We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“O.K. hotel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Capistrano Inn

BEST WESTERN Capistrano Inn
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Capistrano Inn
Colorado
Level Contributor
23 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“O.K. hotel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Big rooms, clean hotel, easy free parking. A bit of a long walk to the downtown shops and, restaurants, you may want to drive down and park. It's the only hotel in the immediate area so it has to do. Would recommend it for a night or two if you are going to see the mission and historic downtown area or are in town for business, otherwise the nearby beach city hotels are better located for walking to amenities..

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RoadtripperColorado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

268 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    75
    90
    56
    23
    24
See reviews for
76
83
20
41
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013 via mobile

Attended a concert at The Coach House and stayed here. Informed them that I was going to have a little before & after party with sime friends and my room was located in the back with a balcony and a nice view of the western hillside. Perfect. I will stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank George A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
29 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

I have stayed at this motel several times and love it because:

1. I have almost always been able to get a room for $40-60 per night by bidding on Priceline.
2. I come to the area to hike or bike in the Cleveland National Forest and to go to the beaches, and there is NO place better located for these activities.
3. I often come with my dog, which only costs me $20. Plus, I find the place to be very dog friendly and especially like the fact that there is a hose by the pool that I am always allowed to use to wash the dog off if she has been at the beach.

As for the usuals, who would complain about any free breakfast when they're paying as little as $40 a night? The service has always been good. The rooms are what you would expect from a Best Western. The upper level rooms have balconies and no noticeable parking lot noise. Highway and street noise are minimal or non-existent depending on your room. And, as for cleanliness, when you've got an 85 pound dog, you can't be meticulous, which is not to say the rooms aren't clean, just that I'm not the guy to ask about this.

Room Tip: Upstairs rooms don't have any parking lot noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank michjas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester
Level Contributor
31 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

Stayed here in November 2012 for a night after getting off a flight from London Heathrow. The room was what I expected, and had good wifi. Would recommend this hotel for a base and the breakfast was ok.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank barnabyb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Juan Capistrano
2.3 mi away
Residence Inn Dana Point San Juan Capistrano
Residence Inn Dana Point San Jua...
#2 of 3 in San Juan Capistrano
4.0 of 5 stars 134 reviews
3.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Marina Shores Hotel
3.0 mi away
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Doheny Beach - Dana Point
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Oceanview
5.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express San Clemente North
3.6 mi away
Dana Point Marina Inn
Dana Point Marina Inn
#8 of 13 in Dana Point
3.5 of 5 stars 292 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Capistrano Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Capistrano Inn

Property: BEST WESTERN Capistrano Inn
Address: 27174 Ortega Highway, San Juan Capistrano, CA 92675
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > San Juan Capistrano
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in San Juan Capistrano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — BEST WESTERN Capistrano Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 108
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We would like to welcome you to the beautiful and historical city of San Juan Capistrano. We appreciate the opportunity to meet all your lodging needs and we sincerely hope your stay with us is pleasant. For your convenience, assistance is available 24 hours a day at our front desk. We are located just three blocks from the historical mission and town center. With many surrounding shops and restaurants and four short miles from the coast and beautiful Capistrano beaches we are confident you will be please choosing to stay in the beautiful city of San Juan Capistrano. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Best Western + Iniative, Priceline, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your BEST WESTERN Capistrano Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Capistrano Hotel San Juan Capistrano
Best Western San Juan Capistrano
San Juan Capistrano Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing