We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't let the location fool you...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Residence Inn Dana Point San Juan Capistrano
Certificate of Excellence
san diego
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Don't let the location fool you...”
Reviewed April 5, 2014 via mobile

My family and I went away for a little staycation. We've never been to this Residence Inn before but it was close to Dana Point/Laguna Beach/San Juan Capistrano so it was super convenient.

The hotel was well kept, the room spacious. Full size fridge, stove top, microwave and dishwasher were in the room so we were able to have meals in the room if we wanted. Free breakfast was awesome. Not much selection but just enough to start our day!

If having a view is important, you might not like that it basically is the Costco, a trailer park, freeway, and car dealership. That said, that wasn't a big deal to me. You go out to the pool area, mini putting green, and basketball court and it was still like you were in another place. The kids had a blast!

Great service, everyone was friendly and accommodating. We'll come back!

Stayed March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank ryze619
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grace M, General Manager at Residence Inn Dana Point San Juan Capistrano, responded to this review, April 8, 2014
Hello! We are so pleased that your family enjoyed your visit at our beautiful hotel! Yes, we are a perfect fit for family/business visiting to see the beautiful Dana Point, historic San Juan Capistrano and Laguna Niguel area.

We are so looking forward to host your future stay!

Cheers for a great summer!

-Grace M.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

169 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    62
    69
    21
    9
    8
See reviews for
60
38
7
46
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Amherst, New York
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed April 3, 2014

First thing I noticed on the LONG walk to our room (poorly designed layout -one elevator bank to service such a spread out floorplan)was how dirty the carpet was in the hallway. Two requests over 4 days to vacuum it went unheeded. View of Costco parking lot, trailer park and train tracks. The LOUD whistle of trains all night and morning interrupted sleep. There was an underlying scent of mildew in the room. Tipped the housekeeper with a request for more hangers (only 4 in the closet) and a request to replace wine glasses were ignored...but the money was gone. The complimentary breakfast was not great. Messy kitchen, tables not wiped off, garbage overflowing. Yuck. The place is busy...don't know why...competitors take note...there is an opportunity here...

Room Tip: Not sure there is a quiet room in the place. Train on one side, freeway on the other.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nancy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grace M, General Manager at Residence Inn Dana Point San Juan Capistrano, responded to this review, April 4, 2014
Hello Nancy,

Thank you for your feedback. Rest assured that we will address the service/cleanliness issues that you shared. We apologize that we failed to meet your service expectations during your stay. Our team is deeply committed to service and guest satisfaction - we will continue to work on these feedbacks to better our current process.

Wishing you and yours a wonderful summer!

Sincerely,
Grace M.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartsdale, New York
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2014

Wonderful, clean facility. The suite was new, well appointed and modern. If I were to detract a half of a star, it would be for the breakfast and early evening snack. There were a lot of families there and there was not enough food at either meal. They seemed to have only one person trying to service the food area and he was clearly overwhelmed. You really cannot complain, since the food is free. You can choose to be on the freeway, local road or railroad side. I chose railroad and was only wakened once during the night. I will stay again.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lynne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grace M, General Manager at Residence Inn Dana Point San Juan Capistrano, responded to this review, April 4, 2014
Hi Lynne,

Thank you for a wonderful feedback! We are so looking to host you future stay up here in the historic San Juan Capistrano and the beautiful Dana Point area! We are pleased that you enjoyed our amenities, spacious rooms and staff service.

Yes, we continue to review our staffing daily based on demand. Thank you for the feedback.

Have a wonderful summer!

Cheers!
-Grace M.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 20, 2014 via mobile

I was impressed with the new generation of residence inn when I travel i try and stay at residence inn great food clean rooms and friendly staff. The only downfall is pay to park I wish places would just hide the fee by raising price of room a bit

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Billy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grace M, General Manager at Residence Inn Dana Point San Juan Capistrano, responded to this review, April 4, 2014
Hello! Thank you for a great feedback! We are so looking forward to host your future stay in the area!

Yes, we have a beautiful custom built Residence Inn by Marriott at the historic City of San Juan Capistrano and the beautiful Dana Point area. I am glad that you enjoyed our hotel and amenities.

Have a wonderful summer and we hope to see on your next trip!

Cheers!
-Grace
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
orem, ut
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2014

The location of this hotel is convenient as far as access to freeway and not too far from the ocean. However, it's not really in spot that offers great views. The view out of our room was of the big Costco next door, with a little bit of the ocean behind that. The rooms were clean, quite roomy, and nicely decorated. The breakfast was one of the better I've experienced at a Marriott. I especially enjoyed the blueberries. Staff was friendly and they were accommodative as we arrived two hours before our official check-in time. Only minor complaint would be that there was nobody at the front desk for check-in and check-out, so we had to wait for a bit on both occasions for somebody to show up. Maybe a bell or something like that up at the desk could be useful so we would know how to get somebody's attention.

Room Tip: Neither view is ideal. But I would recommend going on the west side to see the pool and Costco versu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank almaf_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grace M, General Manager at Residence Inn Dana Point San Juan Capistrano, responded to this review, March 17, 2014
Hello! Thank you for this wonderful feedback! We are so pleased that you enjoyed our complimentary breakfast and other hotel amenities. We are so looking forward to host your future stay in the historic City of San Juan Capistrano and the beautiful Dana Point area.

I apologize that there was a delay in your service at the Front Desk. Rest assured that I will address this feedback with my team. Our Front desk service is 24 hours - 7 days a week. Again - our apologies.

Have a wonderful spring!!!!

Best,
Grace M.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Covina, California
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2014

So the hotel has their own private parking, and yet they charge $12 dollars a day fee - absurd. Their excuse to me was well we have beach nearby - bogus! No of the other hotels in the area charge a parking fee. Get rid of the fee, as you're not renting the space to park the cars!!! And how else is someone getting to the property??? (Walking?)

Few other things - no dish soap, they give you 1 packet for dishwasher...OMG! To funny, and this is suppose to be ...home away from home...The bathroom - you open the door and it almost hits the toilet. Talk about cramped.

Other this room was clean and workable - TV channels have very few options - due to the new and dumb cable program for tvs...lol!

Room Tip: 3rd floor - quieter...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank E A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grace M, General Manager at Residence Inn Dana Point San Juan Capistrano, responded to this review, March 17, 2014
Hello!

I trust that you are having a fantastic week! Thank you again for your feedback on regards to your stay with us this month. I totally understand your frustration on our $12 parking fee - however, I just want to share that this is a competitive parking fee vs. other hotels in our market. On the missing amenities in the room - our apologies. Rest assured that this will be shared and addressed with our housekeeping team.

We are hopeful that you can give us another opportuniy to host any of your future stays in the area! Please feel free to reach out to me for any requests or assistance.

Have a wonderful week!

Sincerely,
- Grace M.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2014

My husband, two daughters (ages 4 and 5) stayed at this hotel for one night and had a good experience overall.

• Rooms are nice... we had a corner suite with a separate bedroom so when our girls fell asleep, we were able to hang out in the main living room area and relax without bothering them.
• Our room was right above the basketball courts, pool, etc... but we didn't mind the noise at all.
• Hotel seems to be fairly new so it's clean and well maintained.
• Free breakfast was awesome
• Free WiFi
• Driving distance to town center, mission, local beaches
• Our room had a small kitchenette with a stove, microwave, sink, fridge, silverware, and glassware.

It was perfect for a quick one night getaway!

Room Tip: Corner suite was awesome!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shaq4545
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grace M, General Manager at Residence Inn Dana Point San Juan Capistrano, responded to this review, February 21, 2014
Hello! Thank you for a great feedback!!!! We are so pleased that your family had a wonderful weekend with us! We are so looking forward to host your future stay in Dana Point/San Juan Capistrano area!

Best to you and yours,
-Grace M.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Juan Capistrano
2.3 mi away
Best Western Capistrano Inn
Best Western Capistrano Inn
#1 of 3 in San Juan Capistrano
337 reviews
0.7 mi away
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Doheny Beach - Dana Point
0.9 mi away
Best Western Plus Marina Shores Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Dana Point Marina Inn
Dana Point Marina Inn
#8 of 12 in Dana Point
325 reviews
2.5 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Laguna Niguel
1.1 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Oceanview
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Dana Point San Juan Capistrano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Dana Point San Juan Capistrano

Property: Residence Inn Dana Point San Juan Capistrano
Address: 33711 Camino Capistrano, San Juan Capistrano, CA 92675-4817 (Formerly Residence Inn San Juan Capistrano)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > San Juan Capistrano
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in San Juan Capistrano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Dana Point San Juan Capistrano 3*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the Residence Inn San Juan Capistrano Hotel near Dana Point, we combine all of the comforts of home along with modern amenities and a passion for service that makes every guest feel welcome. This San Juan Capistrano hotel offers 130 spacious suites with separate areas for sleeping, relaxing and cooking - full kitchens with granite countertops and convenient kitchen appliances. In addition, take advantage of complimentary grocery delivery, a free daily hot breakfast buffet, and free Wi-Fi throughout. Join us at The Residence Inn Mix™, a fun and relaxing way to unwind, socialize and connect. Three nights a week our hotel features a different opportunity to socialize in our lobby or outdoor space. Located off I-5, our hotel in San Juan Capistrano provides easy access to Dana Point, Mission San Juan Capistrano, Camino Real Playhouse and The Coach House. With two meeting rooms and 1,535 square feet of event space, our hotel in San Juan Capistrano offers full meeting and event services with A/V technology. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Marriott, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Residence Inn Dana Point San Juan Capistrano reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing