We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not the most pleasant staff.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Capistrano Inn

BEST WESTERN Capistrano Inn
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Capistrano Inn
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   27174 Ortega Hwy, San Juan Capistrano, CA 92675-2702   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
GET A $50 GIFT CARD
Santa Cruz, California
Level Contributor
248 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 279 helpful votes
“Not the most pleasant staff.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

Easy to find right off the highway. Parking is pretty tight. They're tucked in behind a busy gas station and right next to a Denny's. my room was on the south facing area and as I approached my room, there was a pungent oder of sewage. The room was nice with all the niceties. Nice tv with working remote. After getting some food at Denny's I decided to try out the jacuzzi, which was very nice ( so was the pool).
I had a good nights sleep.
I was up at 6:30 am needing to get going, but wickedly disappointed to be told they had NO COFFEE till 7am. Grudgingly, I waited (gotta have my morning coffee). The guy in the office for my check out was not hiding the fact that he couldn't have cared less.

I probably wouldn't stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Danny_OI812
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert G, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Capistrano Inn, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
We appreciate you saying something about your stay and experience at our hotel. I want to apologize for the lack of care you’re received during your check out. I am not pleased and I am highly disappointed about the absence of our sympathy regarding the coffee. We will continue to focus on improving guest service and we will take your comments to heart to better serve our next guest.

Thank you,


Robert Grether
General Manager
Best Western Capistrano Inn
949-493-5661
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

272 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    76
    93
    56
    23
    24
See reviews for
78
84
20
42
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newhall, California, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

First we saw ants in the bathroom, there was a couple so we ignored it and said, no big deal in the bathroom. We went out to music festival that we planned on going to and reason we stayed overnight, even though we were only about an hour and a half away from home was so we can make a weekend trip out of it. So we went back to hotel after the festival, we were tired wanted to get some sleep. We got into bed and then saw ants in our bed, that was gross!!! We were disgusted because we thought if there are ants in the bed what other type of bugs may it have. We called front desk and they did offer another room, but we were so grossed out that we said no way we would rather drive home and end our trip. Which was a bummer and ruined our weekend trip. It was nice of the hotel to offer another room, but we doubted the cleanliness of the hotel. Hotel did refund our money, but they seriously need to get an exterminator in there. Yuck!

Room Tip: Inspect the room before you actually stay there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Janet B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert G, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Capistrano Inn, responded to this review, October 2, 2012
I want to start my thanking you for taking the time out of your day to comment of your stay. We appreciate all guest feedback as it allows us to focus on improvement and get a better idea of guest expectations. Please accept our sincere apologizes for the ants that got into your room. We are disappointed we did not provide the accommodations and overall experience we strive for. We will take all guest feedback and use it for preventive purposes, ensuring issues like this from being repeated.

Robert Grether
General Manager
Best Western Capistrano Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these San Juan Capistrano hotels

Woodland Hills, CA
Level Contributor
36 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

I can honestly say that I am disappointed with my experience at this hotel. We often go to Best Westerns for the cleanliness and especially the full breakfast in the morning. Well this stay had none of that. Well, guess we are off to get some real breakfast. Oh, the parking lot smells like raw sewage, and there is a half-way house in the next lot. Beware!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Oceanlover716
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert G, Owner at BEST WESTERN Capistrano Inn, responded to this review, September 11, 2012
We value your business and feedback at the Best Western Capistrano Inn. Our sincere apologizes for not meeting your expectations. The Best Western Capistrano Inn appreciates your time spent reviewing your stay. We are disappointed we could not provide a wonderful experience for you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bay Area CA
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

Stayed here on a brief overnight visit for a wedding. Very easy to find off the freeway. Our room was in the far corner of the property which meant it was very quiet. The bed was comfortable, shower was good, room pretty spacious. Breakfast was the usual Best Western unhealthy mix of sugary, fatty processed foods. And really, in California, in July, there are probably better fresh fruit choices than tired apples and bananas (which were gone by the time we got to breakfast). But we weren't there for the food. All in all, it was the least expensive of hotel choices for the event and it was just fine.

Room Tip: We were in room 406, in the far corner. Very quiet.
See more room tips
Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Luciedog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert G, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Capistrano Inn, responded to this review, October 17, 2012
Thank you for taking your valuable time to review your stay at the Best Western Capistrano Inn. We highly value and appreciate your business. We will continue to use guest feedback to improve and provide the best experience possible for our guests. Feedback is shared with ownership, managements and all staff. Preventive steps will be taken when necessary and it is our goal to exceed all of our guest expectations.


Sincerely,

Robert Grether
General Manager
Best Western Capistrano Inn
949-493-5661
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmel, California
Level Contributor
116 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2012

Stayed for 1 night with a car trailer.
Front desk staff were so nice that they let me park my truck and car trailer right outside of reception under the canopy.
Nice swimming pool and jacuzzi and clean basic rooms.
Great location near freeway and downtown Capistrano

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Indyboy_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2012

I normally love best westerns but this one is far from the best! Prepaid & reserved room on 1st floor 2 months in advance & then called right before to confirm they had first floor and was told they did no problem! Well when we got there they had the note on the reservation but no rooms left on ground floor! So we had to practically carry handicapped mother up to 2nd floor! Bed was like a slab of concreate! Breakfast in the morning was total crap! Frozen eggos instead of fresh made waffles only hard boiled eggs & a couple of other yucky things! Then we had to repack everything and move down stairs for the next day better beds but still angry about all the hassle! Manager won't be in untill Monday to complain to so don't know of they will do anything to make up for all the trouble? Disappointed for sure!!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Travellovergurl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert G, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Capistrano Inn, responded to this review, July 17, 2012
Thank you for your feedback about your stay. Feedback will always be used for positive purposes. We are all disappointed to hear about your experience. We are taking the necessary steps to ensure theses problems do not occur again. Our services and amenities offered at the Best Western Capistrano Inn are a step above hotels with similar rates and location. Again, we apologize for your inconvenience and appreciate your business.

Sincerely,

Robert Grether
General Manager
Best Western Capistrano Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
91 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2012

Given that there are only 2 hotels in San Juan Capistrano, and this one is rated higher than the other, don't you really want to go elsewhere?

This is an acceptable hotel for a stay. It's clearly an older building, with the typical front outside entrances, front windows, and air conditioners hanging in the fronts as well. The hotel has been trimmed up and painted extra-nicely, so it is attractive in appearance.

The front desk was cordial but not overly friendly. The room was clean and clearly in good repair, with flat-screen TV on the wall and fresh tile in the bathroom. The lighting was an odd combination of incandescent (!) lights in some fixtures and the newest technology LED can lights above the beds.

The beds were quite hard but reasonably comfortable if this mattress style works for you. The pillows were decent. The comforter was very thin.

There is free wireless internet, which went from good performance to very spotty depending upon the time of night.

The air conditioner ran noisily all night. Since it was in the front of the room, it sucked in air from the front area. There are trash cans/ashtrays every few rooms outside in the front so that smokers can smoke outside their rooms, and so when in your room you get occasional whiffs of smoke on a repeated basis. Somehow this hotel needs to move those ashtrays to some designated area not in front of the rooms.

The breakfast was free but fairly minimal as hotel breakfasts go. One day when I had to leave extra early for work at 6:30 am, I found that breakfast did not start until 7am.

There is no fitness center.

This hotel is ok, not horrible but nothing special. You could do better if you go to other nearby areas.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SoCa1l26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Juan Capistrano
2.3 mi away
Residence Inn Dana Point San Juan Capistrano
Residence Inn Dana Point San Jua...
#1 of 3 in San Juan Capistrano
4.0 of 5 stars 135 reviews
3.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Marina Shores Hotel
3.0 mi away
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Doheny Beach - Dana Point
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Oceanview
5.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express San Clemente North
3.6 mi away
Dana Point Marina Inn
Dana Point Marina Inn
#8 of 13 in Dana Point
3.5 of 5 stars 293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Capistrano Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Capistrano Inn

Property: BEST WESTERN Capistrano Inn
Address: 27174 Ortega Hwy, San Juan Capistrano, CA 92675-2702
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > San Juan Capistrano
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in San Juan Capistrano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — BEST WESTERN Capistrano Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 108
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We would like to welcome you to the beautiful and historical city of San Juan Capistrano. We appreciate the opportunity to meet all your lodging needs and we sincerely hope your stay with us is pleasant. For your convenience, assistance is available 24 hours a day at our front desk. We are located just three blocks from the historical mission and town center. With many surrounding shops and restaurants and four short miles from the coast and beautiful Capistrano beaches we are confident you will be please choosing to stay in the beautiful city of San Juan Capistrano. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Priceline, Best Western + Iniative and Travelocity so you can book your BEST WESTERN Capistrano Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Capistrano Hotel San Juan Capistrano
Best Western San Juan Capistrano
San Juan Capistrano Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing