I was going to Laguna Beach for the day but since the rooms were about double I decided a fifteen minute drive wouldn't be so bad. My party arrived in San Juan Capistrano around noon so we decided to call to see if we could possibly check in any earlier than the 3 pm check in. To our surprise, the front desk said both of our rooms were ready and it was no problem. We were delighted because we wanted to drop off our stuff before heading out to Laguna. Check in was a breeze and the front desk staff was very friendly. We went to our rooms but it turned out only one was really ready. We didn't make a fuss since we were technically early. We just dropped off everything in the done room and left. By the time we got back later, both rooms were in order and very clean. The beds were comfortable enough (the kids loved them), the flat screen was great, and the bathroom was nicely remodeled (the sink area). In the room I was in, the shower pressure was great. Our fridge did not work but since we had two rooms, we just used the one that worked.

As far as freeway traffic, I did not notice that problem one bit as reported by others. I was roughly closer to the front of the property (across from the swimming pool) but it was not an issue at all. My kids loved the fact that we were across from the pool and they used it as well as the jacuzzi. What I also liked about this place was the guest laundry. Since we had went to the beach, we could wash all the kid's beach towels and swimsuits therefore eliminating lugging home wet clothes. The wash/dry was $1.25 and they provided free soap. Not too bad I thought.

So I really only have two complaints about this place. One is that the ground level rooms are subject to the noise of footsteps above. This wasn't constant but at night there were several times when you could hear the person moving around on the floor above. I would recommend a top floor room to avoid this. Thankfully, the noises did not continue all night and we were able to get some rest. My second complaint would have to be about the continental breakfast. Of course we weren't expecting much but they had run out of several items including cream cheese for the bagels. Most of my party eats bagels so we wondered what would we do with just bagels and no cream cheese. Most kids opted for hard boiled eggs. Besides that, there was some yogurt, oatmeal, cereal, pancakes, and packaged danish. So again, we didn't expect too much from breakfast but it held us over til after our mission visit.

Overall, we enjoyed our stay even with the minor imperfections. It was a good value for the area and all that surrounded it.

Room Tip: Book a top floor room about mid property by pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carolinelomeli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert G, General Manager at BESTWESTERN Capistrano Inn, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
The Best Western Capistrano Inn encourages all guest feedback. The time reviewing your stay is appreciated. It helps inform us of how to better serve our next guest. Our goal will always be to improve and exceed our guest expectations. Your business is valued and your experience is motivating and encouraging to my staff and I.

Thank you,

Robert Grether
General Manager
Best Western Capistrano Inn
949-493-5661 Ext.450
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Juan Capistrano
2.3 mi away
Residence Inn Dana Point San Juan Capistrano
Residence Inn Dana Point San Jua...
#2 of 3 in San Juan Capistrano
4.0 of 5 bubbles 162 reviews
3.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Marina Shores Hotel
3.2 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Oceanview
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Doheny Beach - Dana Point
5.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express San Clemente North
3.6 mi away
Dana Point Marina Inn
Dana Point Marina Inn
#8 of 12 in Dana Point
3.5 of 5 bubbles 319 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BESTWESTERN Capistrano Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BESTWESTERN Capistrano Inn

Property: BESTWESTERN Capistrano Inn
Address: 27174 Ortega Hwy, San Juan Capistrano, CA 92675-2702
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > San Juan Capistrano
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in San Juan Capistrano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BESTWESTERN Capistrano Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 108
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The BEST WESTERN Capistrano Inn- The Swallows Resting Place. Discover why the city of San Juan Capistrano is a must see travel destination when you stay at this property located just two blocks from historical Mission San Juan Capistrano®. With easy access to the 5 freeway and our Central location between Los Angeles and San Diego the BEST WESTERN Capistrano Inn makes it easy to enjoy the area's many attractions. We believe location matters a lot. Located just Four miles from beautiful Orange County beaches and near Top attractions such as Knott's Berry Farm®, Soak City® Water Park, Disneyland®, California Adventure® and SeaWorld® this property offers the location at an affordable rate. Mission San Juan Capistrano® various events bring guests to our hotel year-round. However, our hospitality, spacious cool rooms and Best Western amenities are what make guests feel at home. This hotel boasts the friendliest service in town, and we're committed to making you feel welcomed and comfortable. Business guests of the BEST WESTERN Capistrano Inn will also appreciate this hotel's close proximity to area businesses including Costco® Wholesale, Wal-Mart®, Quest Diagnostics®, Mission Viejo Hospital, The Shops at Mission Viejo® and many more. Book your BEST WESTERN Capistrano Inn room today! Enjoy your stay with us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, Best Western, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your BESTWESTERN Capistrano Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Capistrano Hotel San Juan Capistrano
Best Western San Juan Capistrano
San Juan Capistrano Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing