We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“We are San Juan Capistrano locals and love this restaurant weekly”

L'Hirondelle Restaurant
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $32
Cuisines: French, European, Belgian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
ca
Level Contributor
77 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“We are San Juan Capistrano locals and love this restaurant weekly”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2011

We have been coming to this restaurant for many years; going back to when it was owned and operated by Walter and Ramone. After Walter retired, Ali and Lisa bought the place. It is a warm, friendly environment with excellent food and ambiance. My wife and I eat here often and it is our "go to" restaurant for special occasions; office luncheons with out of town visitors or our staff for holidays, etc.

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank fleish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    107
    24
    8
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Garden Grove, California
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Delicious food, wonderful atmosphere and a congenial host - you can't ask for more!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2011

My husband and I discovered L'Hirondelle Restaurant when visiting the mission. It has become one of our all time favorites for dinners, lunches and Sunday brunches. We have never been dissappointed by the food, atmosphere or service. Ali, the owner, has made many celebrations special for our family.

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Vicki S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
30 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Fabulous food in SJC”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2011

We were looking for a quiet place to dine with some foodie friends of ours and remembered this little gem across from the Mission in San Juan. We haven't been there for a while, but this visit reminded us why we like it. The food is delicious, the wine list is full of interesting choices, the service is superb, and if you're looking for a peaceful atmosphere to catch up with friends it's perfect. The outdoor patio also looks inviting, but we'll save that for a warmer evening. We'll be back!

  • Visited October 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank WannaWindsurf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange, California
Level Contributor
36 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Don't miss it! Traditional French food at reasonable prices”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2011

Sitting on the patio for lunch or dinner is a relaxing and wonderful experience. The service is great, the food is great, and I go back there again and again. Last time I was part of two couples and we had appetizers, salads, entrees, and wine and the check was about $50 each with tip. You cannot beat that for excellent French cuisine. The have small plates on some items which are much less expensive (lunch portions), and for those who do not have a large appetite they are great (price around $16)

  • Visited August 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Mirada, California
Level Contributor
39 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Lovely and Relaxing Lunch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2011

My husband and I took advantage of the $10 metrolink weekend pass for a day trip to San Juan Capistrano. We had read about this little place on trip advisor and decided to give it a try. It turned out to be the best lunch we have experienced in Orange County. The small patio surrounded by lush vegetation and piped music minimized train and traffic noice. We enjoyed escargot in butter garlic sauce, the best I've had; followed by Seared Ahi Salad, a Kobi Burger and mimosas (which carry a nice punch). We are going back and taking our friends. Our servers were attentive without being intrusive. bon appetit.

  • Visited July 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank LovesToTravel2_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed L'Hirondelle Restaurant also viewed

San Juan Capistrano, Orange County
San Juan Capistrano, Orange County
 
San Juan Capistrano, Orange County
 

Been to L'Hirondelle Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing