We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! You come to us for reviews — now you can book your hotel right here on TripAdvisor.

“Best Pate ever!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of L'Hirondelle Restaurant

L'Hirondelle Restaurant
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $32
Cuisines: French, Belgian, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Torrance, California
Level Contributor
65 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Best Pate ever!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2014

Four of us ate here before concert in the Basilica San Juan Capistrano. I have trouble identifying any of the entrees as either French or Belgium in origin although they were nice. We had lamb chops, standing rib pork chops, Jon Dory special and all were nicely prepared and quite delicious. The fresh vegetables were perfect. The most outstanding part of the meal was the appetizer of pate and a selection of absolutely wonderful cheeses, perfectly sized for four of us. Although I would gladly return with my spouse and have just this with a wonderful glass of wine. Service was amazing considering how busy they were. Drinks were replenished and we waited for nothing. It was a wonderful meal and we would return. The wine selection was very good, but we brought our own and corkage was 15$ per bottle. Seating is rather crowded together, but the atmosphere was very European.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank jsg33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    98
    22
    8
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
ca
Level Contributor
73 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“On a scale of One to Ten, L'Hirondelle is a 12”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2014

Ali and his team never fail to provide excellent cuisine and service, Whether we are eating on the patio over looking the Mission or indoors in the cozy environment, we are always made to feel as special guests. Ali and his wife, Lisa, bought this restaurant from the former owners and have taken it to a higher level of excellence.
The set menu is excellent and the two daily specials are always interesting and great. In our opinion, this is the best restaurant in town. We are locals and eat here several times per year.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank fleish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florence, Italy
Level Contributor
172 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

We have been to this lovely Belgian restaurant many times over the years. The owner is a gracious host and their kobe burgers are the best!

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank bengal-tiger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Clemente, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A Hidden Gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2014

We have been visiting L'Hirondelle for over twenty years and never had less than a perfect meal. The prices are reasonable, the food is excellent, the people are terrific, and the outdoor seating is really special. We also hold family occasions there, e.g., birthdays, holidays, etc. For everyone of the "What sort of visit was this?" questions that comes next in the review, the answer is a resounding YES! We have taken friends from around the world to L'Hirondelle and everybody loves it.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank James T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
141 reviews
133 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Just Wonderful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2014

The chicken, fish and hamburgers are delicious, as are the fries, mashed potatoes and vegetables. Gorgeous outdoor dining. Everything we had hoped it would be!

  • Visited January 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank truetexangurl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed L'Hirondelle Restaurant also viewed

San Juan Capistrano, Orange County
San Juan Capistrano, Orange County
 
San Juan Capistrano, Orange County
 
San Juan Capistrano, Orange County
San Juan Capistrano, Orange County
 

Been to L'Hirondelle Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing