We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Belgium on the Beach” 5 of 5 stars
Review of L'Hirondelle Restaurant

L'Hirondelle Restaurant
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $32
Cuisines: French, Belgian, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Palm Springs, California
Level Contributor
42 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Belgium on the Beach”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

My son introduced me this delightful restaurant when he was doing his residency at Scripps-Green, La Jolla and I've been back many times. In fact, it's a mandatory stop whenever I head to San Diego. The service is impeccable, the atmosphere elegant, the food to die for. Dining inside or out on the patio is a quiet, peaceful experience. Impossible to rate it too highly.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Bob_and_Elly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    99
    23
    8
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
San Clemente, California
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Incredible All-Time Favorite”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

This intimate, exceptional epicurean gem sits inconspicuously across from the historic Mission in San Juan Capistrano, just on the edge of the Amtrak parking lot. Their French Onion soup is the absolute best I have EVER had, their food is perfect, their service is personal and their wine and Belgian beer choices extensive. If you are in search of the most wonderful ambiance and unforgettable dining experience you MUST add L'Hirondelle to you list of restaurants!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank k20hoyboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Intimate Garden, Exceptional Food and Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

We went here on our first date over 5 years ago and the food and service have always been exceptional!

So much so that we decided it was the perfect place to get married.

Ali and the staff out did themselves by making our evening wedding on their romantic patio the stuff that dreams are made of.

Ali and his staff made everything simple and easy and as always the food and service were the spectacular intimate treat that we wanted to share with our families on our very special day.

When we came home from the honeymoon we were deluged with compliments from our families on the food, the service and our choice of locations.

The most wonderful part is having such a wonderful place where we can celibate our special evening for years to come.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank thebigmozier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, TX
Level Contributor
39 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Fun little restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

Had lunch here after touring the Mission. The food was excellent and the ambiance was lovely. We dined on their patio by the fountain. We had no trouble getting seated and the waiter was very helpful. Thoroughly enjoyed our meal. It was closed the last time we went, but it was a Monday so I'm hoping that is just their regular closing day. I would hate for the restaurant to go away.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank havebagwilltravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Florida
Level Contributor
163 reviews
140 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Exceptional”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012 via mobile

This is our first visit. My husband ordered the sweetbread it was phenomenal. I had the petit rack of lamb. Finger licking good. Great romantic ambiance and delightful staff. We will be back!

    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Nancy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed L'Hirondelle Restaurant also viewed

San Juan Capistrano, Orange County
San Juan Capistrano, Orange County
 
San Juan Capistrano, Orange County
San Juan Capistrano, Orange County
 

Been to L'Hirondelle Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing