We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“A Good Place for Lunch” 3 of 5 stars
Review of L'Hirondelle Restaurant

L'Hirondelle Restaurant
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $32
Cuisines: French, Belgian, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
195 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“A Good Place for Lunch”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

During our recent visit to San Diego we decided to drive up the coast and visit San Juan Capistrano. We found this restaurant across the street from the Mission so you could not ask for a better location. We found the service was just OK. I enjoyed my picnic plate as it provided a nice variety of food. As mentioned in other posts the Pate' was excellent.
We were a little disappointed that a "French" restaurant would have such a small, weak, list of French wines by the glass (or even by the bottle).

  • Visited July 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Sherpa2286
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    99
    23
    8
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
51 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great little french place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014 via mobile

This place is perfect for a quiet night out with a loved one or an intimate dinner with close friends.. no frills... just good food.

Helpful?
Thank Pioneerandexplore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laguna Niguel, California
Level Contributor
40 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Superb Food/Substandard Service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

We dined here with friends (2 couples) on a Tuesday night last week. There were no customers inside and a few diners with tables on the patio which is where we chose to sit. Soon other parties began arriving for outdoor seating. Service for our table was very slow from receiving water to taking our wine order to our meal order. Those coming in after us received prompt/efficient service with wine and dinner served long before us. The worst part was when the server came to inform me they were out of the lamb curry, one of the specials for the evening which I had ordered, long after our order had been taken, and we had already eaten our salads/soup. At that point, it was time the meals should have been served, but it added another 30 minutes on to the wait time as I had to select another entree. On the positive side, the food was excellent. I had the chicken breast with cheese and mushroom sauce, one had sweetbreads, and 2 had petite fillets--certainly no complaints on the food! Salads were good as well as the split pea soup. For a well-established restaurant/high caliber, there should be no excuse for bad service.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Linda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solana Beach, California
Level Contributor
42 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Outstanding French/Belgium bistro”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

This little place in San Jujan Capistrano is a real find for those who like country French at very reasonable prices. Their pate, roast duck (with a choice of several sauces), escargot and lamb chops were absoultely first rate. The duck served with a crisp skin and minimal fat. There is enough pate to take home with you. Sertvice is great as well. This is a very enjoyable restaurant and a great value.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank southerncal10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Juan Capistrano, California
Level Contributor
62 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“French Food and Ambiance”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

This is a lovely place to take your family, most particularly your mom. The décor is Provencal with a small town French feel.

Ali is a wonderful host and his staff take care of your every need.

High end French selections at a reasonable price.

Book early for special events!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank RaisingTheBoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed L'Hirondelle Restaurant also viewed

San Juan Capistrano, Orange County
San Juan Capistrano, Orange County
 
San Juan Capistrano, Orange County
San Juan Capistrano, Orange County
 

Been to L'Hirondelle Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing