We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“On a scale of One to Ten, L'Hirondelle is a 12”

L'Hirondelle Restaurant
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $32
Cuisines: French, European, Belgian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Romantic, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
ca
Level Contributor
77 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“On a scale of One to Ten, L'Hirondelle is a 12”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2014

Ali and his team never fail to provide excellent cuisine and service, Whether we are eating on the patio over looking the Mission or indoors in the cozy environment, we are always made to feel as special guests. Ali and his wife, Lisa, bought this restaurant from the former owners and have taken it to a higher level of excellence.
The set menu is excellent and the two daily specials are always interesting and great. In our opinion, this is the best restaurant in town. We are locals and eat here several times per year.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank fleish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    107
    24
    8
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Florence, Italy
Level Contributor
176 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2014

We have been to this lovely Belgian restaurant many times over the years. The owner is a gracious host and their kobe burgers are the best!

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank bengal-tiger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Clemente, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A Hidden Gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2014

We have been visiting L'Hirondelle for over twenty years and never had less than a perfect meal. The prices are reasonable, the food is excellent, the people are terrific, and the outdoor seating is really special. We also hold family occasions there, e.g., birthdays, holidays, etc. For everyone of the "What sort of visit was this?" questions that comes next in the review, the answer is a resounding YES! We have taken friends from around the world to L'Hirondelle and everybody loves it.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank James T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
169 reviews
157 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Just Wonderful”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2014

The chicken, fish and hamburgers are delicious, as are the fries, mashed potatoes and vegetables. Gorgeous outdoor dining. Everything we had hoped it would be!

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank truetexangurl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Clemente, CA, USA
Level Contributor
44 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“High Hopes but Little Satisfaction”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2014

I am hopeful every time I go to L'Hirondelle. Every time I am disappointed. The menu is varied, but the execution of the dishes and the service leaves a lot to be desired. OK for a quick bite after a game or movie, but I've given up on having some kind of authentic European meal. For superb French cuisine, I invariably go to Marché Moderne in Costa Mesa.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Pamela_PJ_Adams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed L'Hirondelle Restaurant also viewed

San Juan Capistrano, Orange County
San Juan Capistrano, Orange County
 
San Juan Capistrano, Orange County
 
San Juan Capistrano, Orange County
San Juan Capistrano, Orange County
 

Been to L'Hirondelle Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing