We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Close to the Mission” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Cedar Creek Inn

Cedar Creek Inn
Reserve with OpenTable
Cedar Creek Inn is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $45
Cuisines: American, Bar, Seafood, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Large groups, Local cuisine, Romantic, Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Drinks, Brunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: El Camino Real
Description: Rated top 100 al fresco restaurants in the United States in Forbes Magazine
Montclair, New Jersey
Level Contributor
76 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Close to the Mission”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

The meal my mother and I had was adequate - perhaps it was just what we ordered. The wait staff was SO NICE and friendly - made us feel like locals rather than the tourists that we were. The portions were good. I would go again, but just watch what you order - nothing too exotic or interesting - stick with the basics

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Montypythons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

267 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    139
    105
    16
    7
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Orange County, California
Level Contributor
181 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Great food and location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

You can't go wrong at the Cedar Creek Inn. We've gone many times with friends for lunch and have always been pleased. Their menu is great, the food fantastic, service very good and the location is perfect. Sit outside and experience San Juan Capistrano's mission from just across the street.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank socal13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pacific Grove, Ca
Level Contributor
41 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Wonderful atmosphere, great service & food.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

After a very disappointing lunch at Montage we were ready for something good and this cozy restaurant delivered. Whenever you're in Orange County you have to be prepared for waits and a busy atmosphere. Cedar Creek is busy on a Friday nite but they are attentive and the food comes quickly. We enjoyed this place for the warmth and casual dining experience. We will come again!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank debinmonterey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eureka, California
Level Contributor
252 reviews
147 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
“Nice and yet cozy”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

I remember when this used to be a Nursery with Mexican art work. Now its a charming, sightly elegant restaurant. Went with the girls today. We love the crab cake, Caesar salad! The dressing is just salty enough. The, not too over the top, Christmas decorations are very festive. They have a large roaring fireplace. If you are going on a drizzly day, call and ask for a table near it. The house chardonnay is nice, with a mild oak flavor. If its a warm day they offer patio dining under old beautiful trees. Check out the happy hour specials. This is a great celebration restaurant.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank norcalhummingbirds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Evening Patio Delight”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

My wife and I go here frequently in the evening for a Romantic but laid back glass of Wine, Calamari and Crab Cakes under the trees. There is even an outdoor fire place in the corner.

The staff is always great, even when they occasionally get a bit busy.

The food is always fantastic!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank thebigmozier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cedar Creek Inn also viewed

San Juan Capistrano, Orange County
 
San Juan Capistrano, Orange County
San Juan Capistrano, Orange County
 

Been to Cedar Creek Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing