We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“"Overpriced and substandard"” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of BESTWESTERN Capistrano Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
BESTWESTERN Capistrano Inn
san pedro,ca
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“"Overpriced and substandard"”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2011

My wife and I stayed here to attend a concert at the Coachhouse. The toilet barely flushed and the shower tub drain would back up after a short shower. The balcony sliding glass door curtain was tattered as was the shower curtain. $130.00 for these poor conditions was excessive! I would describe the place as a glorified Motel 6!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gant k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert G, General Manager at BESTWESTERN Capistrano Inn, responded to this review, November 10, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to review your visit to our establishment. We are under new management as of November 2011. We appreciate hearing your thoughts and your suggestions. With respect to any inconvenience you may have encountered our sincere apologizes. This will assist us when evaluating our guest’s needs and expectations. I hope you will come back and give us another chance to provide you with outstanding service in the future.

Sincerely,

Robert Grether
General Manager
949-493-5661 Ext.450
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

311 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    93
    110
    59
    25
    24
See reviews for
94
97
24
44
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
93 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2011

I recently stayed here for a friends wedding. Normally check in at most hotels is at 3pm, but they let me in at Noon. That was nice.

The room was clean and had basic amenities. It was near the freeway which is convenient, but I didn't hear any road noise. It was quiet. Overall a decent place to stay if you're trying to save a buck.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank garek007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cincinnati OH
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2011

I stayed while attending a family wedding. some of the rooms were quite nice. Not the one I had - it was shabby, needed a good cleaning and updating

Room Tip: we asked for connecting rooms but they gave us a key to a room that was occupied (and we saw more th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank leslie22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert G, General Manager at BESTWESTERN Capistrano Inn, responded to this review, November 10, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at the Best Western Capistrano Inn. I am disappointed we failed to give you the fine accommodations and consideration we strive for with all our guests – the type of service in which we pride ourselves. Please know that your comments have been reviewed in detail and steps are being taken to ensure these types of issues are handled on a preventive basis. We are currently under new management as of November 2011. We sincerely apologize for any inconvenience you may have encountered. We appreciate your patronage and hope you will stay with us the next time you are in town. I can assure we will do everything we can to make your stay a comfortable and happy one.

Sincerely,

Robert Grether
General Manager
949-493-5661 Ext.450
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these San Juan Capistrano hotels

Traverse City, Michigan
Level Contributor
327 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 163 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2011

There's nothing extraordinary about the BW-SJC. The rooms are passable, a tad dark, with the plus of having small balconies on the rooms as well. However, be advised that the hotel is near the highway, so the road noise may want you to keep your balcony door closed at night.

The grounds are nondescript--a pool and hot tub dominate the central area, surrounded by parking spaces--of which there were too few the Labor Day weekend we spent there. In front there is an empty lot, the remants, perhaps, of a building in front of it which no longer stands. Hardly scenic.

The rooms are generally quiet and dark. Even with the a/c running, we had no problems sleeping.

The staff was, at best, cordial but also inconsistent. Told that they were open 24 hours, we stopped by one night around 9PM to ask about taking the train (which runs nearby) for the next day's activities. The lobby was closed and locked, with a "no vacancy" sign posted on the door. I tried ringing the doorbell, but no one answered. I called the front desk before the morning I was checking out-, as I had an early morning flight the next day and would be wanting my receipt around 4AM. Again, I was told the office was staffed 24 hours. When I pointed out that earlier experience, the person said, "well, we *usually* are open 24 hours." Ahem. That morning, the lobby again was locked, but someone was sleeping (!) on the couch near the front desk. When I awoke him, he said to just leave the key in the room. I informed him I had not yet received a receipt and he obliged by unlocking the door and printing my receipt--which was wrong. Ugh!

A few other things...it was disturbing to see an occasional ant crawling across the room. Additionally, they do not serve a continental breakfast, so if you were assuming that to be the case, be forewarned. They do, however, offer a complimentary shuttle service (which, again, allegedly runs 24 hours) to nearby locations within SJC.

Room Tip: Get a second floor room so your balcony is above the grounds, not right on it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MongoSchwartz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert G, General Manager at BESTWESTERN Capistrano Inn, responded to this review, December 9, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at the Best Western Capistrano Inn. I am disappointed we failed to give you the fine accommodations and consideration we strive for with all our guests – the type of service in which we pride ourselves. Please know that your comments have been reviewed in detail and steps are being taken to ensure these types of issues are handled on a preventive basis. We are currently under new management as of November 2011. We sincerely apologize for any inconvenience you may have encountered. We appreciate your patronage and hope you will stay with us the next time you are in town. I can assure we will do everything we can to make your stay a comfortable and happy one.

Sincerely,

Robert Grether
General Manager
949-493-5661
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stein, netherlands
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2011

We had a nice room with a kitchen and sittingarea.
We even had a balcony were you can bq. Rooms are clean. The pool is small but with a jaccuzi. Old town is a short walk away. There are some fine restaurants there.
The beach is a few miles.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank laanvdj11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
colorado
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2011

Actual date was August 2010. Made arrangements month plus ahead. Contacted them day before arriving and all good. Arrived near midnight and found they didn't have our reservations. Wife came back to car notibly upset after dealing with young arrogant clerk as she tried to work out issue. His comments to wife were "hell, go ahead and stay somewhere else!". Very rude and arrogant for their reservation mistake. I went in and got resolved for the night. I met with the hotel manager, Rito Armenta, CHA, and realised why his staff was rude and arrogant as they apparantly follow his lack of professionalism. We ultimately got two rooms but on different floors. Rooms basically worn and below average plus had to move again as the fridge went out in the first room. Not the type of memorable stay we hoped for. I would not recommend this hotel. Staff is poor, management is poor with excuse after excuse. Best Western should look into tghis locations practices as they do not represent BW well at all.

Room Tip: Verify your reservations constantly. Stay here only as last resort.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank w s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert G, Manager at BESTWESTERN Capistrano Inn, responded to this review, February 20, 2012
Thank you for taking the time out of your day to review your stay at our hotel. All reviews are shared with staff and management in order to get a better understanding of customer service and guest expectations. We are under new management as of November 2011. Rito Armenta is no longer working at our property. We sincerely apologize for the service you received and the inconvenience you experienced. I am greatly disappointed to hear about your stay. We will take the necessary steps to ensure theses types of issues are dealt with on a preventive basis. Thank you again for your feedback and time.

Sincerely,

Rob Grether
General Manager
Bestr Western Capistrano Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PASADENA, CALIFORNIA
Level Contributor
53 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2011

Comfortable & clean room. Great staff. Free shuttle drove us into town & picked us up when we were ready. Pool & hot tub open 24 hrs. Beer, wine & bottled water can be bought cheap in lobby. The bed was little firm for my wife's taste, but it was just right for me.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TRAVELADIX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Juan Capistrano
2.3 mi away
Residence Inn Dana Point San Juan Capistrano
Residence Inn Dana Point San Jua...
#2 of 3 in San Juan Capistrano
4.0 of 5 bubbles 159 reviews
3.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Marina Shores Hotel
3.2 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Oceanview
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Doheny Beach - Dana Point
5.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express San Clemente North
3.6 mi away
Dana Point Marina Inn
Dana Point Marina Inn
#8 of 12 in Dana Point
3.5 of 5 bubbles 316 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BESTWESTERN Capistrano Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BESTWESTERN Capistrano Inn

Property: BESTWESTERN Capistrano Inn
Address: 27174 Ortega Hwy, San Juan Capistrano, CA 92675-2702
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > San Juan Capistrano
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in San Juan Capistrano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BESTWESTERN Capistrano Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 108
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The BEST WESTERN Capistrano Inn- The Swallows Resting Place. Discover why the city of San Juan Capistrano is a must see travel destination when you stay at this property located just two blocks from historical Mission San Juan Capistrano®. With easy access to the 5 freeway and our Central location between Los Angeles and San Diego the BEST WESTERN Capistrano Inn makes it easy to enjoy the area's many attractions. We believe location matters a lot. Located just Four miles from beautiful Orange County beaches and near Top attractions such as Knott's Berry Farm®, Soak City® Water Park, Disneyland®, California Adventure® and SeaWorld® this property offers the location at an affordable rate. Mission San Juan Capistrano® various events bring guests to our hotel year-round. However, our hospitality, spacious cool rooms and Best Western amenities are what make guests feel at home. This hotel boasts the friendliest service in town, and we're committed to making you feel welcomed and comfortable. Business guests of the BEST WESTERN Capistrano Inn will also appreciate this hotel's close proximity to area businesses including Costco® Wholesale, Wal-Mart®, Quest Diagnostics®, Mission Viejo Hospital, The Shops at Mission Viejo® and many more. Book your BEST WESTERN Capistrano Inn room today! Enjoy your stay with us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Best Western so you can book your BESTWESTERN Capistrano Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Capistrano Hotel San Juan Capistrano
Best Western San Juan Capistrano
San Juan Capistrano Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing