We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“A real gem!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of L'Hirondelle Restaurant

L'Hirondelle Restaurant
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $32
Cuisines: French, Belgian, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
san diego
Level Contributor
152 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 228 helpful votes
“A real gem!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

LOVE, LOVE, LOVE this restaurant - from the wonderful food to the exceptional service and quaint, cozy decor. The owner is very hospitable. A charming establishment. Highly recommend!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank funsandiego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    97
    22
    8
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
44 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Nice setting”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013 via mobile

Overall good experience. I was not wow-Ed though. Based on the reviews I expected more. The food was good not great. I had some veal which was a bit overcooked. My wife is vegetarian so not a lot to choose for her but they but something together and she said it was good. The setting is nice, resembling small French restaurants.

    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank lsoaita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paso Robles, California
Level Contributor
47 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Lovely atmosphere, delicious food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

Tucked away by the Mission is this gem of a restaurant. Quaint and cozy with gracious service, it offers the French classics. We shared a scrumptious escargot with their crusty bread and it was so delicious we couldn't wait for it to cool, the sizzling garlic butter too tempting. I had the Sole, and it was perfect with the most intriguing whipped potatoes,,,a flavor that was subtle but exotic. My husband had the Half Duck with a perfect Blood Orange sauce. We had cappucino's that were perfect with the chocolate torte. A nice wine list,,,both California and France well represented. Really well done,,,a lovely evening.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Gigi1998
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Springs, California
Level Contributor
42 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Belgium on the Beach”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

My son introduced me this delightful restaurant when he was doing his residency at Scripps-Green, La Jolla and I've been back many times. In fact, it's a mandatory stop whenever I head to San Diego. The service is impeccable, the atmosphere elegant, the food to die for. Dining inside or out on the patio is a quiet, peaceful experience. Impossible to rate it too highly.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Bob_and_Elly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Clemente, California
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Incredible All-Time Favorite”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

This intimate, exceptional epicurean gem sits inconspicuously across from the historic Mission in San Juan Capistrano, just on the edge of the Amtrak parking lot. Their French Onion soup is the absolute best I have EVER had, their food is perfect, their service is personal and their wine and Belgian beer choices extensive. If you are in search of the most wonderful ambiance and unforgettable dining experience you MUST add L'Hirondelle to you list of restaurants!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank k20hoyboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed L'Hirondelle Restaurant also viewed

San Juan Capistrano, Orange County
San Juan Capistrano, Orange County
 
San Juan Capistrano, Orange County
 
San Juan Capistrano, Orange County
San Juan Capistrano, Orange County
 

Been to L'Hirondelle Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing