We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brunch”
Review of Ramos House Cafe

Ramos House Cafe
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $18
Cuisines: American, Southwestern, Cajun & Creole
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Brunch”
Reviewed June 30, 2014 via mobile

The brunch menu is a little overpriced at first glance... but if you ordered those same things individually at any other place it would probably cost the same. We had the crab scramble (it wasnt called that but I can't remember the exact name). It was really fresh and the citrus cream was a nice counterbalance. The beignets are wonderful!!!! The bloody mary is on point as well.

Helpful?
2 Thank Pioneerandexplore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

262 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    171
    65
    12
    6
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dana Point, CA
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Quite extraordinary!”
Reviewed June 17, 2014

Such a pleasant hideaway. The ambiance is hard to describe with its European atmosphere and the periodic passing of trains. I especially enjoy the birds and an occasional wondering cat - odd mixture but it works since it's a very natural and comfortable setting. I usually visit for brunch but also love to go to indulge in their signature Bloody Mary while visiting with a friend.

Their menu is unique as well as the food which is hard to describe but I have never ordered anything I was not thoroughly delighted with. When visiting San Juan this is a MUST visit.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Pupluvr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Cute patio ambiance STELLAR food”
Reviewed June 10, 2014 via mobile

I ordered the mushroom macaroni and cheese and was not disappointed! Hands down the best Mac and cheese I've ever had. The Juevos rancheros and crab hash are excellent too. The patio is small and intimate and super cute. The only 2 down sides are that the menu is really small and the lemonade was so so. I would definitely come back again.

Helpful?
Thank Starryskies227
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Juan Capistrano, California
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Amazing location and cuisine”
Reviewed May 29, 2014

The Ramos House is located across the tracks from the train depot in the town's historic Del Rio district.

Unpaved streets and over grown bougainvillea give it an authentic old-timey feel.

Walk through the district and go to Ramos House to enjoy delicious high-end cuisine on their patio. There is no indoor dining here. Plan to go on a sunny day, they are closed when it rains.

Limited selection of incredible dishes. The chef is amazing! Highly recommend!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank RaisingTheBoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Glad we found this restaurant!”
Reviewed May 22, 2014

We met in San Juan Capistrano as an mid-way point between our party's residences. After checking out a couple of restaurant we decided on Ramos House and are we glad we did! The covered patio was a bit cool so our server immediately offered house blankets. Very thoughtful! Each table has a cute note on it requested cell phones be silenced. Thank you! The food choices are varied and delicious, from beignets and fruit salad to salmon, chicken and egg dishes. We tired the chef's soup and loved it, although I would prefer it's temperature to be hotter. The one drawback is that there was only one restroom serving the entire restaurant so there is a bit of a queue during busy times. All in all, it was a delightful find and we will go back again and again!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SoCalZooGal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ramos House Cafe also viewed

San Juan Capistrano, Orange County
San Juan Capistrano, Orange County
 
San Juan Capistrano, Orange County
 

Been to Ramos House Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing