We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Clean, comfortable and great kitchen in studio suite”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Residence Inn Dana Point San Juan Capistrano
Certificate of Excellence
California
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Clean, comfortable and great kitchen in studio suite”
Reviewed July 24, 2014

We enjoyed the spacious, clean and comfortable studio suite that has a modern kitchen that's fully equipped. They even provide grocery shopping service daily which we didn't try. Definitely ask for a room in the center of the building on the top floor. Being in the center, you'd be further from either side of train or highway. I could hear some train noise but not affecting sleep. When I reserved the room, I asked for a quiet room. So when I found out we're assigned a room very close to elevator, I was anxious but it turned out it IS the quietest location of the building. We stayed there for 10 nights and I could testify we really enjoyed our room and had good sleep for such a lengthy stay. The breakfast and evening snacks are also very good.

Room Tip: top floor in the center of the building, facing Costco and the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank milku
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grace M, General Manager at Residence Inn Dana Point San Juan Capistrano, responded to this review, August 1, 2014
Fantastic! Thank you for the wonderful feedback! We are so looking forward to host your future visits up here in the historic San Juan Capistrano and the scenic Dana Point area!

Cheers for a great summer!

-Grace M.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

160 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    60
    68
    18
    8
    6
See reviews for
59
35
7
42
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney Australia
Level Contributor
74 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2014

We stayed here five nights in July and found it very comfortable. The bed was extremely soft and comfy as were the pillows. I always look for a comfortable bed! The room was spacious with a large computer desk and L shaped couch. Small kitchenette with a dishwasher and microwave. A fully cooked breakfast buffet was offered which was just ok but an added bonus we could take it outside to eat. I would definitely stay here again. The road noise was there but I personally did not mind and we did sleep with our windows open. It almost became like 'white noise'.

Room Tip: Our second story room faced the main street and we could open our windows safely and the noise did n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Oz_Traveller50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grace M, General Manager at Residence Inn Dana Point San Juan Capistrano, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
Hello! Fantastic! We are so pleased that you had an excellent stay with us!! We are so looking forward to host your future stay in the area.

Have a wonderful summer!

Cheers!
-Grace M.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
us
1 review
Reviewed July 4, 2014

I am Pt MR member... average hotel, hotel manager not friendly, and do not greet anyone, ditto for the day time staffs. Don't expect anything special for Pt member, I seriously doubt they know what Pt members are. Poor management. Stay here because of location. This is probably the worst RI i have ever stayed in terms of response to our request and complaints.

RI at main street, irvine much better, friendlier staff

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tellytubbies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grace M, General Manager at Residence Inn Dana Point San Juan Capistrano, responded to this review, July 5, 2014
Hello,

I am deeply sorry about your experience with us during your stay. Our goal is to deliver above and beyond service to all our guests. As our valued Platinum member - you have one of our highest priorities to ensure that you will have an exceptional service experience at the hotel.

I need to address this service issue - this is unacceptable. Rest assured that this will be address immediately with our service team.

Also, it will be great if you can email me more information on this regard that will help me research/address the issue. I can be reached via email at ri.snasj.gm@marriott.com. Please let me know the best time and number to call you.
Again, please accept our deep apology on this regard.

Have a wonderful holiday weekend!

Sincerely,
-Grace M.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
1 review
Reviewed June 16, 2014 via mobile

Stayed June 14th had a wedding to go to@5pm our room wasn't ready at 3:30. Check in time not till 4 but we were starting to stress still had to get ready! Angie at the front desk upgraded our room so we would have time! Then they shuttled us to the wedding!! Everything went great we got to the wedding on time. Thank you Angie

Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Denise K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grace M, General Manager at Residence Inn Dana Point San Juan Capistrano, responded to this review, July 5, 2014
Hello and happy summer! Thank you for this was wonderful feedback regarding our great service!
I am so pleased that my team is doing above and beyond to accommodate our guest needs especially during our high summer season. I am so glad Angie did above and beyond for you/family!

I am sure that the wedding that you attended was fantastic! We are so looking forward to host your future stay again in the area!

Cheers!
Grace M
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashburn, Virginia
Level Contributor
273 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2014

Very nice property. Nice rooms, nice common areas, and a great staff. The drawbacks are 2, like many hotels in this area it is very close to HWY 5 so ask for a room far away. The second drawback is the main parking lot has barely enough slots to park your car...if you arrive late you may have to park in an auxiliary lot.

I would still stay here again but check in earlier.

Room Tip: Get room away from Highway.
See more room tips
Green Features: Great staff very friendly and helpful. The person who checked me in late offered to pick me up in the shuttle due to the fact they were out of parking spots.
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BFLOMAN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grace M, General Manager at Residence Inn Dana Point San Juan Capistrano, responded to this review, June 16, 2014
Hello and happy summer! It was a pleasure hosting your stay! Thank you for making us your choice when travelling up here in the historic San Juan Capistrano and the scenic Dana Point areas.

Thank you for your feedback on the parking lot and room layout. At any time, please feel to call or email us depending on availability on regards to the location of your room.

Thanks again for this wonderful note. We are so looking forward to host you again in the area!

Cheers!
-Grace M.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Po Box 1220 concord n.c.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed June 9, 2014 via mobile

Stayed at this motel last year for 3 weeks came back this year big difference in the way this motel has changed in the way that they like your business the manager not what you would expect the maids don't want to do their job ask for room to be cleaned all she did was made bed and didn't clean bathroom or leave coffee or soap or shampoo had to go to front desk and to top everything you have to pay 12 dollars a day for parking on top of the room rates

Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Alanblue80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grace M, General Manager at Residence Inn Dana Point San Juan Capistrano, responded to this review, June 11, 2014
Hello! Thank you for your feedback on regards to your stay with us last week. I am deeply sorry that there were areas during your stay that we could have done better. I will share your feedback with the team - rest assured that this will be address and accounted for on our end.

I wish that we had an opportunity to correct the issues during your stay. If you need to discuss this further, please feel free to reach out to me or De’Andre Gipson.

Thank you again for your feedback. Have a wonderful summer!

-Grace M.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middletown, NJ
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2014

This hotel was spotless. I stayed in a studio with a King and there was plenty of room! Clean room and linens...free breakfast was typical of other Marriotts I had stayed at and was perfectly fine. The breakfast area was a little messy at times, but the hotel was full when I stayed there. Although it was full, the room was quiet...couln't hear anything from the hall or neighboring rooms. As other reviewers have said, the train sound is a bit of an issue during the day, but at night it wasn't a problem and my room overlooked the tracks, but I also had a beautiful ocean view! Easy access to the freeway as well. Pool area was very pretty All in all, I would definitely stay here again if I travel back to the area.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sanck6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grace M, General Manager at Residence Inn Dana Point San Juan Capistrano, responded to this review, May 29, 2014
Hello! Happy Summer! Thank you for this wonderful feedback! We are proud of our beautiful product and service! I am so pleased that you had a fantastic time visiting the historic San Juan Capistrano and the breathtaking Dana Point area!
Yes, the hotel is close to the train path, but majority of our guests seemed not to be bother by it. On a positive note, the hotel is in the process of working with the City of San Juan to create a long term solution for the train noise issue.

We are so looking forward to host any of your future stay in the area!

Cheers!
-Grace M.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Juan Capistrano
2.3 mi away
BESTWESTERN Capistrano Inn
BESTWESTERN Capistrano Inn
#1 of 3 in San Juan Capistrano
315 reviews
0.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Marina Shores Hotel
0.7 mi away
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Doheny Beach - Dana Point
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Dana Point Marina Inn
Dana Point Marina Inn
#8 of 12 in Dana Point
318 reviews
1.1 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Oceanview
2.5 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Laguna Niguel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Dana Point San Juan Capistrano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Dana Point San Juan Capistrano

Property: Residence Inn Dana Point San Juan Capistrano
Address: 33711 Camino Capistrano, San Juan Capistrano, CA 92675-4817 (Formerly Residence Inn San Juan Capistrano)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > San Juan Capistrano
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in San Juan Capistrano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Dana Point San Juan Capistrano 3*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the Residence Inn San Juan Capistrano Hotel near Dana Point, we combine all of the comforts of home along with modern amenities and a passion for service that makes every guest feel welcome. This San Juan Capistrano hotel offers 130 spacious suites with separate areas for sleeping, relaxing and cooking - full kitchens with granite countertops and convenient kitchen appliances. In addition, take advantage of complimentary grocery delivery, a free daily hot breakfast buffet, and free Wi-Fi throughout. Join us at The Residence Inn Mix™, a fun and relaxing way to unwind, socialize and connect. Three nights a week our hotel features a different opportunity to socialize in our lobby or outdoor space. Located off I-5, our hotel in San Juan Capistrano provides easy access to Dana Point, Mission San Juan Capistrano, Camino Real Playhouse and The Coach House. With two meeting rooms and 1,535 square feet of event space, our hotel in San Juan Capistrano offers full meeting and event services with A/V technology. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Marriott, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Residence Inn Dana Point San Juan Capistrano reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing