We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Make a Day of it! Amtrak Train from Fullerton to San Juan Capistrano”

ZOOMARS Petting Zoo
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: We're one of a kind and hay bales of fun. We're good times, friendly animals and the happiest folks you'll ever meet. For the past 30 years our little zoo has charmed more than three million visitors
La Habra, California
Level Contributor
311 reviews
115 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 211 helpful votes
“Make a Day of it! Amtrak Train from Fullerton to San Juan Capistrano”
Reviewed August 25, 2012

We live close to the Fullerton, CA train station - most kids love trains, so we make a train ride to San Juan Capistrano to visit Zoomars. Zoomars is very, very close walking distance from the train station. It is a super fun activity for the kids - ages 2 to 7 is probably best.

The feeding the guinea pigs and bunny rabbits is my favorite - the food is additional cost to the enterance fee.

There are horse rides. Plus a place to visit goats and sheep - which can also be fed.
There is a small train ride - not exciting by my standards, but the kids always want to go on it.

The playground is also a lot of fun. They love to use energy on the playground.

I have seen lots of Birthday parties there and seems like a great spot if you live close by.

After Zoomars, we do Ruby's lunch before catching the next train. If you have even more time, the San Juan Capistrano Mission is also walking distance from the train.

The bathrooms are porta-potties.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank ALinCA5512
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    61
    31
    23
    3
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
huntngton beach, ca
Level Contributor
66 reviews
34 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“little, but cute”
Reviewed August 5, 2012

Great for kids under 6. Lots of bunnies and guine pigs to pet. Little rides including a short pony ride.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank queenwendy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san juan capistrano
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Not satisfied”
Reviewed August 3, 2012

I bring my grandkids there every summer when they visit me. This year they were remolding. The girls were disappointed. They couldn't hold the bunnies anymore, they were fenced in. The area for guinne pigs was smaller. They stiff charged full price for admission. Won't be going back.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank bananana66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ZOOMARS, Public Relations Manager at ZOOMARS Petting Zoo, responded to this review, August 7, 2012
Hi Bananana66

We're sorry to hear you weren't happy with your visit. I believe there was a slight misunderstanding about our bunny patch. We recently gave the bunnies their own home in an area we call "Rabbit Run." This is because bunnies are naturally shy creatures that prefer to have a bit more time to themselves. We still have the bunnies available to pet and play with, but we rotate which ones are in the petting areas throughout the week so they don't become overwhelmed. If there is a particular bunny your grandchildren like and would like to visit, feel free to ask one of our staff if they will pull him or her from Rabbit Run so the kids can have a cuddle. We are always happy to help.

Also regarding the petting area, if you caught us at the end of the day you may have missed the Guinea Pig Round Up where we take all of the animals from the large petting pen to the smaller petting pen so we have all of the guinea pigs together for the night. The kids love to participate in the round up and it's great fun for everyone! It also gives the kids the chance to have a more intimate arena to visit with all of our guinea pigs towards the end of the day when the zoo is less crowded.

We would love to give you the opportunity to visit us again and get the full experience of our new set up. Please contact me at zoomarsstation@gmail.com and I will be happy to assist you.

Nicki Peña, ZOOMARS Petting Zoo Marketing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Juan Capistrano, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Kids love this place!”
Reviewed June 26, 2012

Great for small children. Pony rides and plenty of bunnies and guinea pigs to pet, hold and feed. Very popular destination, and sometimes a little chaotic. Even so, this place is walking distance from the train depot and is a fun stop to round out a day in town.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Kim J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dana Point, CA
Level Contributor
30 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“The kids love it!”
Reviewed June 21, 2012

Four grandchildren can while away a lot of time at Zoomars. They spend at least 30 minutes with petting the gerbils..and feeding them for about $1. Then off to feed the rest of the menagerie, and have a pony ride. This is a simple way to show the little kids a good time.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank Lucia826
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed ZOOMARS Petting Zoo also viewed

San Juan Capistrano, Orange County
San Juan Capistrano, Orange County
 
San Juan Capistrano, Orange County
San Juan Capistrano, Orange County
 

Been to ZOOMARS Petting Zoo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing