We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Big rooms, close to old town”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Best Western Capistrano Inn
stein, netherlands
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Big rooms, close to old town”
Reviewed August 25, 2011

We had a nice room with a kitchen and sittingarea.
We even had a balcony were you can bq. Rooms are clean. The pool is small but with a jaccuzi. Old town is a short walk away. There are some fine restaurants there.
The beach is a few miles.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank laanvdj11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

344 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    108
    122
    62
    28
    24
See reviews for
106
111
24
48
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
colorado
1 review
Reviewed August 15, 2011

Actual date was August 2010. Made arrangements month plus ahead. Contacted them day before arriving and all good. Arrived near midnight and found they didn't have our reservations. Wife came back to car notibly upset after dealing with young arrogant clerk as she tried to work out issue. His comments to wife were "hell, go ahead and stay somewhere else!". Very rude and arrogant for their reservation mistake. I went in and got resolved for the night. I met with the hotel manager, Rito Armenta, CHA, and realised why his staff was rude and arrogant as they apparantly follow his lack of professionalism. We ultimately got two rooms but on different floors. Rooms basically worn and below average plus had to move again as the fridge went out in the first room. Not the type of memorable stay we hoped for. I would not recommend this hotel. Staff is poor, management is poor with excuse after excuse. Best Western should look into tghis locations practices as they do not represent BW well at all.

Room Tip: Verify your reservations constantly. Stay here only as last resort.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank w s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert G, Manager at Best Western Capistrano Inn, responded to this review, February 20, 2012
Thank you for taking the time out of your day to review your stay at our hotel. All reviews are shared with staff and management in order to get a better understanding of customer service and guest expectations. We are under new management as of November 2011. Rito Armenta is no longer working at our property. We sincerely apologize for the service you received and the inconvenience you experienced. I am greatly disappointed to hear about your stay. We will take the necessary steps to ensure theses types of issues are dealt with on a preventive basis. Thank you again for your feedback and time.

Sincerely,

Rob Grether
General Manager
Bestr Western Capistrano Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PASADENA, CALIFORNIA
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2011

Comfortable & clean room. Great staff. Free shuttle drove us into town & picked us up when we were ready. Pool & hot tub open 24 hrs. Beer, wine & bottled water can be bought cheap in lobby. The bed was little firm for my wife's taste, but it was just right for me.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TRAVELADIX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rancho Palos Verdes, California
1 review
Reviewed July 26, 2011

Very disappointed in this Best Western. Overall I have had a good experience with Best Western hotels, but this one is the bottom of the barrel. We were told one thing on the checkout policy when we made the reservation and something different when we arrived. Management was non-responsive when trying to resolve the discrepancy. They simply did not care. We make an annual trip to this area for a softball tournament and I will never stay in this hotel again.

Room Tip: Stay in a different hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fadoodoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert G, General Manager at Best Western Capistrano Inn, responded to this review, November 10, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to review your visit to our establishment. We are currently under new management as of November 2011. We appreciate hearing your thoughts and your suggestions. We sincerely apologize for any inconvenience you may have encountered. Your feedback will assist us when evaluating our guest’s needs and expectations. I hope you will come back and give us another chance to provide you with outstanding service in the future.


Sincerely,

Robert Grether
General Manager
949-493-5661 Ext.450
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rancho Palos Verdes
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 28, 2011

Management did not follow through on staff's commitment. Very disappointed in their response to an issue we had. Also, loud teenagers running around late into the night (as in 2-3 AM).

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ebulldog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert G, General Manager at Best Western Capistrano Inn, responded to this review, November 10, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at the Best Western Capistrano Inn. I am disappointed we failed to give you the fine accommodations and consideration we strive for with all our guests – the type of service in which we pride ourselves. Please know that your comments have been reviewed in detail and steps are being taken to ensure these types of issues are handled on a preventive basis. We are currently under new management as of November 2011. Please accept our sincerely apologize for any inconvenience you may have encountered. We appreciate your patronage and hope you will stay with us the next time you are in town. I can assure we will do everything we can to make your stay a comfortable and happy one.

Sincerely,

Robert Grether
General Manager
949-493-5661 Ext.450
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denton, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2011

My husband and I recently stayed here for a friends wedding. A majority of the wedding party all stayed here. Our room was on the second floor, 205. It was not updated and the beds were the hardest beds we've ever slept on in our entire lives. The only way my husband and I were able to sleep was after having many alcoholic beverages. The bed comforter had a cigarette burnt hole in it and was very outdated. Upon arrival, I immediately inspected the bed for bedbugs after reading a recent report on bedbugregistry.org from March. The good news was NO BEDBUGS, I was happy, but the mattress pad on the bed had not been washed in who knows how long, it was very gross. I called the front desk and they did immediately sent the head housekeeper up to change it for us. That was very helpful. Our friends who had rooms on the first floor were quite nice, updated bedding, new beds, flat screen TVs. If you are going to stay here, make sure to get an updated room. Everyone that stayed with an updated room enjoyed there stay, all of us with outdated rooms were very disappointed. The pool and hot tub are small, but they are adequate. The best part about staying here is there is a free shuttle around town. That was very helpful for everyone attending the wedding activities. The front desk employees were nice. Overall, my husband and I would never stay here again, unless guaranteed an updated room.

Room Tip: Stay on the first floor, it is updated.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Erin12368
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henderson, Nevada
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2011

Very pleasant staff; nice large room was clean and comfy. My husband was happy about the nice flat screen TV and proximity to the golf course. We would definitely stay there again.

This is a pet-friendly hotel, which was one reason we chose it. The $25 one-time (not per night/pet) fee was a bargain compared to many hotels. I was glad to note that there were no pet odors or stains from previous pet visitors.

The only cons: The constant traffic noise from the nearby freeway detracted from enjoyment of the balcony. (Not a problem in the room with door closed.) Sometimes, it was difficult exiting the property onto a busy street near freeway ramps.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wishin2travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Juan Capistrano
3.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Marina Shores Hotel
2.3 mi away
Residence Inn Dana Point San Juan Capistrano
Residence Inn Dana Point San Jua...
#2 of 3 in San Juan Capistrano
172 reviews
3.0 mi away
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Doheny Beach - Dana Point
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Oceanview
3.6 mi away
Dana Point Marina Inn
Dana Point Marina Inn
#8 of 12 in Dana Point
334 reviews
5.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Casablanca Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Capistrano Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Capistrano Inn

Property: Best Western Capistrano Inn
Address: 27174 Ortega Hwy, San Juan Capistrano, CA 92675-2702
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > San Juan Capistrano
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in San Juan Capistrano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Capistrano Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 108
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The BEST WESTERN Capistrano Inn- The Swallows Resting Place. Discover why the city of San Juan Capistrano is a must see travel destination when you stay at this property located just two blocks from historical Mission San Juan Capistrano®. With easy access to the 5 freeway and our Central location between Los Angeles and San Diego the BEST WESTERN Capistrano Inn makes it easy to enjoy the area's many attractions. We believe location matters a lot. Located just Four miles from beautiful Orange County beaches and near Top attractions such as Knott's Berry Farm®, Soak City® Water Park, Disneyland®, California Adventure® and SeaWorld® this property offers the location at an affordable rate. Mission San Juan Capistrano® various events bring guests to our hotel year-round. However, our hospitality, spacious cool rooms and Best Western amenities are what make guests feel at home. This hotel boasts the friendliest service in town, and we're committed to making you feel welcomed and comfortable. Business guests of the BEST WESTERN Capistrano Inn will also appreciate this hotel's close proximity to area businesses including Costco® Wholesale, Wal-Mart®, Quest Diagnostics®, Mission Viejo Hospital, The Shops at Mission Viejo® and many more. Book your BEST WESTERN Capistrano Inn room today! Enjoy your stay with us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Best Western, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Capistrano Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Capistrano Hotel San Juan Capistrano
Best Western San Juan Capistrano
San Juan Capistrano Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing